News NMFC AFLW 2019

Suck shit *!

Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk
Missed that the first time I saw the two-stage announcement.

Hahahahahaahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha

Probably not. So it'll feel like watching the men's comp in terms of stretching a thing talent base even thinner.

It's already thin.

But the AFL and state government is pumping money into the grass roots support like no one's business.

This is going to take them a prolonged amount of time to really nail.

My sons club went from 0 girls sides in 2016 to 6 girls sides in 2017.

When my son was in Auskick the boy/girl split would have been probably 60/40.

In under 11s there was 1 girl in his side.

Beyond 13s girls (up until last season) had to go elsewhere if they wanted to play.

Now clubs are pushing very hard to not lose the girls out of Auskick.

Is there going to be enough women able to fill the side(s)?

I think the AFL is banking on loads of talented young women switching from other codes because of the reasonable money on offer. There's also a genuine pathway for girls through auskick and junior teams.

It's already thin.

But the AFL and state government is pumping money into the grass roots support like no one's business.

This is going to take them a prolonged amount of time to really nail.

My sons club went from 0 girls sides in 2016 to 6 girls sides in 2017.

When my son was in Auskick the boy/girl split would have been probably 60/40.

In under 11s there was 1 girl in his side.

Beyond 13s girls (up until last season) had to go elsewhere if they wanted to play.

Now clubs are pushing very hard to not lose the girls out of Auskick.

It was more a comment on the state of the mens comp than anything mate.

I have been pretty supportive of us getting an AFLW side.

If it is the North Melbourne AFLW side I am completely behind it.

If it's not then I see nothing that ties that side to the one I love.

I don't love the Sunbury Kangaroos just because Royal blue and white.
It's a NM license and JV... but I get what you mean.

Gold Coast, seriously? How about they get the men's team solid first hey?

Women's footy in Qld is going gangbusters, probably second only to Victoria. The Lions AFLW team showed this season, that quality players are coming out of Qld.

It's actually pretty smart and will help interest in the men's team if anything.

Women's footy in Qld is going gangbusters, probably second only to Victoria. The Lions AFLW team showed this season, that quality players are coming out of Qld.

It's actually pretty smart and will help interest in the men's team if anything.

Perhaps they should wind up the Gold Coast Suns and pout all of the resources into the Gold Coast Daughters.

I'm happy that when my 2 daughters are old enough and if they want to play they will have a North side to follow instead of following another team in that competition.

Don't underestimate the positive impact on members this will have in the future, some girls could be easily swayed if they didn't have a women's to to follow. Could have led to a drain away from the men's side.

So thinking about this, there should be no reason to call this team the Tasmania kangaroos. North were garnered the license. North and tassie govt are in negotiations to finalise partnership.

Therefore if tassie have a problem with the team being called north Melbourne they can get stuffed.

So thinking about this, there should be no reason to call this team the Tasmania kangaroos. North were garnered the license. North and tassie govt are in negotiations to finalise partnership.

Therefore if tassie have a problem with the team being called north Melbourne they can get stuffed.

Nice take but if we've agreed to conditions we'll be made to stick to them.

Cautiously optimistic that an AFL.com.au article refers to us as North Melbourne and makes no inference to a name change, and also notes our ties with Melb Uni.

Good news.

Early call to mods, please don't bury the girls in a new women's sub-folder aka "past players" type arrangement as per the Collingwood board. (Acknowledging that no one has suggested this)

I think whether it's AFL, VFL, AFLW, it all gets the same billing as part of the club imo.

Maybe a get Daisy thread can fill a hole in our lives?

Well my daughter was excited with the news and that's what I care most about. Previously she'd tell me she doesn't care about AFLW "because we're not in it!" Upon hearing the latest news she summoned her brother to the backyard for kick to kick.

Hopefully gives you a don't argue.

On SM-G950F using BigFooty.com mobile app