News NMFC AFLW 2019

Look, good on them and all that, but not at all. It was complete garbage.

They should change the name to Licker Football League, it's basically Orange is the New Black on a football field.

The only real highlight imo was big Sarah Perkins.

Women should stick to Netball and Softball, Lingerie Football or Mud Wrestling - where they're the pinnacle of the sport.

Pretty harsh assessment. I was at the Carlton v Collingwood game along with Ms Horace and it was a terrific experience. It was not complete garbage. It was the first ever AFL game for women and while the skills were not at the level we are used to in the men's game, it needs to be kept in mind that for most of these teams they have been together a very short time, have had a very limited pre-season and more than anything else the historic nature of that game was bound to leave most players just a little nervous.

The great thing about this game and all of the other games at the weekend, was that there was a lot of endeavour, players threw themselves at every contest, there was no shirking of any issue and every one of the players should have finished their games full of pride in their performance.

And there were some real displays of class. Just one example. Number 35 for Carlton - sorry I have forgotten her name - took a ripper of a mark in the last quarter, followed up I'm pretty sure shortly afterwards with another two solid marks.

Yes it is disappointing that the NMFC does not have a team, but I think we have to look beyond this. By all means abuse the AFL for starting with only 8 teams, but make no mistake, AFLW is here and here to stay. And that is wonderful as far as I am concerned.

And now that it is here, all girls and young women can aspire to be part of, in my opinion, the toughest female sport on earth. (well maybe rugby is tougher) How good is that?

And btw, the Pies are on the bottom of the ladder. :)

Fully aware though I am that we have differing priorities and values, there wasn't a single part of you that thought even for a second, "what a nice moment for women who've been trying their whole lives to play this game as a professional or even semi-professional job"? I have zero idea what their sexual proclivities have to do with their abilities as footballers either. I thought there were plenty of highlights in amongst some pretty admittedly crap level of football - but then again that's probably to be expected from a league playing in its first ever game, where the players aren't full time and have to hold down jobs as nurses and teachers.

Darcy Vescio dominated. Erin Phillips dominated. Brianna Davey looked like she wouldn't look out of place on an AFL field. Three women got suspended for going the knuckle. They punched each other a lot, especially in the Dogs/Dockers game. They got 50K to four games and had to lock out an entire stadium because there was too much interest. I feel like a lot of importance is being placed on the skill level, when the corresponding game at the same stage of the men's league, AKA the first game ever, was a 49-16 Fitzroy win over Carlton. No team broke 50 points for the entire round. It must've been boring as batshit to watch.

I think the women deserve a bit more credit. I enjoyed watching the games over the weekend for the simple fact that there was enthusiasm, passion and some talent on display from women who've been waiting a long time for the opportunity to do what they did. And also because regardless of gender it was bloody ******* football on the television and who doesn't enjoy that shit?

I remember it well. :D

+1 for the no North Melbourne, no interest vote.

My 6 y.o. daughter would probably fall right into the AFLW's target market. I was watching the start of the Blues v Pies game the other night and called out for her to come and check it out.

She wandered in and was indeed checking it out, with me extolling the fact a packed crowd was in attendance to support women playing footy, and have a look at how good some of them are. "That could be you one day!"

She turned and said "Yeah but North aren't playing so I really don't care. Seeya!"

And that was that!

That's an outrageous comment coming from you ATG :)

On a personal level, I forgive you, mainly due to circumstances outside of your control, but I'm not so sure others will be as forgiving.

Pretty harsh assessment. I was at the Carlton v Collingwood game along with Ms Horace and it was a terrific experience. It was not complete garbage. It was the first ever AFL game for women and while the skills were not at the level we are used to in the men's game, it needs to be kept in mind that for most of these teams they have been together a very short time, have had a very limited pre-season and more than anything else the historic nature of that game was bound to leave most players just a little nervous.

The great thing about this game and all of the other games at the weekend, was that there was a lot of endeavour, players threw themselves at every contest, there was no shirking of any issue and every one of the players should have finished their games full of pride in their performance.

And there were some real displays of class. Just one example. Number 35 for Carlton - sorry I have forgotten her name - took a ripper of a mark in the last quarter, followed up I'm pretty sure shortly afterwards with another two solid marks.

Yes it is disappointing that the NMFC does not have a team, but I think we have to look beyond this. By all means abuse the AFL for starting with only 8 teams, but make no mistake, AFLW is here and here to stay. And that is wonderful as far as I am concerned.

And now that it is here, all girls and young women can aspire to be part of, in my opinion, the toughest female sport on earth. (well maybe rugby is tougher) How good is that?

And btw, the Pies are on the bottom of the ladder. :)

All good points, as always H.

But I'm a North supporter and I don't hate Collingwood anywhere near as much as Essendon, Geelong, St.Kilda, West Coast, Richmond & Sydney. Not even close.

What I find funny (and mildly interesting) is that they are 6 of the 10 teams without a side.

I want all our limited resources going towards winning our 5th flag... Nothing else matters to me.

I'm not sure what values you mean, but I will take the insult lol(i think) in good spirits.

Brother I did say good on them and all that... That was my gold star for trying and participation.

It was free and we are football starved, hence the popularity. Start charging people $20 to get in and crowds will drop 75% (which would still admittedly and unbelievably make it very popular). 4 teams scored less than 2 goals FFS, as for comparing it to 1897, are you able to dig up a pitch report? Ground size? Wasn't the game played on a ground the size of Yarra Park? I really don't know. Anyway I'm not interested in any sport that isn't the pinnacle of the sport... I think local footy is absolute garbage and cringe anytime I hear someone say they are going to local footy over watching North. I think women's tennis is totally unwatchable. I enjoy women's basketball and soccer, well because the Aussies are bloody good.

But Football to me is and always will be about North, without North, it isn't football and I don't give a ****.

PS: How would a seniors (over 35's) league rate? What would the crowds be like? Especially at the start of Feb after no footy in 4+ months.

PPS: I've never asked for anything from anyone in over a decade on here, but can you just delete Saintly's and Popeyes last few idiotic posts and let us get back to the Trump thread?

Values =/= values. I meant what you value in terms of sport. You clearly value, as you've said, the pinnacle of the sport, the well established men's league with a high skill level etc etc. I dunno about "gold star" when the gold star is delivered in the form of "good on them and all that but it's a pack of lesbians chasing after leather, who's surprised?". I will give you props for trying though.

I get the whole "free" thing, but as someone in your position may understand, you gotta spend money to make money. The AFL is not poor and will make a loss on the AFLW the first few instances but the word of mouth that it generated this past weekend and the optics of having to close a stadium because there's so many people will play so much better than them half-filling Etihad and it looking like a Carlton-GWS mid-season borefest. Guarantee you when it comes time for AFLW to renegotiate their contract and their earnings potential they'll point to the broadcast of the Carlton-Collingwood game and go "if you charge $5 a ticket for that, you make $100,000 straight away without even trying".

You don't enjoy the big Amazonian monstering everyone around a tennis court? Serena does nothing for you? Watching the absolute pinnacle of womens sport?

If NM had a womens team would you get behind it? I'm interested in AFLW but if there was a NM team I'd be a paid up member. Guarantee you that.

Re: the Trump thread, we're working through avenues to get it reopened in the next few days. Donald had a quiet one today (too busy wandering around the White House in his bathrobe?) so there's not much to chat about. But hopefully when we do open it up again everyone will have calmed down a little :thumbsu:

Don't underestimate the fickle people who look at a club with a women's team and jump on board because of "diversity". Members are resources too.

Evidence is in the anecdotes on this thread.

I'm hoping that Brisbane wins this years competition, purely because they vaguely resemble Fitzroy and because they are not Adelaide, Carlton, Collingwood, Fremantle, GWS, Melbourne or the Bulldogs.

BUT

There is no way I will become a long term supporter, let alone a member, of Brisbane or any other club.

I reserve that status for the NMFC's AFLW team when it enters the competition. Go North.

+1 for the no North Melbourne, no interest vote.
In light of responses to ArjenTheGreat who may possibly share my view here (?), let me state that no interest in the current women's league doesn't equal lack of support. I'm on record - probably on this very thread somewhere - saying we should have tried to get in on this, and I'm glad we tried. It's a winner in every sense as far as I'm concerned and I'm spewing we're not getting part of the early support that these 8 teams will get.

But, in the meantime, I couldn't be bothered watching. It's not about not supporting the women; it's no different to the men's league where I struggle to watch games that don't involve NMFC. Simple as that.

Only problem we have is that if we do get a team it will no doubt be based out of Tassie. To many, that will be the start of something more sinister.
University of Melbourne and Tassie players, no? I'm not sure where the 'no doubt... based out of Tassie' comes from. It is just your opinion, or have there been corroborating statements to that effect?

If not, then let's not look for issues where they may be none. Overall, we have to invest genuinely and effectively in Tassie, otherwise academies and the like won't be ours much longer. Given the low number of (men's) draftees in recent times, I'm actually wondering if we're doing well enough down there. I know Qld and NSW have the population base, but the footy base in Tassie is something we need to really help to flourish. I wonder how we're tracking with our KPIs on the map.

Really tired of seeing the bolded argument, let's see what the women would have been like without handballing, primitive tactics, 20 people on the field at all times, no push in the back rule and playing with a rugby ball.

There is a point to be made there, but the comparison to the first ever VFL game makes no sense whatsoever.
The sense is that these are the first few games at this level, with players who all have other jobs. It's the first steps, not a finished product. And not to be compared to a fully professional sport that has taken well over 100 years to develop to the point it is now.

In light of responses to ArjenTheGreat who may possibly share my view here (?), let me state that no interest in the current women's league doesn't equal lack of support. I'm on record - probably on this very thread somewhere - saying we should have tried to get in on this, and I'm glad we tried. It's a winner in every sense as far as I'm concerned and I'm spewing we're not getting part of the early support that these 8 teams will get.

But, in the meantime, I couldn't be bothered watching. It's not about not supporting the women; it's no different to the men's league where I struggle to watch games that don't involve NMFC. Simple as that.

University of Melbourne and Tassie players, no? I'm not sure where the 'no doubt... based out of Tassie' comes from. It is just your opinion, or have there been corroborating statements to that effect?

If not, then let's not look for issues where they may be none. Overall, we have to invest genuinely and effectively in Tassie, otherwise academies and the like won't be ours much longer. Given the low number of (men's) draftees in recent times, I'm actually wondering if we're doing well enough down there. I know Qld and NSW have the population base, but the footy base in Tassie is something we need to really help to flourish. I wonder how we're tracking with our KPIs on the map.
Fair enough. I can't watch golf, myself. Apparently it will keep being played regardless.

Heard on the news the dogs have another injury.

I can see what's going to happen already, dogs win WAFL G.F with all them injuries, so brave!

Shoot me.

Practice Game vs Melbourne Uni (Arden St)
View attachment 334646
Poor form by the AFL that we didnt get a team.

I can't explain how important it is for my daughters (and probably daughters of many on this board) to see a photo of a Women's team in North jumpers. My youngest one has started talking about following the Bulldogs AFLW team because we don't have one. I'm going to show her this photo and ask her to be patient till next year. If we get shafted by the AFL next year I will lose my sh1t.

EDIT: Nekminit: Gill says he wants to consolidate and there won't be any more teams in 2018.......

Cats seethe over AFLW call to delay expansion

GEELONG believes it has been blindsided by the AFL's reluctance to expand the NAB AFL Women's competition until at least 2019.

Disappointed Cats CEO Brian Cook said the apparent shifting of the goalposts was unfortunate as the club's plans for a women's team were based on being included in the competition in 2018.

He is also worried that any delay could mean the Cats lose local talent to existing clubs next season.

There are already three players from the Geelong local area playing for Melbourne's AFLW team in 2017.

"We had expectations of being in the competition in 2018. And we shaped our structures around women’s football to suit that," Cook told the club's website.

"We might be spending somewhere around $250,000 to $300,000 this year to ensure that we have a really strong team to enter the AFL probably next year.

"We've been planning for it. We've budgeted for it. We've structured for it. We've gone out and recruited people on that basis."

Cook's comments came after AFL CEO Gill McLachlan told a media briefing during the week that the League was likely to delay AFLW expansion until 2019.

McLachlan said his initial view was that the competition needed to consolidate despite the roaring success of the opening round.

"I think his original view was we should expand the competition in 2018. That's changed," Cook said.

Geelong, St Kilda, North Melbourne, Richmond and West Coast were given provisional licences after applying for and missing out on the initial competition.

Geelong is fielding a team in the VFL Women's competition this year and appointed Paul Hood to coach the team.

So we can keep waiting too......

Ex Basketball, Netball, Cricket players playing AFL.

What about the women who have played AFL in local comps all their lives.
I absolutely agree the female players that have been playing the game in the many female competitions over the last 5plus years are being ignored for the marquee players from other sports. Gws failed in their attempt to convert rugby and rugby league male players, why should the girls playing the game at the grass roots level be replaced by netball players, rugby players and other sports

Cats seethe over AFLW call to delay expansion

GEELONG believes it has been blindsided by the AFL's reluctance to expand the NAB AFL Women's competition until at least 2019.

Disappointed Cats CEO Brian Cook said the apparent shifting of the goalposts was unfortunate as the club's plans for a women's team were based on being included in the competition in 2018.

He is also worried that any delay could mean the Cats lose local talent to existing clubs next season.

There are already three players from the Geelong local area playing for Melbourne's AFLW team in 2017.

"We had expectations of being in the competition in 2018. And we shaped our structures around women’s football to suit that," Cook told the club's website.

"We might be spending somewhere around $250,000 to $300,000 this year to ensure that we have a really strong team to enter the AFL probably next year.

"We've been planning for it. We've budgeted for it. We've structured for it. We've gone out and recruited people on that basis."

Cook's comments came after AFL CEO Gill McLachlan told a media briefing during the week that the League was likely to delay AFLW expansion until 2019.

McLachlan said his initial view was that the competition needed to consolidate despite the roaring success of the opening round.

"I think his original view was we should expand the competition in 2018. That's changed," Cook said.

Geelong, St Kilda, North Melbourne, Richmond and West Coast were given provisional licences after applying for and missing out on the initial competition.

Geelong is fielding a team in the VFL Women's competition this year and appointed Paul Hood to coach the team.

So we can keep waiting too......

Let's set up an AFAW as a rival competition in 2018.

I'd be happy to shoot it dead, chop it into pieces, blend the pieces into mush and then bury the mush sixteen feet under. We know the exact same thing will reoccur.

Ie: the best thread on bigfooty ever.

I reckon the Australia Day thread is worse.

Let's set up an AFAW as a rival competition in 2018.

I was literally just going to post the exact same thing. Should get every other club "interested" to start talking about how we're going to form a breakaway league. All they have to do is not use the club trademarks. Nothing stopping them from starting clubs.

Watch how quickly the AFL eat a sh*t sandwich if it even looks like getting going.

They should honestly set up a one day carnival, round robin style tournament. Play each side once over two twenty minute halves...

Run a Lightning Premiership. If I'm not mistaken the last of those was in 1996 in the Centenary year.