New Stadium

Would have to be either:

a) Burswood
b) East Perth - old power station
c) Langley Park

Seriously, those three are the only *real* options as Burswood has ample space, lots of entertainment etc. (all mentioned above)

The old power station is not used anymore and is wasted space - plus loads easier to get to than Subi - you can walk from Claisebrook easy as you like - less transport congestion

Langley park - same as above really; easy to get to, central, most of the park is wasted space

Oh and all 3 would be right on the river

We all talk about the river as being another option re transport to and from games, but I just can't see it happening.

The ferry to South Perth is rarely used except for a few regulars. I don't know about the current options re travelling between Freo and Perrth via the river, but I doubt it would take off. I seem to recall that it was either too far, and/or the river too shallow in certain places to enable the required high-speed ferries to make it viable.

But who knows? Maybe taking the ferry to the footy could be the impetus to convince people that river travel is a credible option.

Burswood werent going to pay all of it but most of it.
WAFC strongly objected coz it means most the money will be going into thburswood owners pockets which is why they are pressuring the gov to keep it at subi.
Also i didnt think packer owned burswood anymore i thought it was a group of asian business men.

Burswood is perfect plenty of space, lots of transport already setup adding ferries etc to help get ppl from city to burswood or possibly a foot bridge would be just about the only changes to make.

Traffic to an from games at subi is already terrible now, imagine if we got 60,000 going to a game.

Corruption will see it staying at subi though

The best thing about that shithole is the new freeway that goes right past it .

Speed bump on the way to the southwest, at best.

Burswood for mine :thumbsu:
It is beautiful. I like it, growing and lots of room for a ground. Aarently like WA's second biggest town or city.

I have always found the debate of "Where to put the stadium?" quite amusing since Burswood offered to have it on their Golf Course. It should be a no brainer with that offer.

The train goes right past it - they only have to upgrade the station.

There are two major roads cornering it. The Poly pipe and Great Eastern highway. There is also busports to the south on Shepparton road- they can upgrade the too.Subi has narrow one way streets. There is an Airport 10 minutes up the road for interstate supporters, teams etc

It's on the river.a) Ferry people there b] it can be Dockland like. There has been huge residential development there over the last decade. c] it would look fantastic and offer a "Gateway to Perth"feel about it.

There is a resort Casino and accommodation at Burswood.

There is enough room to put a Rugby/Soccer stadium next to it.I implore the govt. to not spend 85 million on NIB stadium it is a waste. Why does all the sporting areas in Perth have to be apart.

Knock Subi and the WACA down! sell the land to developers and make a quid.

barnett even said on the news that it [Subi} is beyond repair.

No Brainer, just ****ing draw up the plans already!

Why the debate

The Burswood Golf course is a shit course!!

I have always found the debate of "Where to put the stadium?" quite amusing since Burswood offered to have it on their Golf Course. It should be a no brainer with that offer.

The train goes right past it - they only have to upgrade the station.

There are two major roads cornering it. The Poly pipe and Great Eastern highway. There is also busports to the south on Shepparton road- they can upgrade the too.Subi has narrow one way streets. There is an Airport 10 minutes up the road for interstate supporters, teams etc

It's on the river.a) Ferry people there b] it can be Dockland like. There has been huge residential development there over the last decade. c] it would look fantastic and offer a "Gateway to Perth"feel about it.

There is a resort Casino and accommodation at Burswood.

There is enough room to put a Rugby/Soccer stadium next to it.I implore the govt. to not spend 85 million on NIB stadium it is a waste. Why does all the sporting areas in Perth have to be apart.

Knock Subi and the WACA down! sell the land to developers and make a quid.

barnett even said on the news that it [Subi} is beyond repair.

No Brainer, just ****ing draw up the plans already!

Why the debate

The Burswood Golf course is a shit course!!

:thumbsu: 100% agree with the above. Burswood is the perfect base for a new stadium. why is it so hard for the government to realise this??

Burswood was ruled out as a site for a new stadium because of construction costs. The land being offered was reclaimed swamp which would have caused massive amounts of money to be spent on piles to prevent the grandstands from sinking into the mud. Packer didn't ever offer any money for actually constructing a stadium. He's too smart for that.
Subiaco is far and away the most appropriate site.A new stadium though, not the usual hotch-potch patch up job our visionary premier has in his mind.

Subi is shit. The WAFL club, the subburb, the ground, the other club that plays there, all of it.

The markets were ok though, but not as good as Freo :D

FREMANTLE OVAL why did it not even get a look in. Everything is there already. Every overseas and interstate tourist I've ever met rates Fremantle as their most fav place when they have visited.

We don't need more than a 60000 seat stadium in Perth, you want to have a decent atmosphere at games and when one or both WA teams are struggling, any more than this would be like going to a Melbourne game at the MCG - shit, I've been there.

With a third WA AFL team coming, I say develop FREMANTLE oval to 60000, then in the future build a 60000 seat stadium north of the river, maybe walking distance to the new marina thats being built in Ocean Reef, for the new WA team and the Eagles to share.

Can you imagine trying to get 60,000 people in and out of Freo Oval.

As nice as it would be it's never going to happen. Not unless they're prepared to rip up half of Fremantle and redesign it from scratch.

Burswood was ruled out as a site for a new stadium because of construction costs. The land being offered was reclaimed swamp which would have caused massive amounts of money to be spent on piles to prevent the grandstands from sinking into the mud. Packer didn't ever offer any money for actually constructing a stadium. He's too smart for that.
Subiaco is far and away the most appropriate site.A new stadium though, not the usual hotch-potch patch up job our visionary premier has in his mind.

The casino is built on a reclaimed rubbish dump but that didn't stop the construction of a massive hotel, apartment blocks etc. Any additional construction costs are more than offset by not having to buy back all the residential properties alongside Subi. Plus the few squillion they get for selling the land at Subi.

So rather than spending the money to put it in the best place, we're scrimping and cutting costs and going for second or third best? Great! Ya gotta love WA government. :rolleyes:

The casino is built on a reclaimed rubbish dump but that didn't stop the construction of a massive hotel, apartment blocks etc. Any additional construction costs are more than offset by not having to buy back all the residential properties alongside Subi. Plus the few squillion they get for selling the land at Subi.

Exactly! It has to be a political decision to go for Subi, it's certainly not based on logic!

Well I think that the WA pollies should set up a committee, and that committee should come up with a report, and that report should recommend the setting up of a discussion group. This discussion group should then recommend the setting up of a "think tank."

The "think tank" should then meet for working lunches at the WA taxpayers expense to "pro-actively discuss all the stadium options." These lunches should take place as often as possible with Friday afternoons being the preferred diary date. Copious amounts of "fact finding trips" around the globe to warm, (but really cool) places should also be an essential part of the remit of the think tank. Hopefully, all of this will take "a good few years."

A "very thick" report will then be published, with as much plagiarism as possible from similar reports providing most of the "thickness." The conclusion of the report will of course be to put the stadium where whatever self interested parties moaned the most and loudest about where it should be put.

But hang on! Is all of this sounding just a tad familiar??..............

Why doesn't Boring Barnett take a leaf out of the Victorian's book?
A few years back, some fellow stood up in the Victorian Parliament and said, "I reckon we should have a new AFL stadium in Melbourne."
Half an hour later 2 bus-loads of blokes rocked up at Docklands with shovels and laser levels! Same thing happened with the Melbourne Rectangular Stadium.

All this buggering and pissing around by our pollies has made us the laughing stock of Australia! At this rate, my 3 year old daughter will have presented me with a flying carload of grandchildren before we get a new stadium!

Build the bloody thing at Burswood, like most people want. Who makes money from it is the least of my worries. I don't care if it's the Sicilian Mafia, as long as we get a decent venue to watch the footy!

Funding... No worries... The new speeder / red light jumper cameras which seem to be springing up at every other intersection in Perth are apparently raking in a squillion bucks a week form all reports! Enough to build more stadiums than we know what to do with!

And don't call me a selfish bar-steward for suggesting Burswood when I know it's only 4 minutes on the bus from my house...
Next you'll be accusing me of being sarcastic...!

Exactly! It has to be a political decision to go for Subi, it's certainly not based on logic!

Wake up, where do alot of the pollies and WAFC administrators live ......?. Yep western suburbs.

The Subiaco Council are not a council that is prepared to go out of its way to attract clients, they expect you do as they say. They don't like the word negotiation.

Councils in other areas may be more amiable to negotiate. For example, Subi tell the WAFC the number of night games they can have, other councils may allow unlimited night games for some trade off ( money, build restaurant facilities around ground area ).

I like the Burswood idea, but then why do we need the WACA plus a big footy ground. Sell the WACA and build at the Burswood, use drop in pitches for the pyjama wearers.

The WACA isn't going anywhere. In fact the opposite, it (The WACA) has approved re-development of the ground, including a hotel tower, residential tower and business tower. It is going to happen. The government, & City of Perth also wants the East Perth "entrance" to the city re-vamped, and it appears as this will also go ahead.
IF all of that does happen it would seem even more appealing to have the stadium built at Burswood. As somebody else said, a rectangular stadium close by would improve the city so much. Imagine the Casino, the new stadium, a rectangular stadium all together within a stones throw of a new look East Perth are including WACA. Would be bloody awesome.
And because it would be so good, it will never happen.

Wake up, where do alot of the pollies and WAFC administrators live ......?. Yep western suburbs.

The Subiaco Council are not a council that is prepared to go out of its way to attract clients, they expect you do as they say. They don't like the word negotiation.

Councils in other areas may be more amiable to negotiate. For example, Subi tell the WAFC the number of night games they can have, other councils may allow unlimited night games for some trade off ( money, build restaurant facilities around ground area ).

I like the Burswood idea, but then why do we need the WACA plus a big footy ground. Sell the WACA and build at the Burswood, use drop in pitches for the pyjama wearers.

Not to mention when they are absolutely ass hats about parking. Any other time, you can park in Subiaco, but by god, if you park in these spots without a permit...you can expect a $75 fine!!

Barnett told us the land for the gas hub outside Broome may be compulsorily acquired to be used for Government's purpose.

Why?

Because Government has the power and the will.

What I'd like to see is a WA Government decide Belmont Park would make the most suitable location to develop as a multi sport location that has dedicated arenas that can expand for generations.

Once it makes the decision it should compulsorily acquired the land from who ever currently has ownership/control/lease hold.

Why?

Because Government has the power and the will.

It wont happen though.
Too many pigs in the trough.

New Stadium