News New head of Fitness, Conditioning and Medical - Harry Taylor

You're not accepting that the difference between going from university straight in to the job is a tad different to doing university and going in to a job that you've had no previous exposure to. Different scenarios.
You won't accept that making someone with no experience as the head of a department is ridiculous.

Exposure means nothing. He does not have one single day of work experience doing this job.

Mate, not sure this is 100% right. Politicians take over portfolios with zero practical experience. What they do in this instance is rely on the expertise of the departments that do preside of over the functional aspects of the portfolio.

My thinking is that he has a little bit of knowledge of physio stuff (not really practical, but good enough to have a conversation and understand the mechanics of treatment), he has a hell of alot knowledge about playing football and preparing for it, he is a great leader and likely a great manager, he is articulate and can facilitate knowledge transfer. He is going to be green at his role, but hell, alot of us have taken roles that we dont have much experience at, and built capability. But to that degree - he's a humble man without much of an ego, so he will take advice of those who are at the coalface, he will also be able to learn off Lloyd too.

I believe he'll do alright in it.
I'm not criticizing harry as a person. But to actually make him head of these departments with no experience doing them is very odd. He should be learning the job from experienced heads, not being the head himself.

And our politicians are almost incompetent, it's not a great example to be using. And that is the way the system works, there is no alternative here, because they are voted in. There is a clear alternative in not making harry the head of the department.

You won't accept that making someone with no experience as the head of a department is ridiculous.

Exposure means nothing. He does not have one single day of work experience doing this job.

On the contrary

I was given the opportunity to run a business that comprises 2 main departments/sections of the business. I was experienced in one of those at the time I was hired and had zero experience in the other.

I have turned that business in to a booming one with thanks to the support from my superiors and colleagues alike.

Ridiculous, then.

You are having a really poor month or so.
Continual melts (on any subject).
Go have a lie down.

Melts lol. Weird take.

Nice job attacking the man rather than the providing any counter point though.

On the contrary

I was given the opportunity to run a business that comprises 2 main departments/sections of the business. I was experienced in one of those at the time I was hired and had zero experience in the other.

I have turned that business in to a booming one with thanks to the support from my superiors and colleagues alike.

Ridiculous, then.

Selling cars?

Still completely irrelevant because you have job experience in one part. Harry has no job experience in any part of the business.

Let's just agree to disagree here.

I'm not criticizing harry as a person. But to actually make him head of these departments with no experience doing them is very odd. He should be learning the job from experienced heads, not being the head himself.

And our politicians are almost incompetent, it's not a great example to be using. And that is the way the system works, there is no alternative here, because they are voted in. There is a clear alternative in not making harry the head of the department.
You and I do not know his exact job description, but any person at GFC who is even qualified to do anything gets ultimate criticism and "advice" from all the experts here on BF. Why all the stress about it now? Let's see how he does. He has been employed by those who know for multiple reasons, not just that he wore #7 and was a star.
What were Tom Harley's credentials to end up where he is?
Harry could be anything great, and we should be thrilled he has returned "home".

On the contrary

Ridiculous, then.
Hope you work night shift,because they're not getting great value for money from you today.

You and I do not know his exact job description, but any person at GFC who is even qualified to do anything gets ultimate criticism and "advice" from all the experts here on BF. Why all the stress about it now? Let's see how he does. He has been employed by those who know for multiple reasons, not just that he wore #7 and was a star.
What were Tom Harley's credentials to end up where he is?
Harry could be anything great, and we should be thrilled he has returned "home".

In the weeks following his retirement, Harley was sounded out by the AFL's newest team, Greater Western Sydney Giants, to join the club in an off-field role. On 4 December 2009, it was announced that Harley would join the club as a project consultant, serving on committee board and the football department in a part-time role.

Harley later also joined the AIS-AFL Academy as an assistant coach and mentor.

This is the work experience he had before he went to the swans. Now i'll post up Harry's work experience.

Played football for geelong 2008-2020.

Harry has the smarts to be good at his job. I just think he should be learning the job from experienced heads, not actually being the head himself.

In the weeks following his retirement, Harley was sounded out by the AFL's newest team, Greater Western Sydney Giants, to join the club in an off-field role. On 4 December 2009, it was announced that Harley would join the club as a project consultant, serving on committee board and the football department in a part-time role.

Harley later also joined the AIS-AFL Academy as an assistant coach and mentor.

This is the work experience he had before he went to the swans. Now i'll post up Harry's work experience.

Played football for geelong 2008-2020.

Harry has the smarts to be good at his job. I just think he should be learning the job from experienced heads, not actually being the head himself.

Article said:
The 35-year-old spent 2021 working as operations manager in the Great Northern Football League and playing for Northampton.

No experience

No, I never thought you were criticising Harry. And the politicians thing - yes they are irritating, but they are hardly incompetent. They are fairly capable humans with low empathy and high personal drive (ideal for their role). They switch over from portfolio to portfolio and demonstrate a fair bit of understanding very quickly - even thought alot of what they are learning is very complex.

I totally get your point. It is not a standard thing to be promoted to head a department with minimal runs on the board actually understanding that department. I guess they are seeing something in him or expect to mentor him into the role. But... you and I know that his affiliation got him the job. There are plenty of very experienced people who do this role in sports who would hit the ground running and provide alot more value that HT if they were given the opportunity. It's definitely not a merit selection (also similar to politicians landing portfolios).

CUT OUT THE PERSONAL SNIPING

I don't give a s**t which side of the fence posters sit on in regards to the appointment of Harry, but cut the crap with the recent posting efforts

Debate the subject at hand without finding ways to include personal attacks

Gee some of the comments in here on Harry's appointment are absolute rubbish.

He was regarded as one of the most elite players in the system as far as his preparation was concerned - and is only recently out of the game at the highest level. This compared to some of the people that come out of university with no elite level experience and just a bunch of theories on fitness and conditioning. Harry's job is not to rub the players down after training and fill the bloody water bottles - it's to oversee the development (and improvement) of an elite program aimed at getting the best out of the players, and an advantage over the opposition.

He left no stone unturned in his own preparation - something that would certainly be of benefit to our younger people coming through the system. He's not teaching blokes how to warm up - warm down - or throw around a barbell. He's overseeing the culture and development of an elite program - one which he's only recently come out of. And part of that is attracting elite specialists to the club - he knows what's required and his mandate will be to bring those skills in if they're not already there.

Lets review where this is in 2-3 years time. Not 2 weeks after he's been appointed.

Gee some of the comments in here on Harry's appointment are absolute rubbish.

He was regarded as one of the most elite players in the system as far as his preparation was concerned - and is only recently out of the game at the highest level. This compared to some of the people that come out of university with no elite level experience and just a bunch of theories on fitness and conditioning. Harry's job is not to rub the players down after training and fill the bloody water bottles - it's to oversee the development (and improvement) of an elite program aimed at getting the best out of the players, and an advantage over the opposition.

He left no stone unturned in his own preparation - something that would certainly be of benefit to our younger people coming through the system. He's not teaching blokes how to warm up - warm down - or throw around a barbell. He's overseeing the culture and development of an elite program - one which he's only recently come out of. And part of that is attracting elite specialists to the club - he knows what's required and his mandate will be to bring those skills in if they're not already there.

Lets review where this is in 2-3 years time. Not 2 weeks after he's been appointed.

Spot on - I'd also add , as Vdubs has mentioned, that the Position Description will go a long way as to his suitability as to the role and structure we are setting up. We have to trust the Club that he's a good fit on that front IMHO.
On the local front I can add he's been busy this last 12 months over here - both on and off the field - I think he kicked a huge bag or two for Northhampton and done various roles of a footy nature. Busy lad.
Mates have heard him speak at events and been very impressed - he was at a pre GF function I attended and spoke well - particularly on how he prepared for Finals games.
If his skills are transferable to the role I think he'll do very well :thumbsu:

Can't believe so many do not realise that Harry is a qualified Physiotherapist who was able to pick the brains of every other physio that has gone through the club in the last 10 years. This is not as left field as people think.
He's a left handed left footer, so no worries anyway.
His role has never been discussed before- I don't get the angst. As if any of us really knows what he has been asked to do. We do know that whatever he does, it will be fully researched and dealt with to the ultimate best of his ability.