Next Coach

I’ve always been a supporter of Lyon but I have lately been having second thoughts. Our game plan just doesn’t not seem to match it with other teams. Our panic long bombs out of the backline and continous long bombs in to a forward line that doesn’t have a tal marking forward is happening far to often for it to just be a mistake by the players. How often are we just going to continue to kick it long to an outnumbered player?

I’m starting to feel like the game may have gone passed Lyon. I don’t think there is much chance of him going before the end of the season but gee whiz he may be lucky to see much of next year if it continues this way.

Do we really think another coach could do better with this list? Really?
Absolutely. Coaches would wet their pants. I'll give you a list of players that I'm sure coaches would love to coach

Walters
Hill brothers
Fyfe
Wilson
Ryan
Neale
A. Pearce
Langdon
Cerra
Brayshaw

That's only 11 players, I can name more, but those 11 already would have the coach smiling from ear to ear.

With a more attacking gameplan, I actually reckon Walters and Fyfe could somehow be even better than what they already are. The Hill boys would love it, a forward structure would be like heaven to Tabs, Cox and McCarthy.

Debate is good, just reckon the club should analysing as we are attempting to do.
Not a Lyon lover but I do want our club to be successful and stable, now is the time to assess an review until the end of the year - not sack.
I would however really like to enjoy a game style again.....

Absolutely. Coaches would wet their pants. I'll give you a list of players that I'm sure coaches would love to coach

Walters
Hill brothers
Fyfe
Wilson
Ryan
Neale
A. Pearce
Langdon
Cerra
Brayshaw

That's only 11 players, I can name more, but those 11 already would have the coach smiling from ear to ear.

With a more attacking gameplan, I actually reckon Walters and Fyfe could somehow be even better than what they already are. The Hill boys would love it, a forward structure would be like heaven to Tabs, Cox and McCarthy.

Pretty telling that only one forward is listed there.

Hard to be a coach of a rebuilding team and survive nowadays it seems. Good on Richmond to not get sucked in and kept faith in Hardwick, hope we do the same.

They are good to watch.....even when they were inconsistent and they smashed us in 2015.

I don't understand this. How can people say our game plan doesn't match it with other teams, and then completely fail to take into account the players we are playing right now. As if none of that matters. I'm surprised we're even competitive right now given how many people are out or new who would have trained to our game plan over the pre-season.

We have at least 1 player with less than 10 games experience in 75% of our centre bounces. Lately we've rotated in Crowden (19), Banfield (20), Brayshaw (18) - and have 2 of Neale, Fyfe, Mundy, Walters in there.

We have a forward line with a new player in it (Matera). A player coming back from injury (Walters). A player who is 19 and has played 14 games (Cox). A half forward who we drafted last year (Cerra).

We have a backline that has a player returning from injury (Pearce) who is still finding his feet. A new player (Wilson). A player who is still coming back from injury and is lacking run/touch (S Hill).

The players we had training in the pre-season in specific roles (Logue, Taberner, Brad Hill are missing) - so structurally, the people we had practising in particular roles are missing.

Brad Hill for instance you can tell is missing because we lack an outlet on kicks out of defense. Same for Tabs.

I mean really? Baying for blood right now based on game plan is short sighted given the current players we've got in. We won't know if it's game plan until our guys gel together, and at that point it might end up looking ****ing phenomenal. What we do have right now is a bunch of young kids learning each game what it takes to play AFL

What happens behind closed doors to teach them where they need to improve is unknown to all of us. But it's difficult to have too many expectations with so much change at work

Agreed, but under Lyons reign we have bottomed out when we shouldn’t have.
I’m not for sacking him - but I’m not backing him to the hilt like others are.
I would undertake an independent review like they did at Collingwood.

Yes I think that's a logical decision and it might wake Ross up into making real change.

I like Ratts. Three year contract. Bring in Longmuir as an assistant (or does he dislike the club? Doesn't ever have much to do with them) and insurance policy so if Ratts is no good, in comes Longmuir.

I don't understand this. How can people say our game plan doesn't match it with other teams, and then completely fail to take into account the players we are playing right now. As if none of that matters. I'm surprised we're even competitive right now given how many people are out or new who would have trained to our game plan over the pre-season.

We have at least 1 player with less than 10 games experience in 75% of our centre bounces. Lately we've rotated in Crowden (19), Banfield (20), Brayshaw (18) - and have 2 of Neale, Fyfe, Mundy, Walters in there.

We have a forward line with a new player in it (Matera). A player coming back from injury (Walters). A player who is 19 and has played 14 games (Cox). A half forward who we drafted last year (Cerra).

We have a backline that has a player returning from injury (Pearce) who is still finding his feet. A new player (Wilson). A player who is still coming back from injury and is lacking run/touch (S Hill).

The players we had training in the pre-season in specific roles (Logue, Taberner, Brad Hill are missing) - so structurally, the people we had practising in particular roles are missing.

Brad Hill for instance you can tell is missing because we lack an outlet on kicks out of defense. Same for Tabs.

I mean really? Baying for blood right now based on game plan is short sighted given the current players we've got in. We won't know if it's game plan until our guys gel together, and at that point it might end up looking ******* phenomenal. What we do have right now is a bunch of young kids learning each game what it takes to play AFL

What happens behind closed doors to teach them where they need to improve is unknown to all of us. But it's difficult to have too many expectations with so much change at work

This is what I was getting at previously but not as in depth as you.

Pretty telling that only one forward is listed there.
Was going to put Tabs, who as many of you are probably aware I'm a big fan of, but it'd be a bit early to say coaches would be wetting their pants to coach him. If he continues to perform when he gets back, which I think he will, then he makes the list. McCarthy, meh, hes done nothing for Freo, not entirely his fault, but hes still been quite disappointing, Ape has been injured, so coaches wouldn't be excited to have him right now.

I mean really? Baying for blood right now based on game plan is short sighted given the current players we've got in. We won't know if it's game plan until our guys gel together, and at that point it might end up looking ******* phenomenal. What we do have right now is a bunch of young kids learning each game what it takes to play AFL

Do you think that will be next year? Because we would have to click pretty soon to seriously be contending for a 2020 flag.

What would be your pass mark for next year?

You hit the nail on the head mate, I don’t want new, Young talented players to turn into role players through a coaches belligerence.

How do we really know about all this coaching stuff anyway? I've never been a great sportsman so I wouldn't have a clue.

I know when players are in poor form because they literally kick and handball worse - but a coach? They're not physically in front of me. So I rank them on how many games we're winning or losing, what parts of the ground are working and not working and finally how much are the team members improving. You can throw in team selections and omissions for good measure.

Of course it's not that simple but it's the only way I can read it. Ross did the same thing from 2012-2015 and it featured as our most successful period. Literally the same players and same game plan. We tend to do the same thing every week now but this time with lots of new players and much more failure.

I'll never understand what's being taught to the players, but it won't stop laymen like me calling for his head if he continues to lose and the footy become unenjoyable. And yep, if we start doing well I'll call him the messiah.

It's not fickleness, it's glorious naivety and I intend on exercising this right as long as I'm still a fan.

Wont happen yet, but eventually it should. Hope our club has the balls to do it. Make a phone call to Blake Caracella and don't take no for an answer. Surround the next coach with good assistants, like Brett Ratten, who's won premierships as part of Hawthorn's coaching team. People on here have a raging hard on for Lyon, but reality is hes been shit for a few years now and he simply has to go.

I wonder if you remember how Lyon was recruited to our club?

Do you know what experience Ross had when he was head-hunted?

Walters
Hill brothers
Fyfe
Wilson
Ryan
Neale
A. Pearce
Langdon
Cerra
Brayshaw

You've listed 10 fit players - not 22 (required to play) or 25 (needed for a team sheet).

Do you really think that Brayshaw and Cerra would play better after 10 games under a different coach?

Most of the players you listed have only ever played under Ross so does he get any credit for that?

Honestly, just the way posters here throw names around like they are magnets on a whiteboard, everyone wants to be here, everyone fits in the cap, nobody minds uprooting their family to live in a different state etc. is just ridiculous.

You miss a huge fundamental fact that these players, coaches etc. are people. They are worried about not being on a list next year anyway. They don't need the added pressure hanging over them to do their job. They are doing their best as it is.

I have a friend that currently plays for freo, probably his last year and a friend that played for freo until last year. When I used to use facebook, I would see all of their families and friends messages on my feed and I would also come here and it is really disheartening frankly to see so many vitriolic, nasty, horrible things said about people that you know, and that you also know would be doing their best.

And another thing, footy clubs work best when everyone can trust everyone else. Your attitude, lets sack him 2 years into a rebuild that we've all agreed on as a club, sends a message. The reason players like Fyfe and Neale are prepared to stay here while we are losing is because they believe that there is a light at the end of the tunnel.

Do you think that will be next year? Because we would have to click pretty soon to seriously be contending for a 2020 flag.

What would be your pass mark for next year?

Hard call - i'd like to say 7-9th

If we extend the 'play the kids' line forward, then even by the end of next season Darcy, Cerra, Brayshaw, Crowden, Cox, Pearce, North, Giro, Logue, Ryan, Banfield will probably be in the 20-45 games played (still sub 50 games). That's a lot of players still inexperienced, inconsistent and immature.

I think 2020 is ambitious (an aspirational marketing call rather than realistic) - and my pass mark for 2020 is top 4, not a premiership, because I'm not sold that playing the kids will return on the investment in 2 seasons, but more likely 3-4. It also hinges on who else we can bring in over the next 2 off-seasons as a maturer player who is best 22 - increasing our depth/capabilities. Anybody we draft in the next 2 season's won't be a solid contributor to our premiership push - it's all about getting games into and developing who we've got right now, and which mature players we can bring in.

Walters
Hill brothers
Fyfe
Wilson
Ryan
Neale
A. Pearce
Langdon
Cerra
Brayshaw

Sorry I disagree. Experience is everything. Half those players have next to none. We need to give Lyon some decent players to work with before we can give him the chop. A decent forward line is everything.

Was going to put Tabs, who as many of you are probably aware I'm a big fan of, but it'd be a bit early to say coaches would be wetting their pants to coach him. If he continues to perform when he gets back, which I think he will, then he makes the list. McCarthy, meh, hes done nothing for Freo, not entirely his fault, but hes still been quite disappointing, Ape has been injured, so coaches wouldn't be excited to have him right now.

My real point is that we don't have the cattle up forward period that compares with other lists, not a knock on Tabs himself. but the fact he is our next best forward tells volumes, and he isn't even playing.

Sorry I disagree. Experience is everything. Half those players have next to none. We need to give Lyon some decent players to work with before we can give him the chop. A decent forward line is everything.

He had decent players to work with from 2012-16 and wasn’t able to deliver.

Free agency isn’t an option to improve this list. Do you think a McGovern or Hogan would even contemplate playing for Ross? Because if I was them, Freo would only be used as a bargaining tool.

You've listed 10 fit players - not 22 (required to play) or 25 (needed for a team sheet).

Do you really think that Brayshaw and Cerra would play better after 10 games under a different coach?

Most of the players you listed have only ever played under Ross so does he get any credit for that?

Honestly, just the way posters here throw names around like they are magnets on a whiteboard, everyone wants to be here, everyone fits in the cap, nobody minds uprooting their family to live in a different state etc. is just ridiculous.

You miss a huge fundamental fact that these players, coaches etc. are people. They are worried about not being on a list next year anyway. They don't need the added pressure hanging over them to do their job. They are doing their best as it is.

I have a friend that currently plays for freo, probably his last year and a friend that played for freo until last year. When I used to use facebook, I would see all of their families and friends messages on my feed and I would also come here and it is really disheartening frankly to see so many vitriolic, nasty, horrible things said about people that you know, and that you also know would be doing their best.

And another thing, footy clubs work best when everyone can trust everyone else. Your attitude, lets sack him 2 years into a rebuild that we've all agreed on as a club, sends a message. The reason players like Fyfe and Neale are prepared to stay here while we are losing is because they believe that there is a light at the end of the tunnel.

Well said

Alright, I'll bite, lets do this.

I am aware what experience Ross came in with. What exactly is your point? Does Ross not have a used by date, or is he immortal?

I listed 11 players, not 10, for starters so lol. When did I say Brayshaw and Cerra would of played better in their first 10 games under a different coach? Coaches would love to coach them means just that, not sure how you've come to that conclusion.

Most have only ever played under Ross. Ok? Your point exactly? Fairly irrelevant I'd of thought.

Wtf are you even on about? A lot of assistant coaches would travel anywhere to get a senior gig, for a lot of them, it's the reason why they're coaching now, to eventually get the big role elsewhere later.

Those 11 players are worried about not being on a list next year? Wouldn't of thought so, they're quite talented, hence why I listed them.

Whats your friends and facebook insults got to do with what I wrote?

Your last point just proves that you haven't bothered to read what I write, which is fine, you don't have too, but if you're not going to pay attention then spare me. Have I questioned the rebuild? Nope. Have I questioned Ross Lyon's coaching for years, yep. Most players see a light at the end of a tunnel, doesn't mean they're right and we have to keep Ross to keep those players happy.

Next time read my posts before quoting me, otherwise don't bother.

What exactly is going to change? Regardless of who has the ball, a 200 gamer or a 10 gamer, highly likely hes going to bomb it long inside 50, or he'll look up the ground and see no one forward. It's not experience holding us back, such a poor excuse, it's the failing game plan, kids aren't the issue, the coach is.

My real point is that we don't have the cattle up forward period that compares with other lists, not a knock on Tabs himself. but the fact he is our next best forward tells volumes, and he isn't even playing.

We have Dixon now, but he's unproven and won't be ready until 2022-24

We need a plug and play option that's 23-26