Coach New direction

Its time to get ruthless.

This statement covers a lot of ground, not just in trading that you're alluding to. Coaching, and general player group attitude is a little too 'nice' for mine.

The last time this club won a flag and the years around it, no one but no one wanted to play that group.................. fast forward to now this squad is not so feared. In fact it's not feared at all.

You look at ANY flag team - any - they're feared to play or at the very least respected that limits the attitude of the opposition.

You look at the tigs now, the 'undisciplined' team. Well that edge might get em a 3rd flag in 4 years, and what would their fans and the club think of that.

They wouldn't give a flying! I'd seriously be a lot happier if we had the spotlight on us and were hated by all and sundry to play and in general because we're unsociable and had those flags.

GAF what anyone else thinks! We got flags.

Meanwhile back in reality, we're a 'nice' club and have 0 success.

So yeah, there are a few new directions I'd like the club to take, growing a bit of hated mongrel is one of them.

You would think with a midfield of Grundy, Pendles, Adams, Sidey, Treloar, with a few others going through there, that you would at least break even in the centre clearances.
Yet time and time again we get smashed in there, it is infuriating to watch.
The players for some reason on the rare times they get the ball first want to have a perfect clearance instead of just getting it forward and they screw it up.

Massive changes needed in the centre square work for next year.
Getting those five on the park at the same time would help. That happened exactly ZERO times this year.

Article in today's Age Newspaper

That article is an opinion that the window is shut from my reading. I don't agree with the mechanics of it as far as we're in a hopeless list situation that is irretrievable.

Sure it can be improved list wise but it doesn't equate to window over. The window would be over is due to all things more in need of fixing than purely just list.

What I do agree with is that the coaching IS an issue, certainly from a development pov for our mid and forward woes.

New direction:

Grow some mongrel don't be so fukcn nice. Earn the hatred.

Change the game style, can't rely on possession style footy unless it returns to the swarm and spread of 2018.

The sentence above relies on the development coming from our line coaches - I'm looking at you Sando and Harves. I'd prefer them gone and bring back Buddha. Alas we know that ain't happenin.

God this club is so frustrating.

New direction too right

Sick of watching the same old stuff cost us week in week out and seriously time for some hard calls
We have one dimensional players ie Grundy who can't go forward, the skipper who has admitted he's a midfielder only who has and will always perform and present at his best but he's silk not brute force

We all bagged wills but he tackles hard and blocked space

We simply won't go anywhere playing Hoskin Elliott Thomas , stepho all deers in the headlights
Mayne super limited
No depth

We need to make a stand
But I feel we're too locked in with guys earning too much , we're too loyal
,Must retire or at least delist the following
Dunn
Langdon
Beam's
Broomhead
Appleby
Trade
Sharenburg
Thomas
Hoskin Elliott
Wills
Seir

Trade one of
De goey too injury prone
Elliott
Stephenson

Get Gunston
Get Cameron (west coast)

Move Walsh on

Our scoring issues largely stem from what happens across half back and through the middle of the ground.
I'd say this year more so midfield to half forward. It seems too me the problem is when we get to the point where we should be entering out 50, we either keep handballing to find a good option to kick it in like Pendles, allowing the forward line to be flooded or get tackled, or we kick it in hoping that Cox or Degoey mark and then either the delivery is bad or the targets have 2 defenders covering them.
We could have say a classic centre-half forward making target type player, which I don't think checkers is and Cox tries to be at times but if he has a bad day we're ****ed. Other option is to just get it in ****ing quicker.

New direction too right

Sick of watching the same old stuff cost us week in week out and seriously time for some hard calls
We have one dimensional players ie Grundy who can't go forward, the skipper who has admitted he's a midfielder only who has and will always perform and present at his best but he's silk not brute force

We all bagged wills but he tackles hard and blocked space

We simply won't go anywhere playing Hoskin Elliott Thomas , stepho all deers in the headlights
Mayne super limited
No depth

We need to make a stand
But I feel we're too locked in with guys earning too much , we're too loyal
,Must retire or at least delist the following
Dunn
Langdon
Beam's
Broomhead
Appleby
Trade
Sharenburg
Thomas
Hoskin Elliott
Wills
Seir

Trade one of
De goey too injury prone
Elliott
Stephenson

Get Gunston
Get Cameron (west coast)

Move Walsh on
WHE, Sier and Langdon should stay I reckon, and I wouldn't trade any of those 3 others.

Agree with midfield being the biggest source of concern. Has been getting beaten for over 12 months now. The prelim should have been the alarm bell. We adjust way too slowly.

Who’d think that our midfield would be our biggest concern when last year with Beams onboard, it was touted as the best midfield in the history of VFL/ AFL a year is a short time in footy !

I'd like to make a comment about paying players big money. There is trend in society that everyone scrambles for what they think that they should have. People want to biggest house, the best cars, all the things that show to the world that they are successful. And yet, you see cases like Tom Boyd where he gets twice as much as he should have expected and he ended up unhappy about it. Dale Thomas had a bit of that too. As Jared Polec if he has enjoyed his year. Ask Brad Hill if he's felt a bit more negativity from the world because he might not be delivering what his salary says he should.

We dont know what is wrong with Grundy, but there is no doubt that his world has changed totally with the signing of his contract. You could call it security or you could call it a straitjacket. I know players can easily get out of contracts if they raise enough crap, but he is effectively locked in at the moment. He is one of the highest paid players in the competition and he is getting a lot of negative media about it - which he has never got before. Who knows if all this negativity has had an effect on him.

The point that I'm making is a lot changes when a player flips over to a high paying long term contract....and its not always all good.

On the other hand, I will gladly accept donations...

This is extremely insightful and I thank you for it

Who’d think that our midfield would be our biggest concern when last year with Beams onboard, it was touted as the best midfield in the history of VFL/ AFL a year is a short time in footy !

Yep I remember that round 2 Richmond 2019 game. Felt like an embarrassment of riches. Boy that ended quick.

i must be missing something. People name players that we should "get". And a lot of the times, these players havent expressed a wish to leave their club and the club hasnt expressed a desire to trade them. Does the trade happen by magic? or are we throwing huge contracts and high draft picks to get these players? Is this something happening on a video game? Or is warnie and dicko and benji running the competition? Maybe this is fantasy post season posting...don't mind me.

There is plenty wrong on the coaching side in my opinion. The game plan in 2020 was exposed by several teams.
We got belted 3 or 4 times this year.

We allow other teams to kick the ball around at their leisure without pressure while we implement a weak zone.

134 marks by the cats on the weekend. That is frigging ridiculous. 120 of them uncontested.

In comparison we had 46 marks - 41 of them uncontested.
Adams & Pendlebury, our 2 best mids did not have a single solitary mark between them. Not one. Our ruckman had 1. The relief ruckman had 1
Their opponents? Duncan had 12, Guthrie 7, Menagola 7 & Dangerfield 6. yes some were in the forward half for Danger.

They made us kick to a contest. Something we just don't do anywhere near enough.
Stop giving the opposition cheap possessions that result in easy exits from our forward line & easier entries to theirs.
Make it a contest from the time they kick the ball in from a behind. We don't do that until the ball is in our defensive 50. It's a bit late to be making a contest then. Lock it in our forward line FFS & make it a war to get it out.

However I have a feeling our coach is too stubborn to change tack. He will look at the stats & say we didn't work hard enough.
He shoulders a huge amount of blame for that performance & the year itself.

There is plenty wrong on the coaching side in my opinion. The game plan in 2020 was exposed by several teams.
We got belted 3 or 4 times this year.

We allow other teams to kick the ball around at their leisure without pressure while we implement a weak zone.

134 marks by the cats on the weekend. That is frigging ridiculous. 120 of them uncontested.

In comparison we had 46 marks - 41 of them uncontested.
Adams & Pendlebury, our 2 best mids did not have a single solitary mark between them. Not one. Our ruckman had 1. The relief ruckman had 1
Their opponents? Duncan had 12, Guthrie 7, Menagola 7 & Dangerfield 6. yes some were in the forward half for Danger.

They made us kick to a contest. Something we just don't do anywhere near enough.
Stop giving the opposition cheap possessions that result in easy exits from our forward line & easier entries to theirs.
Make it a contest from the time they kick the ball in from a behind. We don't do that until the ball is in our defensive 50. It's a bit late to be making a contest then. Lock it in our forward line FFS & make it a war to get it out.

However I have a feeling our coach is too stubborn to change tack. He will look at the stats & say we didn't work hard enough.
He shoulders a huge amount of blame for that performance & the year itself.

whoever invented Richmond's game plan is a genius. they have 3 stars (imo), a couple of old stars and half a dozen or so good players and the rest are low $$ foot soldiers. their game style doesn't rely on massive amounts of skill just speed, pressure the ball and push it forward.

in a highly contested game (basically every final) every time you handle the ball you're inviting pressure.

Que in the 'yo NOT a coLLINwud SUportA, P155 orF'. Constructive criticism doesn't belong around here mate.

There aren't too many who take issue with actual constructive criticism. Maybe it's more about what people try to pass off as constructive criticism.

Article in today's Age Newspaper
that article doesnt help improve the team for 2021.... in fact its given up for Collingwood suggesting to re-tool using draft. But Buckley will not go all in on the draft... the team has the average age in the AFL because most of their players are between 22 and 29 year olds. They have 31 players under 26 and 14 players over 26.... the best players are over 25. So it means they are in their Prime but with up and coming players at the 22-25 year old range.

Going draft is fine if they dont sacrifice making improvements... the Pies at their best look like premiership favourites just like they were early in the season. It was the disruption and injuries to their best players that derailed the season.

I think they need to swap out some of their over 25 year old guns for 24 and young guns and watch them fall in average age dramatically.

The AFL “sacked” Hocking by cancelling the VFL season. If Harvey was the VFL coach he would have gone.

That's my read on the initial parting of the ways but it now appears to have been formalised and we have a new VFL coach coming apparently. Hard to know if we've already had discussions with Buddha about a return to the senior panel once everything has been sorted. I'd certainly welcome it, he and Boyd bring some grit to the panel.

Coach New direction