Next Generation

Are the players they prioritised vastly inferior? I don't know, just asking

NSW should be a net provider of talent though

If they're functioning well, there will be NSW-born cricketers playing all over Australia
I was just making the point that NSW picked a 33 man Academy squad that Olli Patterson couldnt make, but a few months later he is playing BBL.

No one else on that 33 man list played BBL. Singh had a replacement deal with the Sixers.

Are they inferior - I guess thats very subjective. But you would have to assume he has something that the other fast bowlers on that 33 man list dont have. Or as I alluded to in an earlier post, sometimes you just get a lucky break. It doesnt always mean you are better than other players

You have been doing your homework. Lets say I will reserve my judgement on him for another season. But he sure as hell needs to reduce that average.
Caught a fair bit of all the recent Shield games (Kayo is good for something). Some brilliant games. Straker has reduced that average a bit for you with match figures of 7/75. Maybe he will impress you one day.

Tassie Seconds taking on Bulls in Brissie. Louis Smith is playing and asking questions with every ball in his first spell, yet he came on second change. This kids career could well go to the top as he has abundant natural talent. Of course talent isn't everything, need to be a goal setter, be persistent and have the correct temperament to roll with the down times. Does Louis and scores of talented youngsters at his development stage, have what it takes. We will have to see.

Straker has reduced that average a bit
Yep its coming down. His next goal should be to drop it to under 30, then to mid 20s and keep it there. If he does that he will impress me.

Didnt he get his initial ones at the start of the season? Similar to Vidler but Qld just decided to put him on ice for the season
Looks like he is back on ice as no report of him to have surgery. Reckon hed be better off with the surgery, same as Green and Morris had, the 'titanium cage' type invented by an Aussie doctor and reputed to be the best for a lasting recovery. Did Vidler have this surgery?

Tassie Seconds taking on Bulls in Brissie. My 'boy' Louis Smith is playing and asking questions with every ball in his first spell, yet he came on second change. This kids career could well go to the top as he has abundant natural talent. Of course talent isn't everything, need to be a goal setter, be persistent and have the correct temperament to roll with the down times. Does Louis and scores of talented youngsters at his development stage, have what it takes. We will have to see.

Yep its coming down. His next goal should be to drop it to under 30, then to mid 20s and keep it there. If he does that he will impress me.
You are a tough judge on some and very lenient on others (i guess we all have our favourites hey).

Your list of young talent includes someone like Isaac Earl who bowls quite slowish outswing yet you arent impressed with a 20 year old who just took 7/75 in a shield game.

Don't now much of Louis Smith but heard about him a few years ago. . What number do you think he will bat? Is he a genuine all rounder. How do you rate him compared to Aidan O'Connor?

Looks like he is back on ice as no report of him to have surgery. Reckon hed be better off with the surgery, same as Green and Morris had, the 'titanium cage' type invented by an Aussie doctor and reputed to be the best for a lasting recovery. Did Vidler have this surgery?
I doubt they are going to be sending young guys for this kind of surgery. Perhaps later in their careers if it they get ongoinf stress fractures then they may be candidates.

I believe the surgery is mainly done in New Zealand - they were the pioneers of it.

I doubt they are going to be sending young guys for this kind of surgery. Perhaps later in their careers if it they get ongoinf stress fractures then they may be candidates.

I believe the surgery is mainly done in New Zealand - they were the pioneers of it.
In 2015, Australian researchers and surgeons made a significant surgical breakthrough by developing and implanting the first locally-made 3D-printed titanium vertebral cage for a patient with severe spinal pain. This innovation involved a, collaboration between the Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology, renowned neurosurgeon Dr. Marc Coughlan and Anatomics, an Australian medical device company.

I expect the Aussies trained the Kiwis. Why the surgery seems to be more popular there for our cricketers than here, I really cant say. May cost less there.

Isaac Earl who bowls quite slowish outswing
No he doesnt. Has Straker taken 7 in an inning in club cricket, doubt it. Earl did if my intel is correct or did I post footage of him. I follow so many young kids is hard to keep up. You have your favorites too, seems this bloke is your best.
Don't now much of Louis Smith but heard about him a few years ago.
The 15 yr old who hit a double hundred in a Tasmanian U17 rep match. Did you miss the video I posted. Louis Smith is my latest interest and he is not alone Is just a hobbie I have as I enjoy following the journey of young cricketers. Keeps my mind young I suppose.
What number do you think he will bat? Is he a genuine all rounder. How do you rate him compared to Aidan O'Connor?
I think he could develop into a genuine all rounder if he has the attitude to. At the moment I dont think he takes batting all that seriously. Is hard to compare the two at this stage of their careers. Ask me in 12 months should he be given a Tigers contract this season.

No he doesnt. Has Straker taken 7 in an inning in club cricket, doubt it. Earl did if my intel is correct or did I post footage of him. I follow so many young kids is hard to keep up. You have your favorites too, seems this bloke is your best.

The 15 yr old who hit a double hundred in a Tasmanian U17 rep match. Did you miss the video I posted. Louis Smith is my latest interest and he is not alone Is just a hobbie I have as I enjoy following the journey of young cricketers. Keeps my mind young I suppose.

I think he could develop into a genuine all rounder if he has the attitude to. At the moment I dont think he takes batting all that seriously. Is hard to compare the two at this stage of their careers. Ask me in 12 months should he be given a Tigers contract this season.
Wow - 7 in a club game. The professiional guys must wish they could do that in PC rather than FC. I saw your footage and have also seen him bowl at a game - Earl bowls traditional medium pace outswing. He is extremely accurate and a good PC player. I just dont think he should be in the same conversation as the genuine "Next Generation" possibles.

I watched some of Louis Smith's bowling last night in the second xi game. He bowled well and had a few jumping off a length.

In 2015, Australian researchers and surgeons made a significant surgical breakthrough by developing and implanting the first locally-made 3D-printed titanium vertebral cage for a patient with severe spinal pain. This innovation involved a, collaboration between the Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology, renowned neurosurgeon Dr. Marc Coughlan and Anatomics, an Australian medical device company.

I expect the Aussies trained the Kiwis. Why the surgery seems to be more popular there for our cricketers than here, I really cant say. May cost less there.
Maybe that is a newer method that might start to be used more now. However, an NZ orthapedic surgeon was the pioneer of surgey to treat stress fractures in fast bowlers. I beleive Shane Bond was one of the first to get it done in the early 2000's and Cameron Green also went to this same surgeon. Can't recall his name off the top of my head but have a read a few articles about it in the past.

Campbell Thompson with a very tidy 0-39 off 10 on debut in the One Day Cup. Impressive given NSW scored 3-246 off 44 overs chasing the SACA's 7-242