• song 2 Rosco Eliipot

Votes: 1 50.0%
  • Song 3 reworked

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • song 4 original

Votes: 0 0.0%

Eskimo Joe song has way too big a musical interlude. They would sing a verse then stop for 30 seconds. Needs to be rearranged. But it's growing on me.

I actually like both new songs but the Eskimo Joe song, while i prefer it is definitely too long in the middle without words.

I like the song by the joes. Really catchy, can't stop singing it.

Change can be a good thing I think you made a good choice with the jumper and a new song wouldn't hurt. Clubs change stuff all the time, you guys aren't the only ones that make changes. Richmond, Brisbane, Hawthorn and Geelong have all changed there logo's recently.

I will vote for the Eskimo Joe song, but it will be very close between that and the original.

Just some really good elements in the EJ song, the other new one is a bit clunky and the lyrics are lacking (Do wharfies roar?). The reworked version of the original is worse than the original.

Well I was definitely a doubter, but with a few tweaks I could see the EJ version working.

Probably tied with re-worked version (haha they still kept the guitar/pinch harmonics) as my number 1 preference.

At this stage I find the Rosco one very average, lyrics are as cheesy as the old song. I think if he wanted to truly emphasize the Freo chants aspect he should have dragged out the FREOO part to make it an actual chant to sing along to, maybe have it at the very end somewhat remniscent of the Tigers "Yellow and Black" battlecry.

I may be one of the people against change... I love the old song, will probably vote for the reworked version.

I didn't really rate the two new ones, maybe a few more listens and they will grow on me.

EJ for me. it holds up to repeat listens. Also, i'm glad they've written a footy song, rather than an EJ song.

The reworked version has everything I don't like about the old song and the Rosco version seems to have missed the point.

Eskimo Joe song has way too big a musical interlude. They would sing a verse then stop for 30 seconds. Needs to be rearranged. But it's growing on me.

As we all know, most people don't like change. It's going to be hard for a new song to win. I like how the club has split the originalists by providing them with 2 options.

The military sounding one also would need to be re-arranged but i don't find it as catching as the Eskimo Joe Song. Though the poor guy writing it claims a selling point as the 'Freo' chant which is all through the Eskimo Joe Version. Tough angle to try to sell it from.

I'd say the players would just sing the first verse (up to the musical interlude) and that would be them done?

You really need to have these songs sung by a bunch of people/players without any music. But as for what is on the website ...

I freaking hate Eskimo Joe, but I easily like that one the best. At least their song has the most old-school pompous style to it, albeit a bit "busy" and that interlude is too long. Although the first time I listened to it, I heard "as the kock goes up" both times that part is sung. The Fre-oo bit sounds a bit strange at first, but could work. A deeper or more masculine old-school voice wouldn't go astray.

The Rosco Elliot song is freaking terrible. It has that horrible cheesy modern "synthetic" beat to it.

The re-worked song is awful as well. Wailing guitars, awful lyrics and cheesy synthetic drum machine sound does not equal a good football song.

After listening to them several times, it isn't even close as far as I'm concerned. The Eskimo Joe song is 10 times better than the others. At least it kind of sounds like a football sounds. And I repeat, I hate Eskimo Joe and thought their song would be an abomination. Still needs some more work (although something tells me these are supposed to be finished versions), but it is a good start.

EJ for me. it holds up to repeat listens. Also, i'm glad they've written a footy song, rather than an EJ song.

The reworked version has everything I don't like about the old song and the Rosco version seems to have missed the point.

oh dear.. the reworked version has everything I love about the old song, we must be polar opposites

I'm a bit the same. Kind of sad not having the Freo Heave Ho chant at the start, and he didn't change any of the Roller Rocker lyrics, (although I like the melody of this part) Sounds more gay show tune than the original on first listen

That re-worked version reminds me musically of that Marvellous song on a 12th Man album. Which was a joke (and a very funny one). This one sounds like a bad joke.

I'm a bit the same. Kind of sad not having the Freo Heave Ho chant at the start, and he didn't change any of the Roller Rocker lyrics, (although I like the melody of this part) Sounds more gay show tune than the original on first listen

i don't mind the melody of the roller rocker bit either, it's the cheesy lyrics and the noodley guitar track that bugs me. as a song that's meant to stand the test of time, it already feels dated. and yeah, i think the freo heave ho chant is my fav part of the old song - it really conjures up a great sea-faring image. i would love just that part to be incorporated into the freo chant at games sung by fans.

Kenny stuffed up the chance to rework the original into something timeless and quality. Instead he snipped off the chant at the start and turned up the cheese. I wonder if he asked for any feedback into the original, or just did it off his own back. Somewhat disappointing effort

i don't mind the melody of the roller rocker bit either, it's the cheesy lyrics and the noodley guitar track that bugs me. as a song that's meant to stand the test of time, it already feels dated. and yeah, i think the freo heave ho chant is my fav part of the old song - it really conjures up a great sea-faring image. i would love just that part to be incorporated into the freo chant at games sung by fans.

Agree completely, particularly with the bolded bit

Kenny stuffed up the chance to rework the original into something timeless and less quality. Instead he snipped off the chant at the start and turned up the cheese. I wonder if he asked for any feedback into the original, or just did it off his own back. Somewhat disappointing effort

kenny was a bit slack, i reckon. you can hear the cuts in the track. it sounds like he spent a couple of hours in the studio and kept the bits that he thought the cool kids would like, except the cool kids grew up in the 80s.

Surprisingly, I don't mind the EJ song. As others have said, I too think there is too much of a musical interlude in the middle. It's not just about which part the players sing, it's about the crowd singing it after the game also. Don't want to be standing around waiting for the next line in the song.

It's catchy and it's got some "shouty" bits. That's all a footy song needs.

This will only be a good thing, it will spite the vote of the steve haters.

Looks like the Steve's have been watching The Wire on DVD. Classic Carcetti...split the vote.

I would like an option to vote against BigPond if I may. Still haven't gotten anything other than the EJ and the tremendously poor reworked orig....wait a second...oh you sneaky buggers...they got me again.

I like the Eskimo Joe song, although as others have said the long break after the first verse is too long.

The EJ song reminds me of 500 Miles by the Proclaimers while the Rosco Elliot 'Freo Roar' reminds me a bit of 'Rasputin' by Boney M :eek:

Ill be voting:
1. Esky
2. Original
3. Reworked
4. Freo Roar

All the new ones are horrible. The Eskimo Joe and Rosco Elliot ones sound like the port/GC song. The Reworked one doesnt do it for me.

Just keep the ****ing song

Love the Freo chant (keeps some of the feel of Heave Ho), the purple and the white and more than anything the mention of the cup.

Change the jumper?
Ok it does look good.

Change the song?
Not sure about that...

Eskimo Joe?
Really?

Pretty sure I posted in the begining that it wasn't so much that I didn't want a new song I just had no faith in us not ending up with a worse one. Will be listening to them all a lot more before adding my 2 cents to the poll but I am now suitably chastised and appologise for my lack of faith :D.

I like the Eskimo Joe song, although as others have said the long break after the first verse is too long.

The EJ song reminds me of 500 Miles by the Proclaimers while the Rosco Elliot 'Freo Roar' reminds me a bit of 'Rasputin' by Boney M :eek:

Ill be voting:
1. Esky
2. Original
3. Reworked
4. Freo Roar

I was deadset about to say the same!

im actually pleasantly shocked with how good the eskimo joe song is... im definitely going to vote for that. it wipes the floor with the other efforts, especially the original we have now