AFLW NMFC AFLW [Season 2022]

It will be interesting to see who other teams delist. This was just the first part of the puzzle. I reckon squeezing Tayla Harris into Melbourne (and they’ll have to play her) might push a handy player out. I don’t reckon they were a team that required her talents. Also I’m quietly happy Cunningham retired, she was a wall whenever we played them.

Great news, Hardiman is rated very highly internally and had a pretty good season I reckon. I think our defence is pretty solid. I’m a bit surprised Gibson was retained as I thought injury might’ve meant the end.
Yeah surprised about Gibson also she just seems too slow and I don’t see her in our best team next season

in fact I expect soon to be draftees like Perri king to play before her to give us pace and class

I was happy to see Gibson retained as she is versatile enough to play anywhere and is more mobile than most think. And along with Randall and Gilroy is one of few girls who clear 50 metres with comfort.

Yeah fair point, I thought I’d heard her back was stuffed. If she and Duffin can get in decent condition they would lift the team a lot. I did think Jess was good this year, she just looked like she needed to regain a bit of aerobic fitness to make consecutive contests.

Jess reads the play better than anyone in the woman’s game and got herself into the right spot most times the ball went into the back half, but when the ball hit the ground she looked really slow. I think her aerobic fitness is going to improve that aspect but to what level we will have wait and see.

Some of the bigger bullocking midfielders caused us problems, Bri Davey, Karen Paxman types, I wonder if Gibbo is seen as someone who can throw a bit of weight around and keep them honest.
I've always wanted to see Aileen get a crack in the midfield, maybe in limited bursts (tank dependant) to learn the ropes, but she has the tools to be a real weapon in there.

Anyone know if we get priority access to all the tassie girls - even those older than 18
They would need to nominate only Tasmania pool and not the Vic one also

so Perri king would nominate tas cos she’s a certainty to be picked up by us and we can do so with a later pick like Mia king

They would need to nominate only Tasmania pool and not the Vic one also

so Perri king would nominate tas cos she’s a certainty to be picked up by us and we can do so with a later pick like Mia king

Thanks

Hopefully the club has had a chat to couple of those vfl players as well

North's final game of the 2021 VFLW season is this Sunday, 12pm at Trevor Barker Beach Oval, against the Saints.

Game will be live from 11am on WARFRadio.com and there will probably be a Youtube stream from 12pm.

Yes, North could *technically* make the finals, but a hell of a lot of things need to go right (inlcuding making up about 40%).

That said, the Roos can play spoiler and knock the Saints out of the Final 6, if the Dogs also beat Casey, or North have a comfortable win over the Saints and the Blues absolutely smash Williamstown (possible).

So after an exhaustive search, Geelong has given the AFLW senior coach job to a guy who used to play for them, has been a men’s assistant coach, and joined their AFLW program as an assistant half way through last year. Words fail me. I can only assume it’s a soft cap-related decision like ours.

Women’s footy is not men‘s footy. But from the top level through suburban clubs, specialist coaches in the women’s game - women and men - keep getting overlooked in favour of keeping mates in work. Everyone loves Crocks but this model is not good enough.