Groupie_
time to return the traditional Richmond yellow
like hes gonna get another chance anyway lolKnights is retiring at the end of the season.

Soccer Notice Image
FA Cup Semi-Finals ⚽ 2026 FIFA Series A - Socceroos friendlies ⚽ Europa - Rd of 16 ⚽ The Matildas x 2026 Womens Asia Cup ⚽ Conference League - KNOCKOUTS! ⚽ Conference League - Rd of 16 ⚽ Socceroos Internat'l Friendlies ⚽ Champs League - League Phase ⚽
like hes gonna get another chance anyway lolKnights is retiring at the end of the season.
Yeah I can see Thomas possibly coming in for some added finals toughness, but who'd go out? Lennon? I doubt someone like Newy will be dropped .If anything I could see Thomas coming in to help combat Norths midfielders at the contest, not that I'd agree with that move, but I can see us going down that path.
One word .... Griggs.Maric will get monstered by Goldstein, think of what Daw did to him x 2. Might need Hampson...
Maybe start him, get him to crash and bash in the midfield for a half, then sub on kmac to increase our speed without losing the big body?Yeah I can see Thomas possibly coming in for some added finals toughness, but who'd go out? Lennon? I doubt someone like Newy will be dropped .
Exactly. The issue is injuries and for this reason he is not up with the pace of the game. You'd be crazy to risk it. Don't get me wrong I'm a big fan of Knights and when fit and injury free he is better than Newy at that position. But he is not. I find it quite strange reasoning to simply say if passed fit he should play.The issue with Knight is injuries, not keeping up with the pace of the game. If he is passed fit he should play.
lolAgree mate , but it won't happen as Newman is bigger than the club
Experience and a cool head could be vital, Newy in for mine but he wasn't good Friday night.Newy is a good clubman and would understand if he was dropped. Doesn't deserve his spot on form.
We have to play our best team in the final. I still think Chris Knights would be the best available replacement as will add greater threat to our forward line.
Maybe but you carry on with this same point ad nauseam. Not begrudging you your opinion at all but the constant repetition in any thread possible is pathetic. On top of that your use of language is condescending and just in general very unsavory which actually speaks more about yourself than the actual point you are trying to make. But hey knock yourself out.Myob sooky kid
Relax buddy i didnt start the thread and its discussing team changes. yes and we have people like you doing this for Newman for four seasons nowMaybe but you carry on with this same point ad nauseam. Not begrudging you your opinion at all but the constant repetition in any thread possible is pathetic. On top of that your use of language is condescending and just in general very unsavory which actually speaks more about yourself than the actual point you are trying to make. But hey knock yourself out.
Out Newy (cooked) In Knights
Agree mate , but it won't happen as Newman is bigger than the club
We've known for four years that he's finished DH is not Sheedy or Clarkson as he wont drop Newman not even if Ablett was available . Any football novice Knows Newman is not up to it , but we have to carry him for another year in hope he can play In a winning final

hes basically had soft games for a month and there is no denying it hes been down again. hope his leadership and experience will count this EF based on his crap ones against CFC and Port Actually studying his stats it baffles me how hes remained on an afl list for soooooo longNewman was the first one on the weekend to put his head over the ball in the first half and in the second half his goal just after the Roos goal was important to kick us into gear. He's been playing ok and when he gets it he never wastes it. In the case of an injury he can be rolled back to help the defense and does a solid job up forward. This anti Newman stuff was the flavour of the month....hmmmm....about 3 months ago. Since then he's been good for our systems and structure, hence the lack of chatter. His game on the weekend wasn't super but IMO we take him into a final ahead of other possible replacements on our list. Winning finals is about your bottom 5 being honest citizens, which allows your stars to win the game. Chris Newman is an honest citizen.
You have to remember that Newman getting the ball 14 times at half forward is more valuable than another player getting 24 in the midfield. If he's getting it approximately 4 times a quarter with a general kick to handball ratio of 1:1...then he gives us 2 of those beautiful kicks and possible scoring involvements a quarter. And his defensive pressure is more than adequate. Our structure is dependent on having a few guys like Newman and the reason why we haven't been playing guys like Morris/Gordon instead.
Obviously all IMO.
hes basically had soft games for a month and there is no denying it hes been down again. hope his leadership and experience will count this EF based on his crap ones against CFC and Port Actually studying his stats it baffles me how hes remained on an afl list for soooooo long
http://afltables.com/afl/stats/players/C/Chris_Newman.html
Richmond - 2013
Gm Opponent Rd R # KI MK HB DI GL BH HO TK RB IF CL CG FF FA BR CP UP CM MI 1% BO GA %P
215 Carlton 1 W 1 9 4 7 16 1 2 1 1 6 9 1 75
216 St Kilda 2 W 1 11 7 4 15 1 2 1 1 2 1 13 2 1 1 77
217 Western Bulldogs 3 W 1 11 4 8 19 4 3 3 9 9 2 3 4 1 78
218 Collingwood 4 L 1 5 2 7 12 1 3 2 4 1 1 1 7 5 2 1 84
219 Fremantle 5 L 1 8 4 4 12 2 3 2 1 4 9 5 73
220 Geelong 6 L 1 14 5 5 19 2 8 2 1 5 1 6 9 2 1 82
221 Port Adelaide 7 W 1 13 10 6 19 2 4 2 4 1 5 15 1 1 1 2 76
222 Essendon 9 L 1 20 5 7 27 3 6 1 1 2 2 11 12 1 2 2 77
223 West Coast 10 W 1 7 3 4 11 2 5 2 2 1 1 4 8 1 4 72
224 Adelaide 12 W 1 9 3 4 13 1 2 2 4 2 3 9 2 2 1 82
225 Western Bulldogs 13 W 1 10 6 4 14 2 2 2 2 1 2 11 1 1 77
226 St Kilda 14 W 1 13 8 3 16 1 5 3 1 5 11 1 3 79
227 North Melbourne 15 L 1 7 2 4 11 1 1 1 3 1 1 1 3 8 2 1 79
228 Gold Coast 16 W 1 13 6 2 15 2 3 3 3 1 1 3 9 2 80
229 Fremantle 17 W 1 11 9 9 20 3 1 1 3 2 5 16 1 82
230 Sydney 18 L 1 7 1 6 13 1 3 2 1 2 7 2 79
231 Hawthorn 19 W 1 10 9 9 19 1 1 1 3 1 1 1 5 13 1 1 79
232 Brisbane Lions 20 W 1 9 4 2 11 4 2 2 2 7 80
233 Carlton EF L 1 11 6 4 15 1 3 1 3 1 1 4 10 1 2 1 74
Totals 19 (12-0-7) 198 98 99 297 8 8 40 51 37 13 24 10 8 87 190 4 9 36 9 8
[Top]Gm Opponent Rd R # KI MK HB DI GL BH HO TK RB IF CL CG FF FA BR CP UP CM MI 1% BO GA %P
234 Gold Coast 1 L 1 12 6 3 15 1 2 1 7 4 1 5 9 2 1 81
235 Carlton 2 W 1 13 5 4 17 1 5 1 1 1 5 8 1 3 2 79
236 Western Bulldogs 3 L 1 8 4 3 11 3 2 2 1 2 9 4 79
237 Collingwood 4 L 1 10 1 1 11 1 7 5 2 1 4 6 1 2 79
238 Brisbane Lions 5 W 1 10 4 3 13 2 2 1 1 1 9 77
239 Hawthorn 6 L 1 10 7 7 17 1 3 3 1 15 1 77
240 Geelong 7 L 1 4 3 4 8 2 1 1 4 5 2 1 75
241 Fremantle 13 L 1 12 6 4 16 1 2 3 1 1 8 11 1 4 2 83
242 St Kilda 15 W 1 7 4 2 9 2 3 4 1 1 1 8 1 1 1 1 85
243 Brisbane Lions 16 W 1 7 4 9 16 1 1 2 2 1 2 13 2 1 1 79
244 Port Adelaide 17 W 1 8 2 3 11 5 1 1 4 5 1 1 79
245 West Coast 18 W 1 10 1 2 12 4 6 2 1 4 4 2 81
246 Greater Western Sydney 19 W 1 11 6 1 12 2 2 1 3 9 81
247 Essendon 20 W 1 10 5 3 13 1 3 4 1 1 1 3 9 2 1 71
248 Adelaide 21 W 1 11 1 1 12 4 3 4 1 1 1 1 4 6 3 76
249 St Kilda 22 W 1 14 3 7 21 5 2 3 2 3 5 14 1 56
250 Sydney 23 W 1 8 2 6 14 1 4 1 1 3 1 4 7 1 76
251 Port Adelaide EF L 1 9 5 5 14 1 1 3 1 2 2 11 1 1 1 74
Totals 18 (11-0-7) 174 69 68 242 4 3 45 44 42 7 21 7 4 62 158 2 3 30 5 10
That's why I posted the link for some unknown reason the stats got jumbled in cyber spaceDude! Line those stats up, i have no idea what all that means. Get some columns good sir and i'll respond.
Without being able to properly interpret those stats I'd like to say this:
Stevie J has been forced out of his club and has been collecting 20 or so possies and a couple of goals.
Chaplin's stats are probably equally bad yet we know he's an important member.
Like i said, sometimes structure and what you're actually doing counts for more than the stats.
If knights had been on the park and not retired you may have had a fair case to have him in. Just can't see a good enough case to have anyone else in. I personally love Cory Ellis to be playing but unfortunately it's not the case.
Fair enough. I just hope whoever gets selected ends up justifying it and we win.That's why I posted the link for some unknown reason the stats got jumbled in cyber space
I actually want Morris to come in and do some roo culling in the back half bc I reckon we need a hard nosed dude in
I don't believe Newman is up to finals level based on his two earlier hit outs and he's not any younger I'm led to believe

LmaoThe only change id make would be Newy out for Knights. It wont happen though. We will go in unchanged.
Well mostly because theres a hell of a lot more to footy than stats.hes basically had soft games for a month and there is no denying it hes been down again. hope his leadership and experience will count this EF based on his crap ones against CFC and Port Actually studying his stats it baffles me how hes remained on an afl list for soooooo long
Which will lead to 3 goals for FA. If its a wet mongrel day...then yes Morris and even Thomas could get in the discussions. But no way is Newman missing. I dont rate him, but an ex captain with all his games, going to retirement, with what comes in as a replacement considered..... Newman plays!I actually want Morris to come in and do some roo culling in the back half
When Morris played as a defender he was very good a few weeks backWhich will lead to 3 goals for FA. If its a wet mongrel day...then yes Morris and even Thomas could get in the discussions. But no way is Newman missing. I dont rate him, but an ex captain with all his games, going to retirement, with what comes in as a replacement considered..... Newman plays!