Opinion Nickname

• Thread starter Thread starter GC2015

Bit like calling a team the Victorian Queens. !!

We know what it means, but it misses the mark. :)

Anyway, about the only thing Tasmanians have discovered was Melbourne. ;)
Just an idea. Tasmania was the first major land discovery of our history.
Plus Sydney to Hobart is obviously iconic boat synergy.

Tasmanian Diemens
Tasmanian Mariners
Tasmanian Jacks (sailors)
Tasmanian Mermen
Tasmanian Stingers

There's one name I'm sure most Tasmanians will get behind:

The Tassie Two-Steps

Anyone who's grown up in Tassie will have performed this legendary dance-move at discotheques around the state. The two-step is the bridge to unite the north and the south behind one team and one common goal, which is to emerge victorious with the premiership and show the world the two-step in its full glory.

There's one name I'm sure most Tasmanians will get behind:

The Tassie Two-Steps

Anyone who's grown up in Tassie will have performed this legendary dance-move at discotheques around the state. The two-step is the bridge to unite the north and the south behind one team and one common goal, which is to emerge victorious with the premiership and show the world the two-step in its full glory.

Geez what have you been sniffing today?

I don't think I've heard such rot, anywhere, about anything.

Anyway, keep at it, eventually you'll find something useful to post I'm sure, I hope!!

Tasmanian Titans
Titans is such a big sounding but empty and misunderstood name. It appears everywhere, the Yanks love it, but they usually get it wrong. The Titans were the beasts which were more powerful than the gods (you have to say that with a Denzil Washington voice), but every time they draw a logo, it's a Greek helmet or sword, whatever. They put it up, but they don't know the story or what they're talking about...it has been culturally irrelevant for literally millennia...

If it's appropriate for anything, it's a great name for the BBL, a harmless or abstract noun that won't offend mums or overly stimulate the kids...

Devils is the only name which actually means anything to Tasmanians amongst every other suggestion. Let's end this thread as concluded...!

Titans is such a big sounding but empty and misunderstood name. It appears everywhere, the Yanks love it, but they usually get it wrong. The Titans were the beasts which were more powerful than the gods (you have to say that with a Denzil Washington voice), but every time they draw a logo, it's a Greek helmet or sword, whatever. They put it up, but they don't know the story or what they're talking about...it has been culturally irrelevant for literally millennia...

If it's appropriate for anything, it's a great name for the BBL, a harmless or abstract noun that won't offend mums or overly stimulate the kids...

Devils is the only name which actually means anything to Tasmanians amongst every other suggestion. Let's end this thread as concluded...!

Unlike a lot of hollow, meaningless & bland names of sports clubs/franchises around the country & the planet, at least 'Devils' are geographically & historically strongly attached to Tasmania. The Name & the animal have both a solid local appeal & are widely known nationally & internationally.

Box, Ticked, Concluded.

Sounds good mate, Tassie Devils it is.

The state’s representative footy programs underwent a re-branding about 4 years ago. The Mercury and AFL Tas conducted a public vote on a common nickname for all state teams. As you can see, the Devils won by an enormous margin. Tasmania Devils, wearing green. That branding is so synonymous with the state. It’s hard to even contemplate it being anything else.

f64ac9a1ad604a8097c01d0ff01e006d.jpg

The state’s representative footy programs underwent a re-branding about 4 years ago. The Mercury and AFL Tas conducted a public vote on a common nickname for all state teams. As you can see, the Devils won by an enormous margin. Tasmania Devils, wearing green. That branding is so synonymous with the state. It’s hard to even contemplate it being anything else.

I agree, IMO anything other than a predominantly green colour for the team would also go against the grain.

It'd be like an Irish team not playing in its traditional green. :)

Mariners could be interesting.

Sent from my motorola edge 30 pro using Tapatalk

Mariners could be interesting.

The Mariners was the nickname of our old U18 side that used to compete in the TAC Cup throughout the late 90’s and early 2000’s. As you can see it was the second most popular choice (albeit still a long way behind Devils). I think this really emphasises how most people want the club to have a traditional name, colours etc that connects with Tasmania and its footy history. Left field / modern branding is not the right fit for this club.

Yeah I think we know it's going to be devils unless a spanner thrown in the works. I do like the Mariners though. Is there a reason the NBL team wasn't called the devil's? Just curious

Just an idea. Tasmania was the first major land discovery of our history.
Plus Sydney to Hobart is obviously iconic boat synergy.

Tasmanian Diemens
Tasmanian Mariners
Tasmanian Jacks (sailors)
Tasmanian Mermen
Tasmanian Stingers

They can't and won't go anywhere near references to colonisation like "Diemen", "sailor" or "explorer".