Nic Reiwoldt?

If we finished 3rd last and were in rebuild mode?? You'd consider it. Any first rounder for an aging star with only a couple of seasons left is good value for a rebuilding club. Brian lake is a positive story for both the Bulldogs and Hawthorn.
I hope you are not comparing the quality of Lake to Pavlich and NR. Lake's deal was great for the Hawks and OK for the Dogs a 6 pick upgrade and pick 41 are not good value. I reckon Freo (and it's supporters) would be expecting at least a top 10 pick before thinking of trading Pavlich and even then, as captain I doubt they would accept it. The same applies to NR. The only time that wouldn't apply is if the player wanted to leave.

EDIT:
What if Dockers were going through a team rebuild? What if the 'bag of mixed nuts' were actually decent young players? What if Pav quietly asked to be traded to club in premiership contention coached by his beloved favourite coach?
In those circumstances, I'd be annoyed if Freo didn't consider it.
As per above, if he wanted out then definitely worth considering. As for the mixed bag:
Michie is free to anyone who wants him. Hannath is unproven. Mellington couldn't crack into a side with plenty in his position but still has done very little at AFL level. Silvagni is an average AFL player, he is steak knives but not someone you build a team around. The reality is that they are all good players just not worth a lot at the trade table.

if he wanted out then definitely worth considering. .
Yeah I agree that's the crux of it - if he doesn't want to leave, he won't.
But if Riewoldt quietly told Smurf & Co his heart wasn't in being part of the rebuild, and that he was open to being moved on - that's a different story. I seem to recall that Roo & Hayes were very emotionally attached to Lyon.

Saints would undoubtedly face a supporter backlash, but let's face it - the fans are going to be pi55ed off whether Roos is around or not given their team will likely be floundering next year. They have already displayed a willingness to entertain offers for fading club legends (Nicky Dal) & aren't afraid to make sacrifices to build their list (McEvoy).

If it could be wangled, I reckon it would suit us well - would be plug & play - knows Lyon & his structures. Would give us 1 - 2 years to develop a young KPF or recruit someone like Hogan. Roo played well last season.

& Zac would be very happy to be reunited with his hotel room mate.

I think players like Nick Reiwolt and Pav and the ilk are probably different players. They have long served their dues when their clubs were shitty shit and been loyal - yes well paid too. If these players wanted to move and get some chance of success before they retire the club kinda owes them a payback before they retire.

As long as you're ok with Pav, Sandi, and Macpharlin leaving at the end of 2014 then your logic is OK .

Yea I would be incredibly sad ( I wouldnt begrudge Pav particularly moving it would tear my heart out and be stomped on tho) but I do believe players that do the hard yards and show loyalty all their careers deserve a element of payback from their clubs and understanding from supporters and allow them to move and get a premiership perhaps before their career ends.

You dont agree?

I feel like it would be a pretty hollow premiership if Pav went to another club for one year and won one.

Pav might not feel like that though.

I can't imagine Nick Riewoldt playing for anyone other than St Kilda, like Lenny Hayes he seems to be a "Saints man"

Same goes for Pav, can't see him leaving just to try and chase and Premiership, there's no guarantees in footy and he might leave at the exact time we win the thing.

Buckley left Brisbane chasing a flag and missed out on three of them:)

I feel like it would be a pretty hollow premiership if Pav went to another club for one year and won one.

Pav might not feel like that though.

I wonder how the Bulldogs fans felt with Brian Lake? It just would not feel right for me to see Pav win one at another club. Of course, I'd be happy for Pav, but other than that, it'd be a shitty bittersweet (moreso bitter) feeling to be honest.

I think the bulldogs did the right thing with Lake, he wanted to move and they would have lost him this trade period for nothing as a FA.
If we were bottoming out like the bulldogs, we had these ageing stars that had been longterm servants of the club wanting to move on and we were faced with the choice of losing them for nothing next year, I think you'd be negligent not to trade them

I think the bulldogs did the right thing with Lake, he wanted to move and they would have lost him this trade period for nothing as a FA.
If we were bottoming out like the bulldogs, we had these ageing stars that had been longterm servants of the club wanting to move on and we were faced with the choice of losing them for nothing next year, I think you'd be negligent not to trade them
Well, actually it has really become close to a trend now. Chapman lookiing for a new club feels very wrong for me. Melbourne got criticised for it not long ago...

Lake took a large pay cut when he went to Hawthorn in the hope of playing in finals and the premiership was a bonus .

I remember it being stated in the media that Pav was one of the longest serving players not to play in a Grand final and he has finally got that but he still needs a Grand final Medal to put on the shelf ,same for Sandi and Elvis so they aren't going anywhere with the team that we have now .

Riewoldt had the same chance and his team blew it so I think as much as he might be craving a flag he wants to be remembered as a stalwart of the Saints in good times and bad .

Therefore I don't believe that he will be going anywhere .

The EGO and Club Legend status will prove too strong and when he retires .

The big guy will have an enormous send off from the fans that he wouldn't get if he left to join another club .

Listened to Riewoldt speak today at the USAFL champs. Interestingly, he said he would stay in the US for 3-4 months during the off-season and prepare himself before joining the team later. Not sure that would be too helpful for switching clubs. And he would probably move to the states after finishing his career.

Anyway, my hometown Austin beat Calgary by 1 point in the final. Fantastic match. Standard of the top sides was pretty high, a bunch of Aussies playing who were quite good. I seriously doubt I'd even make the cut for the allowed Aussie quota, if I wanted to strap on the boots. The NYC side was supposed to have a midfield of ex-VFL/WAFL/SANFL types, but Austin thrashed them in the qualifying matches (missed that game).

One guy playing ruck for Austin was excellent for an American ... He had an amazing leap and his attack on the ball/man was first rate. Not sure if we'll ever see someone make it, but this guy reminded me of a shorter version of Naitanui. There is a lot of potential out there, athletically speaking. Ball skills is another thing, but with intensive training they could get to Mike Pyke levels.

The games were good old fashioned footy .. Plenty of big hits and tough play. From ground level, the final seemed to have more intensity than the AFL grand final. Suburban footy environment, just sitting on the boundary line, meat pies and sausage rolls 5m behind you, Cooper's aplenty, great contest ... made for a most enjoyable spectacle.

you talking about GilG? probably do better than eric wallace, at least he loves the game :)

I would've loved to have gone to Austin, but it was my school's Parent Day, so I had to meet all my students' parents. But I'm a big Eric Wallace fan and hope he makes it. I wrote about him for the AFL Record last year.