Nick's BB has closed

• Thread starter Thread starter Joel

Originally posted by kristin5
All Nick's refugees are quite welcome here, but please don't continue arguments from Nick's (or indeed any other boards) over here. It's a clean slate.

Well said.
I strongly echo those statements.

Its disappointing that Nicks has closed.
It catered for everyone, whether you beleive that or not. Just dont forget that with the teeny boppers- well we were all 15 years old at one stage, and its better the girls going on about footy than some american boy band. I just hope someone somewhere decides to make a new BB that carers for everyone.

BTW- Im NanaPanties_34 from Nicks- My chicks channel is gone Girls, :( there is always
shirtlessafl for a bit of a laugh.

Originally posted by Clokey_34
. I just hope someone somewhere decides to make a new BB that carers for everyone.

I work for an isp, im looking into creating a collingwood bb now that nicks is closed. I not really much of a web programmer, but im interested in it, ill keep ya posted.

Originally posted by BrainOfMorbius
Not probably; DEFINITELY correctly.

From my occasional visits there, I found Nick's to be full of one-eyed fanatics - just the way a footy site should be, really. Tightly moderated, sure, but I think a very busy site for a club such as Collingwood really needs to be. (I thought you did a great job Joel, btw.)

Vale Nick's, another great site gone - we at Lionised forum dip our lids to yers.

Thank you BrainOfMorbius, that post was very appreciated. Good on ya mate.

If any sort of temporary board is set up, people will be kept up to date with that. At this stage, we haven't set up anything for general users. It may be a possibility in the future.

I am the same PiesRock from nicks yet i have been here @ bigfooty 4 couple of months now
this may sound dumb
but can sum1 kind of explain 2 me wat exactly has occured i get the jist of it but yer.....
its a definite shock 2 me as i went on nick evryday and shall dearly miss it

PiesRock, I've sort of covered what happened. I'm not going to into extreme details, but let me just say that I guess what happened in the General Feedback section of Nick's in the last few days, really topped off the amount of crap that Mike and the mods have had to put up with.

Its such ashame nicks had to close like that.........my heart goes out to Mike as his site was the best pies site id eva been too.......thousands of fans who understood everything i believed and felt for the pies!

If nicks was eva to close it shoulda been on a Happy note not a bad one like this.....i hope one day when mike believes he has enough support the great site will once again be opened!

Just doesnt feel the same anymore.....now i know wat the FTO fans felt when that site was closed!

hey everyone i want to say to all the other nicks users that I am upset too,

I want to apoligise here to all of you, as I am perhaps one of these people that you want to blame for its downfall.

But just remember that there are 2 sides to every story and we were only "attacking" the mods as you say because they some in particular were making serious attacks on common users and were not listening to our complaint all because "no one pushed the blue button".

Apparently mike was going to close the site anyway and this set him off to finally pull the plug, this was never the intention of any of us and so I want to apoligise here for the fact that all of you have to lose a great site because of this.

please remember that there are 2 sides to this story and that we would have lost our site anyway, its just a shame it had to end this way.

nicks was a great site, i made a heap of great friends which i am grateful for.

good luck to all of you were ever you end up posting.

P.S for anyone wondering I was Go_The_Mighty_Magpies_34 on nicks... it was too long of a name to fit on here wen registering

Originally posted by GO_PIES_90
hey everyone i want to say to all the other nicks users that I am upset too,

I want to apoligise here to all of you, as I am perhaps one of these people that you want to blame for its downfall.

But just remember that there are 2 sides to every story and we were only "attacking" the mods as you say because they some in particular were making serious attacks on common users and were not listening to our complaint all because "no one pushed the blue button".

Apparently mike was going to close the site anyway and this set him off to finally pull the plug, this was never the intention of any of us and so I want to apoligise here for the fact that all of you have to lose a great site because of this.

please remember that there are 2 sides to this story and that we would have lost our site anyway, its just a shame it had to end this way.

nicks was a great site, i made a heap of great friends which i am grateful for.

good luck to all of you were ever you end up posting.

P.S for anyone wondering I was Go_The_Mighty_Magpies_34 on nicks... it was too long of a name to fit on here wen registering

Yes, there are two sides of the story, and that is what the mods had been trying to say. I don't won't to continue it on here, so if you want to discuss it any further, don't do it in public because Bigfooty doesn't need the crap that we have had to put up with.

Just one thing; all we wanted you to do was follow the process, but anyway, no bickering on here.

I've been on this Board for most of this year, but I don't think I've posted here, but now with the demise of Nick's I'll probably post here and on some other boards.

Thanks everyone for welcoming the influx of Nick's supporter base.

Those that caused the demise of Nick's know who they are, we, don't need to know all that stuff, they are the ones that have to live with the results of their actions and that as always a few bad seeds always spoil the apple for everyone else.

There were a lot of serious issues on Nick's (i.e. the GF ticketing fiaso for one) and because of Nick's we were able to try to do something to fix these things. That's what Nick's did, brought people together to work as a team. Great friendships have been made, great ideas put forward.

Let's not lose this aspect of what we all got from Nick's.

I feel like i've lost a part of myself, and I'm sure others are feeling the same, so let's just make the best of a bad situation and move on.

and yes, I'm the same Proud Pies that was on Nicks. (just gotta work out this profile stuff and signature stuff and then i'll be fine :))

The whole thing stinks. Cam posts will appear on Pie Pride under the name Kamissar or maybe something else.

Vale Nick's

Alot of the time its the moderators who kill messageboard chat. If a more open slather approach is taken you end up with people getting over the abuse and the bickering as they know nothing happens if they do it.

People caused problems on Nicks cause they knew it would cause a reaction.

Nicks people are welcome on my website/messageboard if you want. Ideas for the message board are welcome as it is the users who run my site/board...Not the loud mouth Mods.

www.collingwoodmirc.cjb.net

Cheers

Luke

Originally posted by Yobbo^Luka
Ideas for the message board are welcome as it is the users who run my sit/board...Not the loud mouth Mods.

Thats how Nicks was run, so to the people on here having a whinge about how bad the mods were at Nicks, keep in mind they were the ones who kept it running for so long. And if you hated it so much you could have just left instead of sooking about them.

Originally posted by evade28
Thats how Nicks was run, so to the people on here having a whinge about how bad the mods were at Nicks, keep in mind they were the ones who kept it running for so long. And if you hated it so much you could have just left instead of sooking about them.

Thats pretty true...I probably said what I said wrong. However what you said is pretty true, the one thing that the internet lacks is that Common sense that usually sorts out problems in real life.

Originally posted by LMFAO
Joel you are saying not to bring crap on to this site and yet you started the thread and have had a real dig at others.
Nicks fell over because Mike obviously needs a break from all this.To blame four or five posters is absurd.

Now, hang on a minute (anonymous alias), we were trying to moderate within the rules, and provide everyone with a fair go. The mods had no control over Mike closing it, and knew nothing about it. The thing is, as a mod, we know just about everything that goes on (when the board was open), and try to provide a fair process for people to complain. That process worked fine for everyone but a select minority, and they were asked to follow that process, but refused.

You have no idea of the amount of time the mods and Mike had to put into that site, asbsolutely no idea, yet we received nothing but criticism.

Originally posted by Yobbo^Luka
Alot of the time its the moderators who kill messageboard chat. If a more open slather approach is taken you end up with people getting over the abuse and the bickering as they know nothing happens if they do it.

People caused problems on Nicks cause they knew it would cause a reaction.

Yobbo^Luka, by not editing abuse, (bickering was NEVER edited), you cater for the same minority that caused problems on Nick's.

Joel from wat i remember from the last posts on nicks was that it was only 1 mod people were complaining about not the whole moderation team....

u cant say poor mods etc etc coz no one was complaining about u or anyone else it was just 1 of the mods! After the first posts had been posted, sum mods got upset and they faught back not realizing no one had a prob with how they did their job...

i hope everyone can build a bridge and get over this soon, the people who feel they are responsible are feeling guilty and upset and sorry for mike and the other posters....

Originally posted by TaZ_LuVs_BrOdIe
Joel from wat i remember from the last posts on nicks was that it was only 1 mod people were complaining about not the whole moderation team....

u cant say poor mods etc etc coz no one was complaining about u or anyone else it was just 1 of the mods! After the first posts had been posted, sum mods got upset and they faught back not realizing no one had a prob with how they did their job...

i hope everyone can build a bridge and get over this soon, the people who feel they are responsible are feeling guilty and upset and sorry for mike and the other posters....

Incorrect. It was initially an attack on one mod, but led to some attacks on Mike and a few others. What you see on the site, doesn't mean that is all there is to it.

In the end, the closure was a sum of all the attacks on Mike and the mods.

Joel, why did the one mod in question not just quit the team when it became obvious that this persons behaviour would have serious repercussions?
Or, why did the team not get this mod to withdraw from the discussion and let the rest of the team handle it.
If you remember rightly, I quit the team when I had a problem with one poster continually attacking the mods. I took that fight with him/her to the forum without the label of "mod". Should this not have been the same way this person could have acted?
If I also remember at the time I called for more aggressive moderation. I always believed that a concerted attack on the mod team could bring the site down. I even tried to show this.
Obviously this is a huge warning to all messageboards to beware the rogue mod.

i felt sorry for the mods that were gettin a bad name when they were doing their job 100%!!

no one will eva know the full story coz the story is different on both sides as the members and the mods were fightin different beliefs.....thanxs bec for the apology it takes a lot of guts to say sorry even thou a lot of people dont blame u!

I hope soon enough everyone will be back to how it is and no more pointin the finger and blaming people....less fights and more peace would make this a whole lot more pleasant!