Player Watch Nick (AFL MVP) Daicos

Getting off with a $1k fine was very lenient, should have been at least $4k+ and maybe a suspension.
I think $2500 similar to Pendles' fine for striking Neale would have been appropriate. The niggly knees to the back of his thighs I'm not sure how to punish beyond free kicks.

About time the media call it out. Clearly Laura Kane just waits for the someone else to tell her what to do.

Her and Dillon are a shit combo, let's face it. If the administrators of the AFL don't care about their biggest assets (Daicos, Bontempelli, Cripps etc) why are they in charge of the sport?

Stars = viewership. Viewevership = media rights dollars / sponsorships. Dollars = BETTER AFL. It's not hard - but Dillon and Laura are making a mockery of the sport as custodians.
You do know Kane isn't managing the on field footy component anymore? You'll need to find a new target.

looked in career form on Sat night. Have to give it to him, seems his body is clicking and finally we are starting to block for him and it was about time we gave his tagger a hard go of it. That goal he kicked was immense, freakish shit.

Nick warming up right at the perfect time.
Think the bye would have been much appreciated for him. Should get to cruise against the WC midfield

You do know Kane isn't managing the on field footy component anymore? You'll need to find a new target.
While its true the new jobs are announced its clear no one has been at the wheel for a while. The new footy heads are going to have a huge pile of shit to deal with, umpiring will be near the top you'd think.

I don't think. Reckon the whole hullabaloo over umpring standards is completely overblown. We get a version of this pretty much every season.

hmm, I think its a lot worse than that. The AFL have deliberately made the game as fast as possible, meaning the umpires are running WAY more and are dealing with contests that happen much faster. Players are also better than ever at milking frees and its being coached hard, watch Mark Keane for an example of that.

The umpiring system doesn't match the new look of the game. Have the umpires stay in their zone, get the boundary umpires to run further in so they can actually reach the ruckmen and honestly I would have 3 more jumpires.

One umpire in the middle, 6 stationed around the ground and they stay put so they aren't making decisions with major fatigue. Kill the bounce too, ridiculous to keep umpires out of the AFL who make good calls because they aren't bouncing it.

hmm, I think its a lot worse than that. The AFL have deliberately made the game as fast as possible, meaning the umpires are running WAY more and are dealing with contests that happen much faster. Players are also better than ever at milking frees and its being coached hard, watch Mark Keane for an example of that.

The umpiring system doesn't match the new look of the game. Have the umpires stay in their zone, get the boundary umpires to run further in so they can actually reach the ruckmen and honestly I would have 3 more jumpires.

One umpire in the middle, 6 stationed around the ground and they stay put so they aren't making decisions with major fatigue. Kill the bounce too, ridiculous to keep umpires out of the AFL who make good calls because they aren't bouncing it.
Entirely agree on getting rid of the bounce. I reckon you could ditch it tomorrow and most fans wouldn't realise it was gone unless someone told them.

Disagree on the rest though. Every season there seems to be some criticism of umpiring. With more and closer TV camera coverage, the line ball calls - and clear mistakes - receive far more attention in the media. It's a hard game to umpire, there will always be howlers as well as(and this is the biggest source of criticism) desperate criticism of decisions that go against one's team.

Here's a test - do you have a set of umpiring mistakes that readily come to mind? How many of them aren't ones not in Collingwood's favour.

Entirely agree on getting rid of the bounce. I reckon you could ditch it tomorrow and most fans wouldn't realise it was gone unless someone told them.

Disagree on the rest though. Every season there seems to be some criticism of umpiring. With more and closer TV camera coverage, the line ball calls - and clear mistakes - receive far more attention in the media. It's a hard game to umpire, there will always be howlers as well as(and this is the biggest source of criticism) desperate criticism of decisions that go against one's team.

Here's a test - do you have a set of umpiring mistakes that readily come to mind? How many of them aren't ones not in Collingwood's favour.
Can't remeber whether it was a Sullivan free or mark. But when the game stops and a player through the mark, and not one of four umpires sees it, then there is a problem.

Heaps,

Watch the Adelaide game this year for a litany of examples both ways.

Push in the back is basically never paid.

Heaps,

Watch the Adelaide game this year for a litany of examples both ways.

Push in the back is basically never paid.
fair enough. I'd call things like push in the back more an interpretation/rule of the day(not that that's a good thing) rather than poor umpiring such as something that is a mistake. Not sure your extra umpire solution would change anything there.

Can’t recall in recent times so much media focus on one player - Nick. Who is tagging him, how they’re tagging him, how he’s handling it. It’s a ridiculous amount of coverage for a player who is still so young, and pretty much every footy show or footy panel is covering it.

Good thing he grew up a Daicos, as his Dad would know all about the attention. Good thing he is mature for his age, and apparently coping well. Good thing too we have a coach who’d be helping him with this, and a strong club to buffer him from the current craziness. A few players have succumbed this year to the mental stresses of being an AFL player - what Nick is going through is not easy.

Can’t recall in recent times so much media focus on one player - Nick. Who is tagging him, how they’re tagging him, how he’s handling it. It’s a ridiculous amount of coverage for a player who is still so young, and pretty much every footy show or footy panel is covering it.

Good thing he grew up a Daicos, as his Dad would know all about the attention. Good thing he is mature for his age, and apparently coping well. Good thing too we have a coach who’d be helping him with this, and a strong club to buffer him from the current craziness. A few players have succumbed this year to the mental stresses of being an AFL player - what Nick is going through is not easy.
And like clockwork all the simpletons far and wide the past few days - “He’s not the first player to be tagged”

I like how they act like its the first time he's copped a hard tag every time he cops a hard tag, which is every single week

The best thing about this time is the entire team bashing and hitting Fartflinger or whatever his name is all game to wear him down and show that we’re not going to cop you flogs targeting our superstar without some retaliation. Nick would have felt the love. Plus he only needs half a step and he’s gone from any tag

The weekly cycle:
  • Media discusses who tags Nick
  • Coach of other team asked pregame, says they have a plan
  • attention all game on tagger and how Nicks dealing with it
  • Pies win and mock the tag saying it gives us an advantage in post match
  • media discusses how the tagger was able to limit Nick even though he's had 30 and pies won the game

The weekly cycle:
  • media discusses how the tagger was able to limit Nick even though he's had 30 and pies won game
West Coast will just hope and pray he doesn’t get 50

The weekly cycle:
  • media discusses how the tagger was able to limit Nick even though he's had 30 and pies won the game
rinse and repeat

Reckon GAJ copped plenty of early attention.

Player Watch Nick (AFL MVP) Daicos