Opinion Nickname

• Thread starter Thread starter GC2015

Its probably already been said on here, but twice I've heard Gerard Whately refer to the new team as the Devils, and I'd have thought his mail would be pretty good.
Don't think it's his mail. It's just what he thinks they have to be called.

Sent from my motorola edge 30 pro using Tapatalk

Am i the only one that thinks Tasmania Devils vs Tasmanian Devils is more than a semantic argument?

I hate the 'n' - "Tasmania" is an infinitely better name.

Andrew Dillon has flagged a potential trademark conflict with Warner Bros, who hold the clothing and merchandising rights for the "Tasmanian Devil" character popularised in Looney Tunes cartoons in the 1950s.
for 15-odd years Freo had a problem just like this with Levi's. They were allowed to be called the Dockers, and they were allowed to use an anchor as their logo, but not both at once. It's why their original logo (the one with a guy holding an anchor) was changed to just say "Fremantle Football Club" after a couple of years, having the anchor on there meant they couldn't print the word "Dockers" on it without violating copyright. So they just didn't print the word, and eventually they changed their logo to a less literal anchor (and removed the anchor from the guernsey), allowing them to use the word again.

So what I'm saying is, simple solution here: Don't print the word "Devils" on the strip, and leave it off the club's official logo. Which would be pretty par for the course as AFL logos go, plenty of them just say "X Football Club" with a picture of the animal mascot.

Am i the only one that thinks Tasmania Devils vs Tasmanian Devils is more than a semantic argument?

I hate the 'n' - "Tasmania" is an infinitely better name.
It should absolutely be the Tasmania Football Club, with the Devils as the nickname.

Devils seems likely since it's trademarked.

Found this though;
View attachment 1673940

One of those flowers is a waratah.

Tassie Waratahs sounds awesome. Distinctively Australian and even though it's a flower it sounds tough. Colours there naturally lend themselves to a rendition of the current jumper.

Devils is boring.

You're welcome 😊
Waratah is the flower of NSW.

What an uproar if we call something other than Tasmania. How about Hobart Devils?

Devils is the obvious but it's tough of think of any other names that don't clash too much with others. I could only come up with the Cobras or the Rams

Waratah is the flower of NSW.

State floral emblems are pretty recent adoptions and only WA has a floral emblem unique to the state. I suppose it would confuse people though.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

This is totally stupid question but here I go.

How come the state is the name of the team?

About 60% of Tasmanians live outside of Hobart, and 40% live outside either Hobart or Launceston. You get a much bigger supporter catchment by calling it Tasmania.

Wherever we live, it is our only team & it'll follow Tasmania Jack jumpers & Tasmanian Tigers in Geographic name.

Interestingly the Hobart Hurricanes gets a following everywhere. The name was a Cricket Australia decision. Also shows how bright they are as we really don't get Hurricanes in this part of the world!

Just on that, where does Launceston fit into the Tasmania Devils? I mean the new stadium will be in Hobart, but will they also play some home games in Launceston or are those sort of things yet to be openly discussed?

Nothing official yet. My assumption is that ~7 games will be played in Hobart, with the remainder in Launceston. Until the new stadium is built, perhaps more in Launceston.

Just on that, where does Launceston fit into the Tasmania Devils? I mean the new stadium will be in Hobart, but will they also play some home games in Launceston or are those sort of things yet to be openly discussed?

Good evening. Where have you been for the last 5 years?

I'm surprised that anyone can copyright an actual animal, I mean yeah fine for the cartoon character but the animal itself surely can't be off limits to everyone else?

Also, the North is happy enough to support a Hobart cricket team in the BBL, but footy is a completely different matter. If it's a Hobart team it alienates over half the state's population, and it's a fairly small potential supporter base to begin with.

Perhaps enlighten me then on what announcement I've missed?
For the first two seasons the split of games will be something like:
UTAS 6, Blundstone 5.

After the new stadium is built it will be: Mac Point 7, UTAS 4.

At least one pre-season game per year will be held at Dial Park on the North West Coast.

I'm surprised that anyone can copyright an actual animal, I mean yeah fine for the cartoon character but the animal itself surely can't be off limits to everyone else?

Also, the North is happy enough to support a Hobart cricket team in the BBL, but footy is a completely different matter. If it's a Hobart team it alienates over half the state's population, and it's a fairly small potential supporter base to begin with.
I think it’s just a media beat up. The club will be called ‘Tasmania Devils’, which in itself is distinct from ‘Tasmanian Devil’. The logo also looks completely different to Taz.

Attachments

• C66D1483-18A8-4F7F-A90E-7EFDF4A3D131.jpeg
    C66D1483-18A8-4F7F-A90E-7EFDF4A3D131.jpeg
    43.8 KB · Views: 25
Tassie Spirit is a cool suggestion I remember reading on here in the past.

Surely you'd only go that route with a long-term commitment from the Spirit of Tasmania as a major (and I mean major) sponsor.

Personally I like the Tassie Oilers or the Tassie Berries (the first is mined from Bass Strait, the second is a major export of Tas)

This is totally stupid question but here I go.

How come the state is the name of the team?
Tasmania is incredibly divided, both geographically and politically. It would at least solve the political divide to call it by the state so as not to alienate the northerners.

Andrew Dillon has flagged a potential trademark conflict with Warner Bros, who hold the clothing and merchandising rights for the "Tasmanian Devil" character popularised in Looney Tunes cartoons in the 1950s.
Lol, Southern Devils.
Hobart-Launceston Devils.

This is where the cliche you're all so fond of works in your favour. You can register as the Tasmania Football Club. You'd already be so well known as the Devils you wouldn't even have to go there. You coukd even use the name in your club song and get away with it. The commentators couldn't be stopped from calling you the Devils. It's such a cliche that it would instantly be part of the footy vernacular, trademark or not. Case in point: everyone knows which team we're talking about if we start talking about the Dons, Bloods, Pies, Dees, Shinboners etc.

I reckon register as the Tasmania Football Club and let the nickname take care of itself. The logo could still be a Tassie Devil, just don't use the name...

Could go with a monogram though, just saying.

Had a bit of a left-field idea that will no doubt get hounded out... but...

Given the whole state aspect and the growing gender-neutral aspect of the world, not to mention the clear agenda of Suns/Giants very Americanised names designed to get younger people's attention...

Island State Warriors.

(hey, the map should be crafted into a shield for the logo, etc)

Bit of a twist on the "Tasmania" name, yet would have great cache but hey - people thought GWS was a stupid idea at first but is pretty much accepted these days.

However -all the best for the team - hope they have more success than the Dockers did/have had!!