Newman

He got his final, its now time for him to be phased out. He had 13 games last season with mid teen possessions or less and only 2 games with more then 20. Compare that with 2012 where he had 8, but he still had had 11 games of mid teens or less including 4 under 10 (although i can't remember if he was taken off injured).

http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pg-richmond-tigers--chris-newman?year=2013

I wouldn't worry too much about his possession stats. Newy doesn't need to be a big accumulator to have value. His biggest weapon is his left foot. If he gets 10 kicks a game but they're all between the wing and our goal square he'll have plenty of impact. I'd love to see him get in position to have 30 shots on goal this season. He'd end up with 20+ goals.

Hard decisions may have to be made. He was poor this year, and if he puts up another year of similar performances I think we have to look at dropping him, unfortunately.

Until he physically can't keep up and starts being beaten by his man, which has not yet happened in 10 years of footy thus far, he will be a lock each and every week for the simple fact that his skills, leadership and courage are still as good as any out there.

Not sure about anyone else, but I still see him playing more football up forward for us. Might not be explosive enough to play at HB but still has a great long kick and is a strong, courageous mark.

Either way he will not make it easy to take his spot as mentioned earlier.

Thread just shows how underrated he is. ;)

Disagree. Unfortunately (or fortunately), with the depth the club is now developing, and the stages some blokes are at with their careers,
It's not about how people rate him per say, it's about where we rate our list, and where is he in that regard. If he doesn't play the whole year, is it really a bad thing?

Hard decisions may have to be made. He was poor this year, and if he puts up another year of similar performances I think we have to look at dropping him, unfortunately.

Seems to be only comfortable at HB and we have plenty of options here. As the year went on, he seemed to struggle with the pace of AFL. I would think this will be his last year. I can see him play maybe 10 games or so. Absolute legend of a bloke who will hopefully keep helping our next generation.

fwd pocket, must kick goals and keep the ball in the fwd half
should be able to hold down this spot for a half a season then bye bye

great servant of the club obviously, but that shouldnt get you games, im thinking 7-11 games, none in the back half of the year, announces retirement in round 19, then maybe gets one fairwell game...

reckon your probably right however with the inevitable 3-7 injuries over the season would play him most weeks but give him a couple of breathers here and there, actually i would apply the same to king.

I agree. IMO, he'll be "managed" to get him through the season, and he won't be the only one. I think we will a core 12 to 15 playing every game, with 10 to 15 rotating through.

On the questions in the OP:

a) I'd take it ok when Newy isn't named, but I'll cry like a sook when he does a farewell lap at the end of the season.
b) It won't be a negative because we need to find another solid HBF
c) I'm tipping 17 more games to get him to 250 games.

I struggle to fit him in, but he played pretty well in our final and should have finished with 3 goals if kicked to his normal standard.

Good sub at the very least IMO but will play most games.

Still has speed left so I see no reason he won't play 22, he is elite user of the ball!
He needs to change his style then so he gets it more, and therefor becomes more damaging, 14 touched isnt enough if he isnt playing a huge defensive role.