Nick Riewoldt

InTheBack!

Nick Riewoldt
Southport (AFLQSL)
17/10/82

But for the greed of other clubs, who denied the Brisbane zone extension to the Gold Coast & Sunshine Coast we have missed out on a great player in the making who from all reports wants to play for the Lions. We could have had him as a priority draft pick had the zone been extended as was originally planned.

Just read what the guff says about him on the AFL site.

Is an excellent overhead mark and has a great work ethic continually presenting himself across half forward. Also shows great courage in contests. Won All Australian honours in AFL U18’s this year representing Queensland and played in the premiership side with Southport this year finishing runner up in the best and fairest. His Draft Camp results confirmed his athletic potential with a 2.92sec for 20m putting him in the top bracket for pace and his running vertical leap of 81cm also in the top rankings. His 13.11 beep result was also impressive along with his skill work where his overhead marking shone like a beacon.

Don't forget that Brisbane roarted the father son law to draft Steven Lawrence by getting his father Barry to sit on the bench for Southport in 1 game when he was fifty and had been retired for 25 years.

Justice has now been served as the saints have Steve Lawrence back at his rightful club and Nick sounds like he will be a welcome addition to the saints list.

Knowing Murphy's law the zone rules will change next year so that Brisbane can have a priority draft pick of any local, however none will be as good as the one you missed out on.

InTheBack!

Sorry but I am with StrenthThroughLoyalty 100% here.

To think the son of a St Kilda legend could be picked up simply through his father sitting on the bench for ONE QAFL match, as a 45 year old, was a farce.

It is unfortunate for the lions sake that Nick resides outside the radius of the Brisbane zone. However we can only abide by the rules just like Barry and Steven Lawrence did 7 or 8 years ago.

To have Steven at the saints is sensational. To have Nick Riewoldt is just as good.

Besides, it may be a little premature to claim Nick as a saint at this stage. I'm hoping we choose him but it isn't up to me.

Yes, all clubs sit on the AFL & they blocked the zone extension. The AFL administration supported it, but could not get it passed.

Hey Sainters,

I agree that the Barry Lawrence bench thing was a joke...you are welcome to him he was an average player anyway, gutsy but average & you have paid waaaay too much $$$$ for him.

Dont worry aboout Nick, he will return to Brissie after his rookie season.

Under the 'Developing Markets Rule', put in place by the AFL commission, Brisbane was allowed to take one local player living within a 50km zone of Brisbane’s GPO as a second round draft choice. This is an AFL commission ruling....not a ruling that was decided on by the 16 clubs.

The eight-man AFL commission was set up in November 1983 to run the competition...... independently....... of the clubs. While the clubs can lobby the commission, it is the commission, led by Wayne Jackson, that makes the final decisions regarding the running of the competition, including drafting concessions, salary cap concessions, the draw, etc. etc.

Their decisions are not ratified by the clubs at all, although the clubs have to ratify the appointment of who goes on and off the commission. The clubs also have to ratify any changes the AFL comission want to make to the status of the competition, i.e removal, admittance, merger and relocation of clubs to and within the competition.

The Nick Riewoldt decision was not a decision of the "greedy AFL clubs"; they don't even sit on the commission! It was a decision made by an independent body. Why they made the decision they did, I have no idea.

dont brissy already get an extra $400,000 anyway? i think brisbane are a pretty good team and yous should stop having a cry about the radius thing, if u all get your way then the radius will be extended to the borders of qld, after all u's are lucky u got it in the first place.

I read some correspondence yesterday that said that Ian Collins was going to change the 50k ruling in QLD. Because of the widespread geographical location of clubs, it was going to be changed from 50k to 'inclusion of all QAFL clubs' rather than a zone by measurement. Unfortunately Collins went to Colonial Stadim before he changed the ruling.

To date, I don't know if A Demitrio (sp?) has any of intention of changing it. If he does, it is already too late for this draft, so there is nothing that can be done.

I aint bitter, I was just observing with some regret what might have been. He's been drafted now so good luck to him at his new club. I know what goes around comes around so case closed from me!

I think that Nick wanted to go down there just so he can see what the Culture is like down there 'cause trust me..it is totally different to Brisbane which is again different to the "Coast". I agree whith the person who said that Nick would be back. I think he will be back up here one day in the future. I am so proud to see Nick get the opportunity to play in the AFL as he has been working so hard, he is a very nice guy as well which will help him. Not like some AFL players (NOT TO MENTION ANY NAMES!!) CONGRATULATIONS NICK!
Good Luck!

Amazing to read back through this thread and see what people were thinking at the time. It looks like Nick wasn't totally opposed to playing for the Lions at the time but was sort of forced into the draft because of the zone rules. You can only speculate what the Lions would have achieved if they had Riewoldt and Brown the whole way through their triple premiership era but I'd be more interested to see where they would be now.

A great Queensland player that was lost in the draft system. Pretty sad really.

Tbh, he's had such a good career at the Saints I'm happy that he carved out the key forward post as his own there.

Who knows what might have happened to him (or Brown) when we had Bradshaw/Lynch/Brown?

Amazing to read back through this thread and see what people were thinking at the time. It looks like Nick wasn't totally opposed to playing for the Lions at the time but was sort of forced into the draft because of the zone rules. You can only speculate what the Lions would have achieved if they had Riewoldt and Brown the whole way through their triple premiership era but I'd be more interested to see where they would be now.

A great Queensland player that was lost in the draft system. Pretty sad really.
Salary Cap would have probably made sure that would not have happened for too long.

Not sure how many of you are keen on local footy and therefore dislike Southport but I came across this video and thought it would be of some interest. An old Bears/Lions player in Danny Dickfos also happens to make an appearance in the footage.

Although Riewoldt isn't getting a lot of the ball, his talent is pretty obvious even at that young age. I can't help but wonder what would have happened if he was allowed to be zoned by the Lions...

GEE WHIZZ WHAT AN OUT OF THE BLUE BUMP I WONDER WHAT THE AGENDA BEHIND THIS BUMP COULD BE OH MY GOSH

yclbj28.gif

Sorry side note but that free kick at the 20 sec mark. What is that for? I don't see those being given now. I am stunned as I have never seen the rule for that or understand what it is...... o_O

(As it may or may not come across that is full of sarcasm for dropping the ball :))

Not sure how many of you are keen on local footy and therefore dislike Southport but I came across this video and thought it would be of some interest. An old Bears/Lions player in Danny Dickfos also happens to make an appearance in the footage.

campaigner of a day.

Also from a Bears/Lions perspective:

Murray Davis - no. 11 for the Eagles
Matt Waters - no. 20 for the Eagles
Daniel Pratt - (not sure of number)

I also think Jeremy Stiller (rookie pick, older brother of Cheynee) played that day.

The highlights may not show it but Riewoldt played very well that day. He'd had an ordinary day a couple of weeks earlier but was probably in the best 5 players on the ground in the grand final.

Also, in BigFooty history, a young POBT was perched up on the outer wing, trying to hide an esky from the security guards.