The members backed Brayshaw when he wanted to keep us a Melbourne based club with a caveat of the possible need to sell a few games.The members backed Brayshaw, that is when they had input. If certain cliques want the power to continually second guess an elected board then the situation will eventually become unworkable.
Your mindset seems to be that it doesn't matter where we find new members as long as we find them.My response did address the issue. The club has to look elsewhere to expand membership gring in finances.
Once again, this is your fertile melodramatics at work and nothing else.Tassie would be the first step to relocation (read death of NMFC) and be no different to GC proposal.
Yours is exactly the kind of mindset that would be the death of this football club.
That's your opinion.Obstacle, you are being over critical.
Correct.The members backed Brayshaw when he wanted to keep us a Melbourne based club with a caveat of the possible need to sell a few games.
Really? Can you provide me with proof to back this ceiling on games, or is this just your view of the matter?The members did not back him/the board changing that to selling more than half our games interstate along with setting up an interstate based reserves team.
Can we afford to turn our backs on anyone?Your mindset seems to be that it doesn't matter where we find new members as long as we find them.
It's completely laughable that you would attempt to connect the old admin with the new admin.Well, that was the aim of the previous adminsitration 10 years ago when they dropped the North Melbourne from our name.
Fragmented what? You're either a member or you aren't. That's it.A fragmented membership will do nothing for improving match attendances.
It is currently a PIPE DREAM. I have no inbterest in an administration that is prepared to invest the future of this football clunb in a PIPE DREAM.The partnership with the city of Ballarat is a good move as it is an area in reach of our home games.
Firstly, you are conveniently leaving out the proviso that the 7 game Tasmanian deal included 11 games in Melbourne with member privileges.You don't have to be melodramatic to see that playing more than half our home games in another state will lead to declining membership in Melbourne.
Lose 1-2,000 supporters or accept 8 million a year?$8m can't prevent that from happening.
Coming from you that is laughable!I would claim that I am not letting my emotions overcloud my judgement.
He specifically mentioned the "Hawthorn model". Thier model is only 4 games.Really? Can you provide me with proof to back this ceiling on games, or is this just your view of the matter?
Slight mistake there. It was to be an Academy setup in Tassie.When was the reserves side ever going to be "based" in Tasmania?
Not saying to turn backs, but working on gaining members in a different state will not improve our attendances in Melbourne.Can we afford to turn our backs on anyone?
Non aligned Melburnians aren't exactly kicking down the doors at Arden Street.
Fragmented - to break or cause to break into fragmentsFragmented what? You're either a member or you aren't. That's it.A fragmented membership will do nothing for improving match attendances.
Stop reading my comments with your own slant!It is currently a PIPE DREAM. I have no inbterest in an administration that is prepared to invest the future of this football clunb in a PIPE DREAM.The partnership with the city of Ballarat is a good move as it is an area in reach of our home games.
Yes, because AFL promises mean nothing! It took less than a decade for them to break their promise to Fitzroy supporters that the Brisbane Lions would play no less than 6 games per season in victoria.Firstly, you are conveniently leaving out the proviso that the 7 game Tasmanian deal included 11 games in Melbourne with member privileges.
where's your facts and figures?Secondly, I believe that the overwhelming majority of our current membership are the die hards that will never abandon an Arden Street based club anyway.
it'll be 1-2000 supporters in the first year alone!$8,000,000 p.a will more than make up for the flaky few that decide to discontinue their support.
Lose 1-2,000 supporters or accept 8 million a year?
It's not even a choice.
On the contrary, it's because I don't allow "feelings" and "political correctness' to enter my rationale, that I am often percieved as difficult or abrasive,Coming from you that is laughable!
If you're going to be literal then you may as well go all the way. Were we going to be wearing brown and gold jumpers as well?He specifically mentioned the "Hawthorn model". Thier model is only 4 games.
That doesn't seem to bother Hawthorn. Ironic, hey?Not saying to turn backs, but working on gaining members in a different state will not improve our attendances in Melbourne.
No, cash flow/debt IS our biggest problem, and membership numbers in Melbourne have been dwindling.Fragmented - to break or cause to break into fragments
i.e. to have members spread across the country.
As i said, having members in a different state wont help our Melbourne attendances. Along with cash flow/debt, this is our biggest problem.
Commenting on Ballarat without actually playing games there is a pointless exercise, hence my logical extension of your statement.Stop reading my comments with your own slant!I never mentioned playing games there. I was referring the work the club is doing to gain support/members in that area because its a place where the residents don't have to catch a boat/plane to come to our melbourne games.
This is a merger, and is irrelevant to our situation. Brisbane supporters do not have seperate "Fitzroy supporters". You are either a Brisbane supporter or you aren't.Yes, because AFL promises mean nothing! It took less than a decade for them to break their promise to Fitzroy supporters that the Brisbane Lions would play no less than 6 games per season in victoria.
It's just my reasoned and intuitive opinion after being an actual North supporter for over 40 years.where's your facts and figures?
I don't have to. I'm voting Brayshaw, Brayshaw, O'Hoy and letting the admin finish the job they started.Why don't you take your card table down to a game and survey them on this matter then?
A pessimist would think that.it'll be 1-2000 supporters in the first year alone!
In 10 years time this club will have at least 2 more cups in the trophy cabinet and a membership exceeding 45,000.And in 10 years when the deal is due to expire, we'll have no choice but to renew/increase the committment because our Melbourne supportership has declined. Way to cement ourselves in melbourne!
I'd believe this if your views were even slightly balanced. i.e. you have had nothing but glowing praise for the "most productive and dynamic leadership in the clubs history". Whilst they have been commendable, they are not exempt from review at the individual level.On the contrary, it's because I don't allow "feelings" and "political correctness' to enter my rationale, that I am often percieved as difficult or abrasive,
you're so funny!If you're going to be literal then you may as well go all the way. Were we going to be wearing brown and gold jumpers as well?
When was the last time Hawthorn had less than 20k attendance to one of its Melbourne based home games? That wouldn't have anything to do with it, would it?That doesn't seem to bother Hawthorn. Ironic, hey?
And why is it our biggest problem? because our home games aren't making us enough money because there's not enough people going.No, cash flow/debt IS our biggest problem, and membership numbers in Melbourne have been dwindling.
These are the indisputable facts.
I can play that game too!...Finances from another state help secure our playing list and footy dept spending, which in turn raise our chances of success, which in turn lead to better scheduling which in turn create a more fertile local market for membership and financial growth.
What's the point if we don't play games there you ask.We aren't going to garner any great benefits from Ballarat until we play games there. So again, your premise is based on what is currently a pipe dream.
Commenting on Ballarat without actually playing games there is a pointless exercise, hence my logical extension of your statement.
Why else would we be wasting our time in a measly 100K populated market 100 kms away from our home base instead of investing in the local community?
Do you think Australian Rules Football is foreign to the folk of Ballarat?
If we don't play games in Ballarat and set up a serious commitment, then we are wasting our time attempting to farm the Ballarat community.
Games in Ballarat are currently a pipe dream.
It's entirely relevant. AFL made a promise to the Fitzroy administrators to schedule 6 games as part of the merger and broke it.This is a merger, and is irrelevant to our situation. Brisbane supporters do not have seperate "Fitzroy supporters". You are either a Brisbane supporter or you aren't.
Did 20 odd thousand members show up to DBH?It's just my reasoned and intuitive opinion after being an actual North supporter for over 40 years.
I see mostly 35-40 year old plus people and their kids at the footy supporting North. I don't believe we have gained a lot of supporters over the past decade. Now, if these people were prepared to sit through the last administration and the bland boring Laidley years, then I think it's reasonable to believe they are die hard supporters in the main.
Just because you believe they are doing a good job, doesn't make anyone else deluded in thinking they can add value.I don't have to. I'm voting Brayshaw, Brayshaw, O'Hoy and letting the admin finish the job they started.
Unlike some deluded types around here, I don't think I can do a better job than the current admin.
IMO, this club is in very safe hands.
How many of that supposed 45k will be in melbourne?In 10 years time this club will have at least 2 more cups in the trophy cabinet and a membership exceeding 45,000.
As long as we make the correct hard decisions right now.
And in 10 years when the deal is due to expire, we'll have no choice but to renew/increase the committment because our Melbourne supportership has declined. Way to cement ourselves in melbourne!
In 10 years time this club will have at least 2 more cups in the trophy cabinet and a membership exceeding 45,000.
Does anybody else out there get the impression that the Teflon TESTicle hasn't thought this thru?How many of that supposed 45k will be in melbourne?
I suppose you can back up your claim somehow?
Yup Zondor. Double yup mate.Does anybody else out there get the impression that the Teflon TESTicle hasn't thought this thru?
None, since they shipped them all of to Launceston.When was the last time Hawthorn had less than 20k attendance to one of its Melbourne based home games? That wouldn't have anything to do with it, would it?
Exactly, and our membership numbers are dwindling.And why is it our biggest problem? because our home games aren't making us enough money because there's not enough people going.
The ability to make the hard decisions and act on them.What skills do the individual board members posess that will help us overcome our current challenges?
Tell me champ, what magical skills does David Wheadon have to increase Melbourne members that the combined talents of the current board and Eugene Arocca do not already possess?IIRC, there were some individuals that posessed particular skills to aid the Arden St redevelopment. How is that skill relevant to increasing membership, debt reduction, etc?
I couldn't give a **** if they all resided in Fiji.How many of that supposed 45k will be in melbourne?
I have much more faith in the current board than I do in your "wishful thinking" policy. That is certain death.I suppose you can back up your claim somehow?
I don't think we need to sell 7 games, that's just the package that we were asked to put together for the Tassie Government.Obst, are you saying that the Board has come to the conclusion that the NMFC can't survive in Melbourne and needs to sell 7 (or more) home games to Tassie, Fiji or where ever?
I don't have a clue. It's not as if I am some kind of JB, MB, TOH insider.Is the JB, MB,TOH ticket going to state this in their election campaign?
Not too well I wouldn't have thought.Speaking of games being played elswhere, how are we travelling with the new State Government and getting the funding for Ballarat?
Wrath
Please don't, it's a complete waste of my time.i'm not going to waste any more breath.
Any chance you could spell his name right or are you intentionally disrepecting him?If Dave Wheadon
A very valid point.Not too well I wouldn't have thought.
I'm sure the State Government will probably have more pressing concerns at the moment. It's be hard to justify pouring millions into a new footy stadium when money needs to be spent in Horsham, Warnambool, Kerang etc....
I'm not aware that I have spelt the mans name incorrectly, and I can't see how any misspelling is insulting anyway.Any chance you could spell his name right or are you intentionally disrepecting him?
Totally agree that we need to significantly increase our revenue and that our membership is going backwards relative to the other melbourne based teams. I would accept up to 4 games for 5 years as a means of removing our debt but this isn't a solution long term to revenue/membership or attendances.I don't think we need to sell 7 games, that's just the package that we were asked to put together for the Tassie Government.
I do think we need to find extra revenue promptly with a talented young list to sustain and free agency on the horizon.
If you agree with that, and then note that we have a fairly sizable existing debt and a diminishing membership base, then what other options do we have?
I'm certainly not prepared to stake the future of a 140 year old football club on wishful thinking.
Tough decisions need to be made in order to correct the ship right now.
If Dave Wheadon, PDR or anyone else can produce a viable model that will radically increase local membership or revenue, then I am prepared to give them serious consideration.
I don't think we'll ever see the term "7 game interstate package" again, except for in the posts of the resident alarmists. IMO, that was a one off scenario and the board would have noted that it created some disquiet amongst certain sections of the membership group.Totally agree that we need to significantly increase our revenue and that our membership is going backwards relative to the other melbourne based teams. I would accept up to 4 games for 5 years as a means of removing our debt but this isn't a solution long term to revenue/membership or attendances.
Fair enough, it seems like you are implementing sound judgement.In terms of membership and attendance what have we done over the last few years. You previously indicated that the new Arden St, better list, coach etc was aimed at this. However I believe that we need to be more direct in attacking this key issue and am looking at ALL candidates to outline their thoughts. I'll then vote accordingly.
OBSTacle,
You seem blinded by your loyalty to the incumbent ticket.
The current board deserve much credit, but they are not above scrutiny.
Fresh people & fresh ideas are not a bad thing. Ensuring those standing for re-election are at least confronted with the concerns of some members through this process, is a worthwhile exercise.