Opinion Next EFC Captain

The best thing about this discussion is the thought of how nice a position we are now in for captaincy options. When Jobe got the job, he was far from an obvious, perfect candidate. IIRC there was Spike, Hille or McVeigh, each with flaws. The club showed faith in Jobe and here we are today with probably the best captain in the league.

If Jobe stood down as captain tomorrow, we could happily entrust Stanton, Goddard, Winderlich, Hocking or even Howlett to take the gig and do it well... with Heppell, Zaka, Hurley, Carlisle etc in the wings.

Leadership aplenty.

I would love to see Hurley captain. He would need to get his body right but how great would it be to have him as captain. So much passion. Maybe Heppell as second choice - but he talks like to much of a bogan/hooligan to be a captain. That can develop with time though,

Leadership group in a few years - Hurley (c), Heppell (vc), Zaharakis, Carlisle, Howlett, Myers

It's honestly just a gut feeling, really.

Perhaps more accurately, if it came down to a choice between Heppell and Zaka, I'd see Heppell as being more likely, as IMO he speaks better and in general, has that intangible quality that just screams 'leader'. I'm not sure if Zaka has that to the same degree.

I could also see any of Carlisle, Hurley or even (and this is probably a little left-field) Myers being considered.
"G'day guys, welcome to another edition of Captains corner, Dyson style. Today I will be talking to you about the next game against the Bulldogs. I want you guys to play really well. I'm really looking forward to this one. Good on you guys. I'll talk to you next week after the game."

So whats everyone's opinion on how long Jobe will stay as captain? I am thinking maybe 2/3 more years before he steps down and concentrates on the last couple of years of his career, I guess that all depends on if there is a suitable candidate at the time though.

Zaka, I don't think you select a captain by who talks the best in front of a camera, I believe you select the captain on who can lead the players best, Zaka looks as though he has the on field attributes to do that.

Hurley needs to have some continuity in order to become captain imo. If things don't change and he gets injured (seemingly) every other week I don't think he can be captain but he can be a vital part of our leadership group. Plenty hinges on his fitness going forwards because if fit he is certainly a worthy candidate.

Heppell is starting to display an incredible amount of on field leadership, and he is starting to bob up regularly in the big moments of games. I can't comment about how he handles himself off field and what the playing group think of him but he will be one of the top contenders in 2 or 3 years.

If Zaharakis gets more consistent (basically starts to perform even when tagged) he is an option. He tends to speak to the media quite often and speaks quite well.

For me it is out of those 3. Myers I reckon will only get a look in if it is determined any of those 3 are not ready and we need someone for 2 or 3 years only, which I can't see being the case.

I like the idea of Melksham... At the rate he is improving this year he will be our best player by 2015 :D
Carlisle has got the presence required even though he is so young. In a few years time he will look and sound every inch the leader... Can't see Hep or Zaka in the role for some reason. Hurley definitely a chance.

Melksham is too stupid. He works hard as anyone, but having seen him interviewed and watched him out on the ground, he doesn't have the awareness required.

Carlisle strikes me more as leadership group material than a captain. Think he's the kind of guy who's content to just be given a job and do it well with no fuss for the most part.

Heppell was directing traffic out there from right when he began. If you ever watch him closely during a game, you can see he has the smarts and he presents well enough in the media (which is all the more impressive given his age). His consistency is excellent and he's already showing some jobe-like ability around the clearances.

Hurley would have to be the second favorite but only if he can play out a season without getting injured every 2 games and cement his position in the team (wherever that ends up being). He does really has the kind of captain-like presence about him. Hard to explain it.

Zaka third pick. Again, more a leadership group guy than a captain for mine.

Something about Hurley that would just give you so much confidence following him into battle.

Question: is there much of an advantage having a mid as captain when it comes to talking/directing teammates and being able to lead by example with your own actions?

As long as it isn't a hack like Nick Maxwell I'm happy. Could definitely see Hurls becoming a captain, whenever we need it after a half time break, he comes out full of aggression looking to lay a few solid bumps and get his teammates pumped up ala Lloyd rd 22, 2009

Opinion Next EFC Captain