Next captain options?

Who should be our next captain

Hawk probably gets first right of refusal in my eyes. If he doesn't want to do it then I wouldn't be surprised to see them install Danger and Stewie as co-captains

Hawk is 34 next year and it is probably his last. I cant see us appointing a 1 year captain.

Paddy is older now than Stewart will be in 2 years' time. No reason both can't captain in time.
I know but if paddy retires in 2-3 years time stewart will be 33 and we will have a bunch of 24yos (holmes sdk etc) who will be ready to captain then (whereas they arent now) so at that point i cant see them giving it to stewart at 33. So you give it to him now or not at all was my point.

Hawk is 34 next year and it is probably his last. I cant see us appointing a 1 year captain.

We appointed Ling for 2..

Do you honestly think next year would be Tom's last? I genuinely wouldn't be surprised if he went another 3 such is what his presentation looks like. Perhaps I'm just wishful thinking.

I would be very, very surprised if it is Hawk. Captain is not his vibe. He's got the three young kids, the farm, and will be focused on staying fit and healthy so he can continue his playing career. I also think he and Em will be looking to start some business and set themselves up for financial security post footy. They are smart people like that. I'd love to see him get the nod though!

Stewart replaced Blitz as the heir apparent to Selwood a few years back. Stewart is the general down back who sets up both our defence and charge forward. Often it was Stewart who'd follow right behind Selwood running out onto the ground. The other option is Danger but that would a) exclude Stewart from ever being captain because he'd be too old to take the job after Danger retires and b) Danger will be managed next season and I don't know if the club will want a captain who is out of a lot of games.

In my opinion Stewart is our future captain.

I agree with the sentiment that Stew will be the next captain,

The bloke I expect to be in the leadership group and my nom for the next in line after Stew though.... Jack Henry.
Heard him on the podcast I think it was last year with Sammy Simpson and was super impressed by how well Jack speaks, and have constantly found it since... speaks really well, very respectful but that calm assured nature about him, as brave as they come on the field and based on nothing more than what i have seen on tv and at games i wouldn't at all be shocked if he was in the mix.
12 months ago I would have said Mark O'Connor.... but his last 12 months maybe rules him out as he maybe isn't even a lock in the side really these days.

I'll be very surprised if he is not in some type of leadership role soon.
I hope so. He captained the vfl side and I’m pretty sure that was his best year during vfl. Maybe danger gets it short term then Atkins. And imagine the story… toughed it out for years, delisted, gets another crack, premiership player, captain? He’s got the stuff

Atkins - Tough as nails, can lead from the front (aka the coleface), selfless like the outgoing skipper. He even had the Port and Tigers games were he was instrumental to us winning the 4th qtr in them, very Selwood esq.

I would take a guess too, that since he only started playing more midfield later in the season, he hasn't had much of a preseason training in the there. Get him a full preseason training as a mid and he will be better off for it.

If not, then Danger or Stewart would be fine.
Interesting isn't it that we are seriously talking about Atkins as the next skipper?

For me he is nearly as good a story as Stengle and closely followed by Zuth.

Atkins lacks that outward personality and media presence to be Captain, IMO.
On field no worries, just the off field stuff that isn't his cup of tea, I feel we need to have a strong personality as our next skipper, even if it is short term.
Hence, Hawkins, Danger, even Jezza.

On field no worries, just the off field stuff that isn't his cup of tea, I feel we need to have a strong personality as our next skipper, even if it is short term.

True but Harley didn't really have that either, he was just an inspiring figure behind the scenes so to speak.

I do think it won't be Atkins though., He does seem almost shy when people interview him :p

I hope so. He captained the vfl side and I’m pretty sure that was his best year during vfl. Maybe danger gets it short term then Atkins. And imagine the story… toughed it out for years, delisted, gets another crack, premiership player, captain? He’s got the stuff

From Wiki:

Atkins again missed out on selection in the 2017 draft, but was encouraged by Geelong's head of football Simon Lloyd to continue pushing for an AFL career. He was named Geelong's sole VFL captain and played every game in the 2018 season, with career-high averages of 21.8 disposals and 9.4 tackles. Atkins was among the VFL's top ten players in score assists, handballs, contested possessions, clearances and hard ball gets. He led the competition in tackles, recording 188, and captained the VFL team of the year as a rover. Atkins won his second Geelong best and fairest with 413 votes.

True but Harley didn't really have that either, he was just an inspiring figure behind the scenes so to speak.

I do think it won't be Atkins though., He does seem almost shy when people interview him :p

For sure, but Harley was a brilliant media communicator regardless, and I reckon Captain requirements were different back then, we had brilliant on field leaders, we just needed a cool and calculated captain to balance that, especially with the media.

There are probably 4 or 5 kids who I reckon could be a chance in future too, some who speak well beyond their years.

I obviously voted Cameron- but the more i think about it - i hope Duncan gets it

I think he has got all the attributes apart from being a very skilfull player

You look at his maturity - he would handle everything on field and off field with applomb - it would be like water on a Ducks back to him

Dangerfield has been an absolute joy to watch - is there a better sight than him streaming out of the centre - like in the GF - just fantastic

But if you go back to the 19PF - in the 2nd qtr - Geel had 1 foot on Rich throat - in the 2nd qtr i thought Dangerfield was terribly immature - when goals were kicked - ball brought back to the centre - Dangerfield was allways laughing and standing crouched very close to Martin - and Martin got sick of it ( considering it was a knockout final )- and finally pushed him over and i dont blame him for doing that

Stewart he has had that indiscretion - and a few years back Tuohy said look Stewy says alot of stuff - the players dont know what he is talking about

Mitch the quiet achiever would be a terrific Geel captain

Whilst I love Atkins (see my thread) if he gets the gig now I think it would be disrespectful to others who are more senior. EG Danger, Hawk, Stewart, Blitz, Duncan.

So I think it is unlikely, and so I would have a gold standard kg on Danger. Would love Jez but IMO unlikely by his own decision.

While I never had any issue about Joel becoming skipper (how could you!), I did however harbour that particular reservation about him in 2012. He did look uncomfortable early on in media situations and wasn't the greatest public speaker. But the point is, the club saw through that and allowed him to work on those small deficiencies.

And while he never expressed himself publicly as well as say Tom Harley, Joel found his own particular space, and did it in a way that he was comfortable with.

I see no reason why Tom Atkins, a) can't be given the same space to develop whatever perceived deficiencies he may have, and b) that he has the ability fill those gaps. He presents as a really smart guy.

I'm in no doubt he'd make a great captain, but it's important (within certain parameters) that he be given the freedom to do it his way. Just like Joel was. Joel was never expected to be Harley or Ling 2.0

We appointed Ling for 2..

Do you honestly think next year would be Tom's last? I genuinely wouldn't be surprised if he went another 3 such is what his presentation looks like. Perhaps I'm just wishful thinking.

I think next year will be it for Tomahawk.

It will be interesting to see which of the next generation develop their credentials over the next 3-4 years under Tom Stewart as Captain.