Next Generation

Not differentiating between white ball and red ball. Basicly looking at all format prospects., such as Connolly.
Others to keep an eye on: Nivethan Radhakrishnan (22, TAS), Jack Sinfield (22, QLD), Ryan Hicks (20, NSW), Charlie Anderson (20, NSW), Aidan O’Connor (19, TAS), Raf Macmillan (20, TAS), Ashley Chandrasinghe (23, VIC), Austin Anlezark (20, VIC), Callum Stow (23, VIC), Harjas Singh (20, NSW)

Adding Louis Smith (TAS), Riley Kingsell (NSW), Alex Lee-Young (NSW), Steven Hogan (QLD), Thomas Dwyer (TAS) (Pontings nephew), Addison Sherriff (NSW, Albert Esterhysen (WA), Charles Lachmund (QLD), Jayden Draper (QLD), Aryan Sharma (VIC), Will Malajczuk (WA), Simon Budge (WA).
These guys are aged between 18-20 and all are playing PC and some even 2nd X1.

Now Cullinan dont confuse white ball with red ball. Anderson was as good as Beardman and Vidler in the Junior Ashes series, played I think after the WC. You sure have a like on Straker. Check out his FC figures. In the 40s. Blues selectors got it spot on letting him go for Anderson. You ever seen Anderson bowl in a red ball game?
Yeah Ive seen Anderson play red ball and white ball. I also follow the age group stuff around the country very closely and you have your timelines out a bit Anderson, Straker and Vidler played youth Ashes in Australia in 2023 (red and white ball) and there was another series in England the same year. From recollection, Straker did better that Anderson in that first series in both formats and I think they both may have missed the follow up tour with injuries. Beardman didnt play in Australia and Vidler was a standout in England (stats based). Anderson does very well at first grade level with the red ball, hope it translates if he ever gets a FC game at NSW. He has a lovely smooth repeatable action. Who would know with the old school mentality that exists tin that State with the curent coach and thnking at the helm of player development, retention and selection.. It seems to be slowly changing from whispers Ive heard.

I'm not a huge one for stats though, especially early in young players careers (good case is Kellaway, based on stats he would never be in the position he is now). I've watched the game for a long time. Everyone can pick teams or highlight players based on stats, thats easy. Same as Peake - averaging in the 20's. if Victoria cut him, would you think that they got it spot on?

You really think they are happy letting a young guy like Straker go because he averages in the 40's at this early stage in his career? Maybe they will be proved correct down the track, but I would think theyd love a guy aged 20 who another state rates enough to have played that many FC games.

You seem to have plenty of intel on Anderson and how NSW are on a winner? How close is he to playing FC - are we likely to see him in the second half of Shield.

Mahli Beardman named for the T20 tour of Pakistan which bumps up to the next round of Shield. Which is where I'd much rather he be playing.
I wonder if WA would even pick him in the Shield team this season? He is yet to play a FC game. Are WA holding him back because he has had back injuries in the past or is it Cricket Australia pulling the shots here and telling WA that they arent to pick him in red ball until his body grows a boit stronger??

For the Aussies in the U/19 wporld Cup, I like the look of Lachmund - he has pace and movement. Not sure on the other quicks based on that game but will be good to see how they all go through the tournament.

Going into the tournament, I thought our batting looked much stronger than our bowling, and based on game 1 that looks to be the case. However hard to judge on one game.

Hogan looks an excellent young player and is obviously going well at PC level. Malajczuk looks to have some serios ball hitting ability and something about him as a crcketer. Lee-Young is doing good things in PC as well.

Lachmund was a bit erratic in his first spell, maybe some nerves or just a bit of rust. His second spell was sensational though, enormous hooping in swinger on him. A lot to like.
Lachmund looks a sort, hopefully he stays relatively injury free.

Not so much talking about him, but having watched a few games of grade recently I do worry about some of the jerky actions on display.

A bit of a nervy start by Hogan with several flirts, then he settled. He has a compact technique and plays late, showed patience but punished the loose one. Impressive.
I dont usually get excited over a 17 yr old pacer, given many that age have a stuttering start to their career from back stress injury. But I'll mention this kid anyway. His name is Kasey Barton and he his quick with a whippy action, much like Callum Vidler. He bowled first change in the second Indian Youth Test and took the bowling honors with 4-56. Another to impress in the Aussie attack was Julian Osborne who generates close to express pace from a shortish run up and a leap at point of delivery. Gotta say there is some serious talent with bat and ball having come thru the underage ranks since '23. Reckon Aussie cricket will remain in good hands well into the future.

eah Ive seen Anderson play red ball and white ball. I also follow the age group stuff around the country very closely and you have your timelines out a bit Anderson, Straker and Vidler played youth Ashes in Australia in 2023 (red and white ball) and there was another series in England the same year. From recollection, Straker did better that Anderson in that first series in both formats and I think they both may have missed the follow up tour with injuries. Beardman didnt play in Australia and Vidler was a standout in England (stats based). Anderson does very well at first grade level with the red ball, hope it translates if he ever gets a FC game at NSW. He has a lovely smooth repeatable action. Who would know with the old school mentality that exists tin that State with the curent coach and thnking at the helm of player development, retention and selection.. It seems to be slowly changing from whispers Ive heard.
You are not informing me of something I dont already know. I may have gotten the timeline a bit amiss, but even tho I'm probably much older than you, my marbles are ok as I recall a lot of both legs of what I call the Junior Ashes. Yes Straker took the wickets, but I always like a seam bowler that can build pressure and Anderson did in both Aussie games with around 2 e/r. Reminded me of Hazlewood. Took wickets in the 2nd Test and hit a vital 60 from memory.

Surmising Anderson, Jamieson and Davies had turned 19 by the time of the English second leg so were ineligible. Yes Beardman and Vidler led the attack on Pommie soil, our other bowlers over there if memory serves were Callanan, Vernon, Reynolds, MacMillan. Dixon, Singh. Konstas prob the the pick with the willow. Recall too Hicks showed with the bat and gloves he had the goods to be our future long term keeper over Aitken. Is proving that already with the Blues.

Spot on about the 'old school' mentality by Blues selectors and coaches. I do sense a change tho with a couple more under 25s making the top contract list past yr after selectors finally removed one or two has beens. Poor form is also being handled now too with the axe. A case in point Oliver Davies.

Tom Campbell, another of the 2024 u19 WC winning squad in starting to put together consistent runs. 114 for Wests in Premier Cricket the other weekend ans 78 for the Qld 2nds today, another half century for the 2nds earlier in the season too. Might be one to keep an eye on over the next year or too.
68no at stumps in his 2nd dig. Coming along nicely it seems.

6 players from today's Japan XI play cricket for Norths in Brisbane, along with the current senior team captain and Japan u19's assistant coach Kendal Kadowaki Fleming. Bit of a factory for Japanese cricket coming out of there.
These days you see a fair few Nepalis working in Family Mart, Lawson etc, so wonder if there are any expats from the subcontinent in the side too

This Hugo Tani-Kelly for Japan now has two not outs for the tournament. Against top level opposition too.
Plays in Queensland and only 17

For mine Straker looks reliable and a future Scott Boland type in the making - no frills, no fanfare, just doing the hard yakka.
Nah Boland is a down and out specialist seamer but agree Straker could do the ththe hard yakka if there weren't better bowlers coming thru pathways, such as Lachmund. Barrel didnt have an international career until Hazlewoods niggly but lingering injury run.
6 players from today's Japan XI play cricket for Norths in Brisbane, along with the current senior team captain and Japan u19's assistant coach Kendal Kadowaki Fleming. Bit of a factory for Japanese cricket coming out of there.
They put up a decent effort against our boys, so perhaps some day one or more will be Bulls. Didnt see the match but am hearing good things about Hugo Tani-Kelly., who looks the pick of those Aussie boys.
Barton bowling well, gets his reward
Yeh did a short piece on the baby of our team earlier. Impresses me, not only with his ability but also his attitude. Can hold a bat too.
You seem to have plenty of intel on Anderson and how NSW are on a winner? How close is he to playing FC - are we likely to see him in the second half of Shield.
Really dont know, depends whether our selectors like what he did in Seconds last yr. I wanna inform them of one thing, Charlie is far better than a #11 batsman.

You are not informing me of something I dont already know. I may have gotten the timeline a bit amiss, but even tho I'm probably much older than you, my marbles are ok as I recall a lot of both legs of what I call the Junior Ashes. Yes Straker took the wickets, but I always like a seam bowler that can build pressure and Anderson did in both Aussie games with around 2 e/r. Reminded me of Hazlewood. Took wickets in the 2nd Test and hit a vital 60 from memory.

Surmising Anderson, Jamieson and Davies had turned 19 by the time of the English second leg so were ineligible. Yes Beardman and Vidler led the attack on Pommie soil, our other bowlers over there if memory serves were Callanan, Vernon, Reynolds, MacMillan. Dixon, Singh. Konstas prob the the pick with the willow. Recall too Hicks showed with the bat and gloves he had the goods to be our future long term keeper over Aitken. Is proving that already with the Blues.

Spot on about the 'old school' mentality by Blues selectors and coaches. I do sense a change tho with a couple more under 25s making the top contract list past yr after selectors finally removed one or two has beens. Poor form is also being handled now too
Anderson missed that tour due to injury - he came back and played at the U19 World Cup the fololowing year.

I hope he gets his chances at Shield level. You sound very knowledgeable on cricket and are big on him so it will be great if he becomes the next Hazlewood.

I was curious about your building poressure comment so checked Shield economy rates this season. As we are talking seamers, I just checked them - the best of the seamers to have bowled more than 20 overs is Charlie Stobbo at 2.17. Im summising you dont think much of Straker as a next gen talent, but based on your like for a seam bowler who can build pressure, he seems to be doing ok with an economy of 2.85 putting him ahead of established front liners in Starc, Neser and Dogget amongst a host of other decent seamers - Abbott, Bird, Webster, Bell, Edwards, Buckingham, Sutherland, McAndrew, Hadley. In saying that, the kid needs more wickets to get that average down.

What are your thoughts on MacMillan as a spinner. He did great through the 19's, hopefully we see him get some more opportunities at Tassie with Kuhnemann part of the Aussie setup now.

Ryan Hicks looks a great prospect as afuture Aussie player. Tidy behind the stumps and his batting looks ery good also.

Dixon having an up and down year - hardly played a BBL game. I think Victoria should have left him in the middle order in red ball, possibly at 6 for another season.

What about Will Malajczuk overnight wth the fastest century in the history of U/10 worl cups. Granted it was against Japan, however its still the quickest ever. What a great innings from the youngster. No wonder WA had him in the squad for a Dean Jones Cup game earlier in the season.

On the current U/19 bowlers - Any idea how quick Barton is? Lachmund looks a bit faster but Barton has some speed too? Lachmund possibly mid 130's and Barton around 130 from what Ive seen live.

Gordon and Byrom both look medium pacers but with great control - 120-125?

I hope he gets his chances at Shield level. You sound very knowledgeable on cricket and are big on him so it will be great if he becomes the next Hazlewood.
Thanks so do I on Anderson. I followed Hazlewoods career too from his early club days with St George, his back trouble that stalled a Test debut thru to his first game in 2015, in which he took a 5for if memory serves. He is about my favorite cricketer, certainly specialist seamer. The best I believe since the great Glenn McGrath or 'Millard', as he lived in a Millard caravan when he first came to Sydney from the bush and the 'Pigeon' or as Steve Waugh called him 'one iron', both given how thin he was when he first started in first class cricket. I dont think Josh, 'the 'Bundameer bullet' had to resort to having to live in a caravan when he came down to the big smoke.

Is interesting how many of our greats hail from the bush. The Don of course, Stan McCabe, Bill Woodfull, Bill Brown, Bill O'Reilly, Dougie Walters, Ricky Ponting, Matty Hayden too, but is he a great, debatable.

edit: forgot Adam Gilchrist.

Thanks so do I. I followed Joshs career too from his early club days with St George, his back trouble that stalled a Test debut thru to his first game in 2015, in which he took a 5for if memory serves. He is about my favorite cricketer, certainly specialist seamer. The best I believe since the great Glenn McGrath or 'Millard', as he lived in a Millard caravan when he first came to Sydney from the bush and the 'Pigeon' or as Steve Waugh called him 'one iron', both given how thin he was when he first started in first class cricket. I dont think Josh, 'the 'Bundameer bullet' had to resort to having to live in a caravan when he came down to the big smoke.

Is interesting how many of our greats hail from the bush. The Don of course, Stan McCabe, Bill Woodfull, Bill Brown, Dougie Walters, Ricky Ponting.

Is Launceston the bush? I guess it is..

Tiger O'Reilly is another good one. Taylor and Slater from Wagga too..

What are your thoughts on MacMillan as a spinner.
Impressed me when I first saw him on the Junior Ashes England tour. Another Sydney club cricketer that our useless selectors let fly the coop. I expect Tassie cricket pounced when he was not offered a rookie contract in '24. I like his accuracy and clever change of pace for someone so young. Obviously so did the TCA scouts.

Im summising you dont think much of Straker as a next gen talent, but based on your like for a seam bowler who can build pressure, he seems to be doing ok with an economy of 2.85 putting him ahead of established front liners in Starc, Neser and Dogget amongst a host of other decent seamers
You have been doing your homework. Lets say I will reserve my judgement on him for another season. But he sure as hell needs to reduce that average.

Ryan Hicks looks a great prospect as afuture Aussie player. Tidy behind the stumps and his batting looks ery good also.
Another who performed above expectation, both with gloves and the willow, recall he hit the biggest ton among the Aussies. A great prospect, but there are a crop of others that will battle with him for the national gloves in a few yrs time. Guys like Zac Curtain, Alex Lee-Young, Lachlan Aitken, Simon Budge.

Dixon having an up and down year -
Scored plenty in the Junior Ashes by taking the attack to the Poms, but said at the time he needed to tighten his technique if he wanted to play big boy Tests. Yes he is yet to find consistency at first class level for the Vics.
What about Will Malajczuk overnight wth the fastest century in the history of U/19 world cups
Impressive from Will. Looks an all format player to me, he and his WA team mate Zed Hollick. Both have a compact technique despite being big lads, typical of boys that have been playing red ball cricket in WACA Premier Cricket since they were 13. Simon Budge is another from that pathways program. Captained the WA U19 team at 17 then took the U19s to India, stand corrected on those points.