Opinion Nickname

• Thread starter Thread starter GC2015

Pictured: the AFL's very own Devil mascots.

(and also the reason why it won't be the Devils)

BpqL7waCAAAGenv.jpg
Will be the Devils, these more Demons ;)

Might just be the #VICBIAS but I associate penguins in Australia with Phillip Island, not Tasmania at all.

The town of Penguin on the north-west coast is the only such-named town in the entire world!

Tasmania Skippers (boat captain/sailor motif - fits the island)

Tasmania Diggers (ANZAC motif - fits the green colour scheme)

Tasmania Mariners (a previously used name)

Tasmania Brewers (obviously a Boags inspiration)

Tasmania Skippers (boat captain/sailor motif - fits the island)

Tasmania Diggers (ANZAC motif - fits the green colour scheme)

Tasmania Mariners (a previously used name)

Tasmania Brewers (obviously a Boags inspiration)

The Aus Swimming team used that for 1 week before they had to change due to the outrage. RSL is the main one. Fair enough as well.

Tasmania Timberjacks

Similar vibes to the Portland Timbers and Minnesota Timberwolves in the US, and links nicely to the existing JackJumpers NBL side which would help with cross-promotions.

The search for a name for Tasmania&#39;s new <b>AFL</b> team begins, with Devils early favourite

Tasmanian devil on an AFL guernsey. It seems like the Tasmanian Devils in the frontrunner, but other suggestions are in the mix. (ABC News: James ...

Browse the BigFooty Forum Ad Free

Continue reading...

Key points:​

• A strong early favourite is the Devils, a name already in use in AFL pathway competitions
  • AFL boss Gil McLachlan says he is confident an understanding can be reached with entertainment giant Warner Bros, who have a cartoon character called Taz the Tasmanian Devil
  • Other name suggestions include the Apples, the Spirit, the Turbo Chooks, the Penguins and other, less flattering, ideas

Last edited by a moderator:

Needs to be an animal. should be a aussie animal:

Tassie devils (given if WB dont carry on)
Wombats
Quolls
Thylacines
Sea Dragons
Wallabies

something left field i read on twitter: Tasmania "Island State Warriors"

Needs to be an animal. should be a aussie animal:

Tassie devils (given if WB dont carry on)
Wombats
Quolls
Thylacines
Sea Dragons
Wallabies

something left field i read on twitter: Tasmania "Island State Warriors"
I don't mind Island State Warriors but it's a little bit of a mouth full and would end up being referred to as Warriors anyway I reckon.
I still like Mariners myself but off course only if Devils doesn't get ticked off.

Look at these cute Bitey Boys. I love them so much. Best nickname for the club images (7).jpeg
images (9).jpeg

Thylacines - wasn't there talk about resurrecting them from existing DNA? Surely they can do it before 2028? Imagine a Thylacine on a lead at the opening game in Tassie - how good would that be. Or a cage where a Thylacine fights the emblem of however they are playing pre-game? Thylacine vs Crow, Magpie, Swan, Cat, Dog or a drunken dock worker with an anchor around his neck as pre-game entertainment! (maybe not real Tigers and Lions though).

AFL expansion teams have a habit of going a bit left field with their names...no one could have predicted Port Adelaide Power or GWS GIANTS.

So a few left field ideas...

Pirates
Sharks
Stallions

The town of Penguin on the north-west coast is the only such-named town in the entire world!
Beautiful town as well in my unbiased opinion from a resident of said town

Totally agree, that little stretch of the NW coast between Turner's Beach and Penguin is tremendous.

Absolutely agree. I was born and grew up in Ulverstone before moving to Hobart and I miss it every day, even 23 years on! That part of the world doesn’t compare.