New teams for fast growing Melbourne: Stars and Dragons

MaddAdam

10k Posts Bay 13: Vintage Bay Podcaster North Melbourne - North 2012 Player Sponsor North Melbourne - North 2011 Player Sponsor North Melbourne - North 2010 Player Sponsor North Melbourne - North 2009 Player Sponsor
Jun 8, 2011
In the not so distant future
Clubs like North, St Kilda and Western Bulldogs struggle enough as it is. If anything we need to chop one Victorian team.

There's always one with absolutely no idea.

Sanctuary

Draftee
May 8, 2018
There's always one with absolutely no idea.
Just because you don’t like everything you read on BigFooty does not make it a troll, nor does it make the person who wrote it have “no idea”.

Try to remain calm and address the topic at hand (like a grownup). I know it seems like a daunting task, but I think you’re more than capable.

That's a bit weird. You want more teams for Victoria for the growing population, but happy for current Victorian team to play in Hobart?

MaddAdam

10k Posts Bay 13: Vintage Bay Podcaster North Melbourne - North 2012 Player Sponsor North Melbourne - North 2011 Player Sponsor North Melbourne - North 2010 Player Sponsor North Melbourne - North 2009 Player Sponsor
Jun 8, 2011
Not sure where you're getting your figures from.
At the current high growth rate the ABS has Melbourne at 5.9m in 2031.
Big growth but not double or 8.5m.

The growth will accelerate.

MaddAdam

Jun 8, 2011
Yeah you're right about the South East being a huge growth corridor. Get the AFL involved in the Cardinia/Casey pitch for a new A-League team with stadium and training ground and utilise some extra space to build a huge ****-off stadium with a 75,000 capacity.

Then simply amalgamate two struggling Melbourne teams and rebrand per your guidelines as something relatable and relevant.

Simples :moustache:

You were so nearly there.

MaddAdam

Jun 8, 2011
they’ve been saying that for years and it never has. hope it does though, then it will be the undisputed suburban shithole of australia

The current growth rates make it inevitable, last decade especially.

MaddAdam

Jun 8, 2011
That's a bit weird. You want more teams for Victoria for the growing population, but happy for current Victorian team to play in Hobart?

Tassie isn't getting a team ever, so its a nice compromise.

MarkT2

Sep 3, 2009
Melb
Why would new teams make any difference to whether a interstate or international migrant to Melboure would follow the code? A choice between 10 or 15 teams isn;t a choice between AFL, NRL or A League.

inbetween

Aug 14, 2010
Vikings
Awfully naive for someone to think Melbourne's population will double in 15 years.
Providing the necessary housing alone will be a headache.

BF Tiger

Jun 5, 2007
9th
Yet every year the likes of Tim Kelly come out of the state leagues and straight into the big time.

I'm not convinced by this argument.

There'll be more dollars in a city twice as big.

I reckon the extra game would, yep, at a pinch.

Good luck finding 80 Tim Kelly's to fill those lists.

Will there be more dollars for new teams though? Because the current teams will be wanting more dollars. And an extra A-League team might pop up, because you know, migrant numbers. Oh, and a basketball side.

And as I said, the extra game will only be worth steak knives. There is no way that the tenth game is worth as much as the first game.

Anyway, looking at these figures for the year given, net migration was only 65,000 people to Victoria. The number to Melbourne less. Then remove those who have no interest in footy. And then those who end up supporting a traditional club. How many are left to split between two extra sides?

http://www.abs.gov.au/ausstats/abs@...ummary&prodno=3412.0&issue=2015-16&num=&view=

Sep 11, 2008
Awfully naive for someone to think Melbourne's population will double in 15 years.
Providing the necessary housing alone will be a headache.
Yep, OP has misinterpreted the article about population.
The doubling was talking about the city of melbourne municipality (ie: the local council area) which takes in just the central part of Melbourne. The article said the population will go from 115k to 230k, due to all the apartment buildings going up.

Sep 13, 2015
Hillary Step
76ers
No. We shouldn’t be expanding the competition. 18 is plenty/borderline too many.

Also don’t know why people ever think conferences are a good idea. I was watching the NBA and they were talking about the 76ers and Celtics and how they look like two teams of the future, and how awesome it is that that rivalry will be played out in some of the biggest games, but all I could think about was how disappointing it is that they’ll never meet in the Finals. The closest they can get to it is conference finals.
Our current system works pretty well imo. Most teams are alive until really late in the season, and the higher finishing teams are rewarded come finals without completely destroying the lower sides chances.

PetterdHoisted

Apr 27, 2014
Need another team in Richmond.... peejay
This is the only expansion team that makes sense in Melbourne. Tiges have got too big.

Richmond become Richmond United, RUFC, drawing supporters from all over greater Richmond, i.e. Cremorne, Yarra Park/Jolimont, Burnley, and significant support in the capital and beyond. They play at PRO, which is technically not even in Richmond, but they retain their long, successful history. Then we have the new club, Richmond City (The Wasps?)...with a very rich backer they could do up that ground behind the Town Hall, rolled gold Richmond real estate, a lot of plastic fans to begin with though.

Done right, both clubs would have circa 50k members, financially viable, and clubs of a size that the likes of North could realistically compete against..