Next Captain???

• Thread starter Billy
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None

B

Billy

Just out of interest, who do the people on this forum think will be the next captain of their club? Your thoughts please.

As a Geelong supporter this might surprise some people but i think that Clint Bizzell will be our next captain (Read should) - I've heard other people say that joel Mckay could be a future captain, but he hasn't played many senior games. I reckon we need someone young between 20 - 25 to take over the reigns when Big Benny retires or goes over to play NFL. We haven't got many future captains in the ressies (apart from Young Ezra Bray and Joel Mckay, most of them are very immature prats, i know cause i've met most of them !)

Jako. I've never seen a player more dedicated or loyal to his club. It's his family, and he loves it. It's been said that he will be playing footy, somewhere, somehow, on the day he dies.... He's not a real intellectual (sp?) like Whoosha or Bluey, but with Jako it doesnt matter.
smile.gif

Speaking a few years down the track, I really don't know. People say Cuz, but I don't think he has enough support from teamates. Maybe Braun? Read? Too early to say.

If he continues the way he is going at the moment Jude Bolton will succeed Paul Kelly in about 2-3 years time.

Its the type of player we like to captain the Swans - fearless on-baller types who lead by example.

Herbie Matthews
Ron Clegg
Bob Skilton
Paul Kelly
Jude Bolton

the tradition continues ...

All current North players will be too old when CAREY retires, watch the 2004 national draft, I say our second pick. (we are terrible first up)

For once I agree with G4E.

Clint Bizzel looks captaincy material but it depends on how long Benny stays around.

I like the look of Tom Harley, David Spriggs and David Clarke as leadership material in the future.

But it all depends on Benny.

At Port Adelaide we got heaps of future captains just take your pick.

But my pck, from left field, is Fraser Gehrig. Out of contract end of this season and Port have been entertaining the right people to impress him. Expect to see him in a Power jumper next season and captain by 2005.

Probably a surprise to many people outside the club but I think Spider Everitt will take over from Nathan Burke when he retires. It will be a sad day when Burkey hangs up the boots because I have never come across anyone as loyal as him.

Tim Watson has been working at improving Spider's leadership skills and believes he will be a future leader of the club.

His popularity amongst the younger supporters is unbelievable and contrary to media reports has a good rapport with the players.

Definitely a different kind of leader, but certainly someone who could handle the job.

Shinboners, as you requested, some news on Cameron Mooney.

Contrary to the Herald-Sun injury board, Cameron Mooney is back up and playing for Geelong.

Last week he played a half in the reserves in the backline and from all reports impressed with his marking ability (Finally, someone who can take a mark)

Is still about two weeks from hitting full fitness and should be ready to hit the senior team about round 14 if all goes well.

Captains seem to last a while at the Hawks and Crawf only being 25 should be Captain until at least 2005. So looking on from that point the bloke standing out has to be Croad. Maybe a few smokeys could be a Dixon or Chick but my money is on Croady.

Thanks for the update GoCatsGo.

Cameron Mooney will do well for you. He can take a good grab, he can ruck around the ground, but he needs to improve his kicking at goal (if you play him forward). And as has been drummed into every North player that has been trained by Denis Pagan, you'll know that he'll attack the ball. I'll be cheering for the kid (except against us, of course).

Thanks again.

Warfie

Fraser Gehrig for captain?

Are you planning on starting a tradition of captains who man handle umpires?

Drakey - I dont think Fraser will leave Perth - he's been here for 5 years and has played over 100 games with us . . . we wont just throw away the talent he has for the club.

Also, at least he isn't a low life who has to call people rapists to put them off their game

Next Captain???