Mega Thread Nick Daicos - Can he be the GTWEB? Part 2

You're the one who tried to pretend Ablett's finals lacked the contested, high impact style in finals until his permanent move to midfield in 2007.
No need to pretend, as it didn't stack up. GAJ first four seasons of footy just doesn't compare.

He played 5 finals in his first four seasons - he avg 15 disposals, 3 clearances, 7 CPs and 1.4 goals.

Cherry picking his best final, and adding things like "long range goal" and trying to make his 22 disposals seem better due to a "low disposal game" (when Geelong had more disposals than the Pies last night ) is your usual disengenuos crap.

No need to pretend, as it didn't stack up. GAJ first four seasons of footy just doesn't compare.

He played 5 finals in his first four seasons - he avg 15 disposals, 3 clearances, 7 CPs and 1.4 goals.

Cherry picking his best final, and adding things like "long range goal" and trying to make his 22 disposals seem better due to a "low disposal game" (when Geelong had more disposals than the Pies last night ) is your usual disengenuos crap.
Well I've highlighted two contested finals as a forward-mid where Ablett dominated as a youngster. Impact > stat padding disposal counts. We don't have score involvements but almost everything he touched turned to gold in those two finals. And he was winning contests/hard balls, not just waiting on the outside and hoping his teammates could supply him.

Over those 2 standout finals Ablett averaged 20.5 disposals, 2 goals, 1 goal assist, 8 inside 50s and 10 contested possessions as a forward flanker rotating through the midfield. Impact.

Obviously in 2007 as a permanent midfielder aged 23 he channelled the same energy but was more prolific - clear BOG in the QF + PF. Daicos turns 23 in a few months and failed to do so in a big game as the heat went up.

This was his chance to have an Ablett 2007 PF match winning legacy performance. Instead he disappeared. 3 handballs and zero impact in the last quarter. Part of a midfield that got torched in scores from stoppage. He failed on the big stage.

Naicos finals were 3 in a debut season, and 2 rushed back from a knee injury. The disengenuos Cat will argue that there is no point including debut season games.

A 26.3 player rating to be the clear dominant player on the ground in a PF after being his team highest rated player in the QF win. He has elevated his game again in finals.

An avg player rating of 21.5 in finals for his 4th season of footy, a harsh judge of you think he will improve much on that.

??
He has received coaches votes in all of his finals outside of his debut season.

And now is also dominant in player Ratings.

He does it all!! 😍
‘All’ except get a kick in a cutthroat PF. Or stick a tackle. Don’t worry … I saw your gameday thread … fans filthy on Naicos for his inability to stick a tackle.

He had 3 more contested poss than Ned Long.
Who was pretty ordinary
He had the second most contested possessions on the ground, and most for Collingwood.
But he’s not a first possesion winner like a Cripps or the usual types that win Brownlow’s (he may win it this year)
In 2024, when played in that role he proved he is very good at the coal face. He was 4th in the league for 1st possession rate - ahead of Rowell, Green, Serong, LDU etc.

But the narrative is he doesn't win contested ball?
He’s not a goal scoring mid like a Petracca, Henry, Martin.
Of the players who actually win plenty of contested ball and 1st possession, only 3 kicked more goals than Naicos in 2025 - Bont, Ed Richards and Heeney

Naicos had the highest proportion of team score involvements in the league in 2025.
If Mitchell was the sub..that would’ve given you more flexibility (with hindsight).
If Mitchell was playing well, we may have picked him...but the problem was the mids we picked (apart from Naicos) - DeGoey, Long, Sidey and Pendles - were poor and well beaten.

You ain't winning a PF when so many midfielders don't fire.

I agree.

Leaving the game it was frustrating that we kept kicking long to Andrews, that Brisbane had found another impressive forward in Gallop and our mids - DeGoey, Long, Sidey and Lipinski - were well beaten by the Lions mids.

Elliott and the Daicos boys the only Pies who really had strong games...and didn't realise just how impactful Naicos was, just needed a few mates to help him.
But he wasn’t impactful. No goals and just 4 x SI’s. Zero kicks in last quarter. Multiple missed tackles.

He played well and was one of Collingwood’s better players, but I’d not have him in top 5 on ground. McCluggage, Ashcroft, Andrews, Wilmot, Dunkley, Bailey, Elliott … all had far more impact on the game … hard as nails in the clinches, all of them - Naicos in next rung.

He had the second most contested possessions on the ground, and most for Collingwood.

In 2024, when played in that role he proved he is very good at the coal face. He was 4th in the league for 1st possession rate - ahead of Rowell, Green, Serong, LDU etc.

But the narrative is he doesn't win contested ball?

Of the players who actually win plenty of contested ball and 1st possession, only 3 kicked more goals than Naicos in 2025 - Bont, Ed Richards and Heeney

Naicos had the highest proportion of team score involvements in the league in 2025.

If Mitchell was playing well, we may have picked him...but the problem was the mids we picked (apart from Naicos) - DeGoey, Long, Sidey and Pendles - were poor and well beaten.

You ain't winning a PF when so many midfielders don't fire.

The issue is with those not firing his numbers decreased. Is this what will happen moving forward with Pendles Steele etc
Thoughts?

‘All’ except get a kick in a cutthroat PF. Or stick a tackle. Don’t worry … I saw your gameday thread … fans filthy on Naicos for his inability to stick a tackle.
Yeah he still needs to physically mature, and yes his missed tackles were costly.

But you don't get player ratings for tackling and pressure acts - Dusty has a total of 5 tackles in his 3 GFs - you run forward and finish, let the others do the defensive stuff.

He's played 7 finals now.

3 of them to his credit he's been in the best handful of players on the ground. 4 of them he hasn't.

Most of the big stars - especially in years they won/almost won the Coaches Association Award, League MVP or Brownlow - would have a bit extra after 7 finals.

For Ablett that's 2004 QF through to 2007 PF.

For Dusty that's 2013 EF through to 2018 QF.

For Danger that's 2009 EF through to 2015 SF.

For Judd that's 2002 EF through to 2006 QF.

For Pendlebury that's 2007 EF through to 2010 QF.

I reckon they all had their BOG or close to it (often multiple) performance secured in finals by then.

But he wasn’t impactful. No goals and just 4 x SI’s. Zero kicks in last quarter.
Bit hard to get score involvements / goal assists when Cox is dropping chest marks from a lace out passes, and Sidey sprays a shot from 30m out under no pressure.
He played well and was one of Collingwood’s better players.
Agree.

Only the real champions can drop a game rated 26.3 in a big PF.

He's played 7 finals now.

3 of them to his credit he's been in the best handful of players on the ground. 4 of them he hasn't.

Most of the big stars - especially in years they won/almost won the Coaches Association Award, League MVP or Brownlow - would have a bit extra after 7 finals.

For Ablett that's 2004 QF through to 2007 PF. (years 3 through 6)

For Dusty that's 2013 EF through to 2018 QF. (years 4 through 8)

For Danger that's 2009 EF through to 2015 SF. (years 2 through 8)

For Judd that's 2002 EF through to 2006 QF. (years 1 through 5)

For Pendlebury that's 2007 EF through to 2010 QF. (years 2 through 5)

I reckon they all had their BOG or close to it (often multiple) performance secured in finals by then.
The Disingenuous One does it again.

Years in the system for each player above in brackets.

So you're comparing performances of players who had been in the system for up to 8 years against a player who has played 3 finals in his rookie season, and 2 finals coming off a potentially season ending leg injury.

I told you to do the name calling when you don't have an argument. So cheers for conceding before you started.

7 finals are plenty to form a guide. 4 of them he was one of the best players in the comp - they weren't Hawkins as a baby lamb in 2009. So there's no excuses.

12 coaches votes before GF-weighting adjustment isn't that impressive even if you do exclude his whole 2022 finals series. It's solid but unspectacular. His team won 3 of those 4 recent finals so you'd think the just-about-league-MVP would dominate the votes. In losing finals it is very difficult to feature in them prominently.

If you don't have Harris Andrews and McCluggage as 2 best players on the ground, you are just trolling or seriously delusional. No, not talking about player ratings. Talking about footy knowledge. Daicos was one of the best from pies but not better than either of these 2 alomg with ashcroft, Elliott or Wilmot.

The issue is with those not firing his numbers decreased. Is this what will happen moving forward with Pendles Steele etc
Thoughts?
Two different things.

If Collingwood want to finish top 4 and challenge for flags, he needs some running mates.

His personal numbers will be fine regardless.
2024 was his best year from a numbers and stats perspective as he had to do more when Mitchell, DeGoey and Sidey all were injured or playing poorly...but Pies slipped back to being a mid table team.

IMHO will be no different to GAJ, his output was very similar at GC in 11-14 as it was at Geel 07-10, but without the support, team success wont be there.

If you don't have Harris Andrews and McCluggage as 2 best players on the ground, you are just trolling or seriously delusional. No, not talking about player ratings. Talking about footy knowledge. Daicos was one of the best from pies but not better than either of these 2 alomg with ashcroft, Elliott or Wilmot.
I'd have Elliot and his brother ahead as Pies.

McCluggage, Andrews, Washcroft, Gardiner and Wilmot as Lions. Zorko just about wiped his horror first half mistake by dominating the rest - 9 inside 50s and relentless rebound. Dunkley for his massive second half alone probably more worthy too.

N.Daicos about 10th best overall with the 2nd half weighting when the match was there to be won.

Fly may throw him a few votes though.

Yep, this is a fair call.

The thing is, we hear all about PlAyEr RaTiNgZ when it suits THEIR narrative, and there's dead silence when it doesn't.

Andrews is a star whose mere presence ****s us in terms of how to attack, but I don't think he was second best on ground yesterday. He did everything right, but he had a really easy day. A couple of contests won, a few shit entries down his throat and then a lot of short pass marks as part of the round the back switch to kick through us.

Par for the course for the Mr.Disengenuos.

Naicos has been in the Pies best in all 4 of his finals outside his debut season.

And even in his debut season, he was still very effective, getting his 25 disposals and heaps of run and carry off HB, where he matched his H&A output.

Mega Thread Nick Daicos - Can he be the GTWEB? Part 2