Nick Davis

Staker is from Broken Hill, which is actually closer to Adelaide than Sydney.
Yeah, but he's still a NSW boy. Footy clubs are bound by fact and state boundaries, not reason. They don't give a crap whether he's closer to Adelaide .. Broken Hill is NSW so he comes to NSW.

I don't particularly want him, but I would pay to go to training and see him out with Baz :p

Disagree, Staker has never lived up to his potential.

remarkable ... i agree
staker plays 3-4 good games a season, until this year most of them were against us
i've always expected he'd have his "breakthrough" season and become a star, but it seems something holds him back
maybe he's just dumb

What would he be now? 22? Talls mature later than smaller players do, so maybe he's still in that period? Him being over 23 and us selecting him would be idiocy though, considering the inconsistency he's shown.

Still, he's a Playfair that can kick goals..

He has kicked 76-61 in 101 games of footy

Playfair 38-29 in 61 games

Hardly an enormous difference in accuracy and strike rate, only Staker has had a lot more opportunity.

Keep Playfair IMHO

and Staker is 24 not 22 (as was asked earlier)

Not trying to sell Staker or interested in trading for Nick Davis, but Staker not reaching his potential is largely due to him not being played in one position. He has played every position possible. His best position is HFF and he needs to play that consistently. He is also affected more than so on his confidence - if his confidence is high, he will have a blinder, and vice versa.

Most WCE fans actually like staker - no fuss, very hardworking etc nice bloke, but we all have been disappointed with him not reaching his potential. If there is any club that can help him reach that potential, it will have to be Sydney. If thats the case, I am all for it - he has been very good to WCE and if he chooses to go, he should be traded.

(Although, somewhere in my heart atleast, I know, he will come very good)

a tad harsh,without him it would now be 75 years
Agree with Malceski Bedford.Not harsh at all.If it hadnt been for Leos mark or Halls 55 mtr goal or Montys sealer or JBS great tap to Monty to get the sealer in the GF it would be 75 years as well.No single player or their deeds win flags.A 4 goal 1/4 will all he will be ever remembered for but he will also be remembered as a player who was a lazy,selfish player with an opinion of his own ability as big as his sometimes very ample girth.Face facts mate this bloke has stitched up the Swans as far as value for money goes almost out doing Breretons efforts.Lets hope the club hold back any money owed when he finally departs as they did with Dermie because i reckon they would have a fair case against Davis for false advertising as he is or was the biggest spruiker of his own ability ever to player AFL football.His former teamate Buckley may have rivalled him but proved over a long period of time he could more than back it up.

Agree with that but he still did do it,06 Gf kicked 3 vital goals but he is a bludger

A 4 goal 1/4 will all he will be ever remembered for but he will also be remembered as a player who was a lazy,selfish player with an opinion of his own ability as big as his sometimes very ample girth.

That won't be how I remember him he has kicked some fantastic pressure goals one against Collingwood whilst wearing the Heritage jumper sticks in my mind but there have been many more his game against Hawthorn last year was fantastic he will be remembered as a gun to me and I still cling on to some hope that he will still be a swan next year contributing to the team.

He has kicked 76-61 in 101 games of footy

Playfair 38-29 in 61 games

Hardly an enormous difference in accuracy and strike rate, only Staker has had a lot more opportunity.

Keep Playfair IMHO

and Staker is 24 not 22 (as was asked earlier)
Only because, as Eagles said, Staker's been alternating between defense and forward quite a lot. He's become a bit of a spare parts player, whereas Playfair (although he was played as both a CHB and CHF in VFL games for Geelong) played mostly forward from my recollection.

What a load of rot.

Standard replys are How absurd,what a load of rubbish and what a load of rot.Sound familiar ? Very insightful.I am sure all BF posters are waiting with baited breath for your next utterings of wisdom. To be frank i dont care what you think and am not the slightest bit interested in your admiration for COLONEL SANDERS.

Is the whole continual KFC reference meant to be somehow witty?

It's not about admiring Davis, it's about not making the standard ridiculous comments that Davis has played one good quarter in his career. Just to start with he played well for that entire Geelong game. Also, he played well the previous week of 2005 finals against WC, kicking 3 goals out of 10. He also played well the following week against StKilda, picked up by one of the best taggers in the comp, getting 16 disposals (=4th) and 1 goal.

If it hadnt been for Leos mark or Halls 55 mtr goal or Montys sealer or JBS great tap to Monty to get the sealer in the GF it would be 75 years as well.No single player or their deeds win flags.A 4 goal 1/4 will all he will be ever remembered for
He will because it is one of the best single efforts in a quarter of finals football ever. It's a bit rich comparing a single action of another player with the efforts of that quarter. Yet that's what Swans fans who are anti-Davis seem to do.

but he will also be remembered as a player who was a lazy,selfish player with an opinion of his own ability as big as his sometimes very ample girth.Face facts mate this bloke has stitched up the Swans as far as value for money goes almost out doing Breretons efforts.Lets hope the club hold back any money owed when he finally departs as they did with Dermie because i reckon they would have a fair case against Davis for false advertising as he is or was the biggest spruiker of his own ability ever to player AFL football.His former teamate Buckley may have rivalled him but proved over a long period of time he could more than back it up.
Firstly, you are just inventing things to suit your preconceived image of Davis.

Secondly, it's not the case that he has done nothing for the Swans (which also addresses MalceskiFan's comment).

Over his time with the club Davis has averaged 12.4 disposals per game, 4.1 marks, 1.6 goals and 1.4 tackles. That compares favourably with most small forwards in the competition and it also doesn't compare unreasonably with the perennial Swans favourite O'Loughlin. Given that Davis is the Swans' third forward at best, it also suggests his numbers are decent compared to other forwards, including O'Loughlin. In 2007 Davis finished as the 29th highest goalkicker in terms of goals per game.

Comparing Davis to forwards from other clubs is also affected by the Swans' style of play. The Swans have less disposals and less goals than most teams in the competition, hence making Davis' comparative numbers look even more reasonable.

Sure, he could have played better but to suggest he has done nothing is absurd and a lot of rot.

You can defend Davis and hang crap on Goodes all the time,Cm is right
Point to all the times I have hung crap on Goodes...

Struggling to find them all...

Thought so...

So perhaps you should either shut up or stick to discussing the topic sensibly (if you are capable).

Sure, he could have played better but to suggest he has done nothing is absurd and a lot of rot.

So I suggested he's done nothing did I? Next time I'll just write something like "He's Absurd" or "What a load of rot Nick Davis is"

I'm pretty sure what I suggested is that he's yet to put together a single season of good, consistent footy. Hell, I don't think he's managed to string together a month of good footy. Pardon me for finding it frustrating that a player can perform so well on the big stage (both GFs and several other finals) yet struggle to put the hard yards in during the regular season when the rest of the team are working their arses off. I won't deny that he's been a handy player and I'm happy for him to remain on the list but I'm not going to gloss over the fact that he remains a large waste of talent.

So I suggested he's done nothing did I? Next time I'll just write something like "He's Absurd" or "What a load of rot Nick Davis is"

I'm pretty sure what I suggested is that he's yet to put together a single season of good, consistent footy. Hell, I don't think he's managed to string together a month of good footy. Pardon me for finding it frustrating that a player can perform so well on the big stage (both GFs and several other finals) yet struggle to put the hard yards in during the regular season when the rest of the team are working their arses off. I won't deny that he's been a handy player and I'm happy for him to remain on the list but I'm not going to gloss over the fact that he remains a large waste of talent.
I think that is a far more reasonable comment than what you first wrote, now that you've explained it. :)

Grundy has kicked 12 goals 4 behinds. Bring him in!!!

I know, and did you see him strapped to that big wooden cross at that catholic business.

He is amazing, i hope we dont get fooled into swapping him for Fevola