News NMFC AFLW 2019

Our strategy should be to continue to support the MUWFC and an equivalent women's Club in Tasmania. This could give us an edge when the next licences come up, which in my opinion will be 3-5 years off.

Downside is we could just be pouring club resources into a feeder system for the AFL lovechildren who hold licenses.

North's spruiking that we 'shaped' the women's draft made me cringe. Like someone boasting their girlfriend left them for a really famous actor.

Downside is we could just be pouring club resources into a feeder system for the AFL lovechildren who hold licenses.

North's spruiking that we 'shaped' the women's draft made me cringe. Like someone boasting their girlfriend left them for a really famous actor.

There is a risk with any venture. If it presents us well in Hobart/Tassie then the benefit to our image should be significant. In terms of North shaping the draft, I assume this was in reference to the MUWFC providing the most players to the 2017 season. I've no problems with the Club highlighting this.

That's two calls to the club today to cancel the one membership. How did they go with that?

Methinks Roogal might just be having a bit of fun at our expense.
No worries Horace but I always follow through, I never make threats. If the club is supported by mysogynists then I will break all ties, I have no problem with that.

And for the record to all no I am not a troll, so bury that idea, perhaps the problem is at your feet and not mine.

All the best.

No worries Horace but I always follow through, I never make threats. If the club is supported by mysogynists then I will break all ties, I have no problem with that.

And for the record to all no I am not a troll, so bury that idea, perhaps the problem is at your feet and not mine.

All the best.
I would suggest where you have a group of diverse people and that group is 30k+ some of them are not going to hold the same views as you.

The club most definitely is not run by misogynists and the club have no ability to tell its members what they need to be.

Sure they can kick them out of games or bar them from memberships, but I would ask how anyone could get them to do this? People on here are under a veil of anonymity.

If North is your club, support them because they support Women in footy, on both sides of the fence.

I love North, I guarantee there are hundreds if not thousands of fellow supporters who all I have in common is North and I would otherwise never speak to them, like or listen to their position on anything.

Threatening the club for something that appears so unendorsed by the club itself is misguided IMHO.

Laura Kane joined North to lead our push for a Women's team but we unfortunately missed the licence.
Today I read that Laura has been appointed as North's Football Operations Manager replacing Geoff Walsh.
Congratulations. Let's give Laura our support during this exciting period for our club.

Laura Kane joined North to lead our push for a Women's team but we unfortunately missed the licence.
Today I read that Laura has been appointed as North's Football Operations Manager replacing Geoff Walsh.
Congratulations. Let's give Laura our support during this exciting period for our club.

http://www.nmfc.com.au/club/club-information/our-people/staff

I don't know when this gets updated since changes seem to be incredibly sporadic but Walsh is finally off the list and this announcement probably reminded them.

Howdy,

I thought I'd pop over and say congrats for your clubs appointment of Laura. I went to school with her and she's an absolute gem, she is a super hard worker and very passionate and knowledgeable about all things football. She may not be a big name yet, but she will be.

Laura Kane appointment was announced on Wed. It's Saturday and still no story on the AFL website. I'm very annoyed at that selective bunch of campaigners called the AFL. Probably don't want to publish a good news story about female promotion at NMFC because it will draw attention to the pathetic, biased selection process to dish out the women's licences.

Very low key appt. Only just knew looking at the club website. We the only " progressive " club with a woman in this role ?

Anyone thinking of going to the season opener between Carlton and Collingwood this Friday night? Ms Horace and I are going to go along and looking forward to it despite the absence of the NMFC.

Will be very odd seeing a competition without North, however this will be an historic occasion so I think it is worth wandering along. Hoping both teams get beaten.

Will probably support the Brisbane Lions until such time as North gets into the competition, hopefully sooner rather than later.

From the NMFC website: I like the sound of this. Positive is they will play in front of most of the crowd attending the Nth v Haw pre-season game.
Negative is that we haven't got tickets to Arden St that day so I can't see it with my daughter who keeps asking why North doesn't have a Women's team.

Two of Victoria's best women's teams will battle it out later this month at Arden Street.
A North Melbourne team made up of players from VFL Women’s grand finalist Melbourne University Women’s Football Club and selected players from Tasmania, will take on reigning VFL Women’s premiers Darebin on February 26.

The match will take place following the JLT Community Series clash between North and Hawthorn at Arden Street.
North Football Operations Manager Laura Kane said she expected both women’s teams to be super competitive.

“With 17 players taking part in the AFLW competition, the next tier of Melbourne Uni players will still want to make amends for losing last year’s Grand Final, and as both teams play in round one of the VFL Women’s competition in May, everyone will be wanting to make their mark and really put in a strong showing,” Kane said.

“We’re also excited to be able to welcome some of the best talent from Tasmania into the North Melbourne lineup, and we’ll know who those players will be after we hold trials across the state in February.”

Those trials will be held in both Hobart and Launceston on February 11 and 12 and registrations are still open for any Tasmanian interested in being part of the historic match. Travel costs for those selected will be covered by North Melbourne.

Very low key appt. Only just knew looking at the club website. We the only " progressive " club with a woman in this role ?

Err absolutely. There's a few women involved at board level around the parts but Footy Ops manager is the number 3 banana pretty much besides the CEO and Senior coach in a footy club.

She'd be miles ahead of any other women in an actual football dept role.

Surprised this is so low key, is a huge appointment given the AFLW launch it's quite strange TBH. She could of almost been a key note speaker on the whole thing given her background at Melb Uni.