Nick Malceski - ACL

Re: Nick Malcheski- ACL

Suspected ACL. Not good news for him or the Swans, and with Taghd still under an injury cloud, they're looking increasingly shaky.

Hopefully it's not as bad as first thought, but bad news nonetheless.

Doesn't look to go for Malcheski. Poor guy. If it is the ACL, then I hope he makes a full recovery, and he's back better than ever in 2009.

The NOB cup is detrimental to footy!

Too much pressure on the few seniors (best 22) that have to play.

Better off arranging controlled scratch matches like the amateurs do!

The NOB cup is detrimental to footy!

Too much pressure on the few seniors (best 22) that have to play.

Better off arranging controlled scratch matches like the amateurs do!

You can do a knee just as easily in an intra club match. It's just bad luck. If you see how he did it (hopefully he hasn't and it's just a twist), it was from a simple sidestep. Incredible. It seems possible there was damage there and simple pressure triggered it. Very unusual.:(

Just curious...but if u actually believe what some people in here write u;d swear that Jarred Crouch, Tadgh Kennelly, LRT and Barry Hall on the injured list doesnt count as any sort of long term injury list.....plus the usual smattering week by week.

No matter...its just Sydney fallacy number 45..."they never get injuries"

Absolute quality player, was almost a certainty for the DT this season. Wish the lad well in his recovery.

On the other hand, it'll be interesting to see how Sydney handle injury issues as they've been very lucky over the years

I was starting to feel a little better until I saw your signature you son of a bitch:p.

It hasn't been a good weekend for my teams.

He should've come to the hawks when he had the chance. We would've given him some stuff that would have him flying within two week. All legit.

This is an absolutely devastating loss for the Swans if he is out for the season.

Consider this:

• He had more kicks than any other Swans player in 2007
  • He had more marks than any other Swans player in 2007
  • He was 4th in handballs and FIRST in handballs received.
  • He was third in putting the ball inside 50
  • He was FIRST in rebouding the ball out of the opponents 50
  • He was 5th in losse ball gets

He is 23 years old which is that perfect age when AFL Footballers play their best footy. Sydney only have three other 23 year olds on their list of 40.

I was going to tip the Swans for top 4 because I think they still have enough senior players to make an impact. But this loss is the WORST player they could afford to lose.

Gee...I dunno...Common decency, respect.

Good to see you're not afraid to confirm that you're a knob in real life and not just on BF though:thumbsu:

LOL. Mate do you ever actually go to the footy, or have friends who follow opposition teams? The banter is half the fun. What kind of carebear world are you living in? Grow a pair.

Hate this type of news, especially in the pre-season.

His right knee buckled under him as he looked to change direction and give off a pass.

“It was more of a twisting motion more than anything else,” Roos said. "I think if it’s any consolation to anyone, there’s not much you can do about it.

Malceski had his left knee reconstructed in 2002, fighting back to become one of his side’s most important players.
Sounds like there wasn't much to it.

This is an absolutely devastating loss for the Swans if he is out for the season.

Consider this:
He is 23 years old which is that perfect age when AFL Footballers play their best footy. Sydney only have three other 23 year olds on their list of 40.

I was going to tip the Swans for top 4 because I think they still have enough senior players to make an impact. But this loss is the WORST player they could afford to lose.

yeah cheers thanx mate :thumbsu: taaaa

yeah we had a rough idea it was bad news :thumbsu:

Man are we all sick of these dreaded knee injuries. Anyone who invents something that can either be aesthetically inserted or via surgery, to dramatically improve the knees ability for resistance, will make a squillion dollars.

In today's day and age I'm surprised no inroads have been made into this area. Maybe genetics will be the way of the future. It's so shattering though. THe team, supporters and football lovers. Having said all this, I don't think too many Swans fans were unhappy Mark Williams was out of action for the whole of the 07 season. Just being honest here. I hate it for any player, because it is gutting, nevertheless.

he must have loose ligaments- in the article it states he had a left knee reco in 2002- its his right now. The turn was definately not a standard turn. If you watch the footage closely it looks as if his knee is completely straight when he tries to twist and move to his left side. That hyper extension compouned with the twist action has definately snapped his acl, probably relatively clean (meaning no pcl or mcl damage).

Such a shame, great player, my thoughts are with him. Anyone who has come back from a reco and become as good-a player as he has in the AFL commands the respect and admiration of all. Thoughts are with you Nick.

Consider this:

He's a serious loss but there's no need to reach for the razor . Kenneally was a bigger loss last season. Better player than Malceski - stronger and more creative. He's back and the Bloods have recruited Mattner who plays a similar game to Milceski. His age is irrelevant as a younger player will replace him. Probably Bird.

if you reckon LRT has been awful you know nothing about footy,this bloke is one of the most important players for the bloods.wait and see

yeah he's important for us but that reveals more of a gap in the swans rather than skill LRT might have. I don't mind him but he's far away from being a smart footballer. He often passes it off to a teammate who is about to be tackled and he has full view of this. Yeah, his disposals need work.

Crap news :mad: Here's hoping he bounces back strongly, even if it takes a year.
Sure rivalries matter, but so does the game and the guys who play it. It's always nice to see other supporters "cross party lines" when things like this happen, it's the sort of thing that makes footy worth following.

Nick Malceski - ACL