NMFC Board Elections

I’m not laughing at you, I agree with your premise here. It was a good post.

I have been rorting government subsidies and schemes for near on 12 years, I’ve dealt with councils repeatedly on a number of utility scale energy projects and have come to the conclusion that we need to rid ourselves (however difficult it may be) of life on the teet. It’s counter productive to the financial independence we must seek.

I don’t have the requisite skills (happy to admit that I bow down to some of you in amazement at your knowledge, others not so much) to pull something like this together, however as others have pointed out, including myself, let’s welcome people on to this board until they prove themselves to be anti-north. Let’s not just assume the worst of every single poster who rocks up and barrel them into submission. I hate the pack mindset. It’s beneath all of us.

On a side note, I’d assume the ‘white knights’ would be more interested in investing into building an asset base, not just an overdraft facility. I know that’s how my brain works which explains my good meaning but ultimately flawed concept.

I've come to the conclusion that we need to do some drafting like other teams have and get classy, quick three time premiership winning mids like Simon Black for a third round pick too.

The key vulnerability for footy clubs is debt - the AFL can refuse to guarantee it. We're debt free, and that's probably the only thing keeping us out of Tassie.

You want to borrow tens of millions of dollars to buy land we could get for free with some decent gov relations work.

Sorry mate, you're talking through your arse here.

I've been watching this thread go by as a lurker who saw the link shared by TheTruthNMFC on Twitter. The whole thread reminds me why I dabbled in and dabbled out of BigFooty pretty quickly a while ago.

Snake... Snake...

You really have no idea. You met Sonja once (glad you finally got her name right, it's with a j, not an i or a y) and you claim to have summed up her whole ethos in a second.

I've known her since Uni days. She's beholden to no one. She has a fierce intellect, the likes of which you can only dream about. She's brave. She bleeds royal blue and white.

Don't vote for her if you don't want to. But don't criticise her when you don't know her.

You're committing the very grandstanding you're attacking Tef for.

While I've only heard positives about Sonja from those who know her, Snake is within his rights to critique her role and possible input within the board based on what is known about her in the public domain.

Your post is based on personal observation just as his is.

While I've only heard positives about Sonja from those who know her, Snake is within his rights to critique her role and possible input within the board based on what is know about her in the public domain.

Thanks for the common sense input KC.

Again, I stated that I view her as a decent person, it's just that it's also my view that she's primarily a political animal, and that those politics serve no useful purpose for the NMFC.

That's it.

If this makes me a Nazi flag waving misogynist, then so be it. Sieg Heil!!!

Thanks for the common sense input KC.

Again, I stated that I view her as a decent person, it's just that it's also my view that she's primarily a political animal, and that those politics serve no useful purpose for the NMFC.

That's it.

If this makes me a Nazi flag waving misogynist, then so be it. Sieg Heil!!!

Social politics aside, any man, woman or child appointed to the board by the chairman who's directly linked to a major club benefactor can at least be assumed as being aligned to those "factions".

Sonja's background with Roosistence provides a strong character witness as to her leaning re club direction.

However based only on recent working past and nature of appointment her validity as an independent voice hasn't been proven one way or the other yet.

Sonja's background with Roosistence provides a strong character witness as to her leaning re club direction.

This is something she has in common with basically every North supporter. It's not a special skill.

Do I think she supports North being a strong club in North Melbourne? Sure. Again, there's nothing special about this.

However, what is her primary motivation? The support she has for her football club, or the philosophies which she has dedicated the significant portion of her academic and professional career towards, which are the very same things which have also been her input at the club in previous interactions (multiculturalism & feminism)?

For me, there's a very obvious conclusion.

However based only on recent working past and nature of appointment her validity as an independent voice hasn't been proven one way or the other yet.

She is an admitted "carry on with the program" candidate, there's no doubt about that.

If a member thinks that everything has been hunky dory down at Arden Street, then they should vote for her.

Let's go to market on a platform of anti-feminism and white majority rule then.

member churn happens when members are unsatisfied with what they receive, that isn’t solved by a personal conversation (although it probably helps), it’s solved by sustained success.
Unless you are part of the member churn group then, with all due respect, you can't seriously use assumption as fact.

Because without genuine engagement with that individual, then that's all you have to work on; assumption.

I don't think that is a solid foundation to base anything on, tbh.

I do agree that success is of course an important factor, but for decades long paid up fans, it isn't the be all and end all of supporting the club.

Unless you are part of the member churn group then, with all due respect, you can't seriously use assumption as fact.

Because without genuine engagement with that individual, then that's all you have to work on; assumption.

I don't think that is a solid foundation to base anything on, tbh.

I do agree that success is of course an important factor, but for decades long paid up fans, it isn't the be all and end all of supporting the club.
Would be interesting to see some fair dinkum stats on this to see how we rate.

I recall that Hawthorn, in the 90s, had a strategic objective to get their churn rate down from around 20% to 10%.
I understand that around 20% was common for Melbourne based clubs in the 90s.

While I've only heard positives about Sonja from those who know her, Snake is within his rights to critique her role and possible input within the board based on what is known about her in the public domain.

There was no mention of grandstanding by Ben Browns haircut, and I think that's an inaccurate assessment of that post.

There was simply a defence of Sonja's character and motivations which Tef besmirched based on a belaboured, dogmatic view about 'feminist' and other 'social justice' issues. BBsH comments were offered based on a more longstanding and grounded personal knowledge of her, which Tef admits to not having beyond having met her once.

Yes, Tef has the right to offer his opinion, and BBs H has a right to refute it, with more 'evidence' than Tef and, arguably, with less of an axe to grind.

There was no mention of grandstanding by Ben Browns haircut, and I think that's an inaccurate assessment of that post.

There was simply a defence of Sonja's character and motivations which Tef besmirched based on a belaboured, dogmatic view about 'feminist' and other 'social justice' issues. BBsH comments were offered based on a more longstanding and grounded personal knowledge of her, which Tef admits to not having beyond having met her once.

Yes, Tef has the right to offer his opinion, and BBs H has a right to refute it, with more 'evidence' than Tef and, arguably, with less of an axe to grind.

Agree with that partly but the crack about Tef and Sonja's comparative intellects cheapened it but nobody pulled that up because they liked its direction.

The rest of the post was reasoned enough whether or not you were to agree with it.

Agree with that partly but the crack about Tef and Sonja's comparative intellects cheapened it but nobody pulled that up because they liked its direction.

The rest of the post was reasoned enough whether or not you were to agree with it.
You choose to highlight a portion of someone's post in which they 'cheapen' things by a personal comment?

Interesting, given what you let Tef get away with... perhaps because you like the direction he takes?

And herei wassure id hearda
You choose to highlight a portion of someone's post in which they 'cheapen' things by a personal comment?

Interesting, given what you let Tef get away with... perhaps because you like the direction he takes?
Let getaway with, actively encourage... whichever.

He's got a point though mate.

Without wanting to drift right down individual poster lane, the post in question was taking somewhat high moral ground then threw in a personal insult that would've seemed to put them on the same level as their target.

They're entitled to do so but it seemed inconsistent. I think it would've been effective if they refuted Tef by citing their personal experience with Sonja (only) and left it there for people to draw their own conclusion.

If you or Kimbo feel that spells out some sort of agenda then that's your prerogative.

Weaker than Dyson Heppell's attempt to the contest the footy in his first game.

Would be interesting to see some fair dinkum stats on this to see how we rate.
Also when we do the huge membership drives, some people buy two or three. Or buy them for other people . Or their pets.

These drives inflate total membership for one year, but it can't be relied on.

Social politics aside, any man, woman or child appointed to the board by the chairman who's directly linked to a major club benefactor can at least be assumed as being aligned to those "factions".

Is Paul part of a faction then? Or genuine independent/making his own faction?

I'm not too sure how popular the Crapper North Melbourne faction would be.

Is Paul part of a faction then? Or genuine independent/making his own faction?

I'm not too sure how popular the Crapper North Melbourne faction would be.

OMG read his LinkedIn!

What factions?

This is a stupid way to look at things.

We have effectively got 2 options and one of them involves relocation, collocation or effectively the death of the club.

The other one is pretty clear.

On field success - ie flags, increased membership, consolidate our position in Melb. Otherwise keep doing what else we are doing.

NMFC Board Elections