NMFC Board Elections

Whatever happened to our long-term proposal to secure land on the other side of Fogarty Street?

Still underway.

Is council owned, almost like we need someone with strong gov relations skills on the board.

Regardless of the election, this needs to be a talking point going forward.

I have watched the A-League collapse into itself for a range of reasons over the last five years (when it was about to go supernova), because head honchos want to play in cavernous shitholes.

I go to 95% of our Melb games (home/away) - usually miss one a year through work - but while I love no lines and the abillity to sit where I want, Docklands is too goddamn big.

Frankly, everyone wants to go to the nightclub with the biggest line. The atmosphere of a packed in ground rules, and there's gotta be a medium term aim to fully explore Arden St or [third Melbourne boutique ground] as an option.

As I have said previously - there's going to be a lot of hurdles and money required from governments, but it needs to be explored.

If Arden Street may be too difficult, we should align ourselves with other Vic clubs and start lobbying for this outcome.
In what universe was the A-League about to go "supernova"?

Derbies were getting 50k attendance, ratings were high, Australia won the Asian Cup in early 2015.

There was a brief cultural moment, but ok

So if i post something unrelated or stoopid i should piss off? Mate, if that were the standard you wouldn't be allowed near the joint again. But for sake of clarity...

You have a stick up your arse about our clubs alignment to our social engagement programs driven by the Huddle because, I don't know, SJW's or something? Ok, giving you the benefit of the doubt I will say its because it distracts from winning games of football. We know why this engagement exists, and that is because Scanlon money was dependent on the club moving in this direction. We have survived as a club accordinly and have done so when putting something positive back into the community rather than sucking at the teet of pokies. I'm ok with that.

I see no evidence that the Huddle has a negative impact on football outcomes other than a corrolation between its existance and a period of not winning a flag. As a scientist I'm sure that you would not draw any conclusions between those two sets of data, right? I do see it as an important, ongoing community outreach program that makes us more attractive to local and stage govt and socially conscious companies which we can leverege for benefit. It is a branch of our club weather you like it or not and as such requires operational and strategic oversight at board level. Dr. Sonja Hood is easily the most qualified for this role given her background in this space.

I think that the majority of North members would agree that our engagement with the Huddle is a positive for the club and something that the board should continue to look to expand our club identity around. You may not, and thats fine, but you are a minority. Much like with AFLW. But being in the minority does not necessarily make the majority stupid, which you clearly think when it comes to this shit. What it does do is make you wrong, so perhaps some introspection on your behalf. Your shouting from the rooftops that th house is burning and that we are all to ******* pussified to see it is boring, dull and turning this place into an unbearable shithole.

Mr Crapper seems like a decent bloke, has some good experience in engaging with govt etc but I don't see him as having any stand out traits that would make him a must have for the board. Furthermore, his platform of being a member advocate seems a little flimsy to me. I recall reading on here that member engagement would occur via an email accout or something, which if the case is utter bullshit. If he was serious he would be advocating for something like a memberships consultative committee with him as chair that has input into board level discussions. Good on him for coming on here and engaging with fans but even after that I don't buy what he is selling. So far he has not provided much to remove my doubt that he is no more than a connected businessman looking to pad out his CV.

Now, transmission as normal please. Cuck me up or something.
A membership consultative committee - now that has the makings of a good idea. Maybe throw in some more transparency.

If the members are to have true representation then this is one way of making that happen, and functionally. The committee could be constituted from a representative from different categories of memberships (family, interstate, AFLW, reserved seating etc.) to ensure broad spectrum representation, with annual calls for nomination which are ratified at the AGM. Perhaps 2 year terms so as to give those inexperienced with committee function time to grow into the roles.

I haven't given this a great deal of thought but thats just a broad outline. That someone standing for the board on a platform of membership engagement has come up with engagement via email as their approach doesn't fill me with confidence that they have given much thought to their own nomination beyond percieved personal benefit. Nor does it fill me with faith that actual engagement is a priority.

We still need that off-the-field presence who gives us a leg up. Hawthorn has Kennett, Geelong has the Victorian government, Bulldogs have the sympathy vote.

One thing that pissed me off all summer - Brayshaw and Ponting commentating boring stages of the cricket.

Never once did they mentioned North.

As if Eddie wouldn't be all over Collingwood.

I can't stand Hot Seat and Hot Breakfast for many reasons and that's one.

They had Sids on when he retired, and whoever else was in the box - Blewett maybe? - actually said "I can't believe James Brayshaw, Ricky Ponting and Peter Siddle have been together for half and hour and not mentioned the North Melbourne Footy Club."

This shit is gold for a small profile club. Cricket is on 7 too so no worries about rivals channels.

They had Sids on when he retired, and whoever else was in the box - Belweet maybe? - actually said "I can't believe James Brayshaw, Ricky Ponting and Peter Siddle have been together for half and hour and not mentioned the North Melbourne Footy Club."

This shit is gold for a small profile club. Cricket is on 7 too so no worries about rivals channels.
Greg Blewett?

They had Sids on when he retired, and whoever else was in the box - Blewett maybe? - actually said "I can't believe James Brayshaw, Ricky Ponting and Peter Siddle have been together for half and hour and not mentioned the North Melbourne Footy Club."

Brayshaw was always incongruous on that front. Played a blokey lively persona in the media but goes over-objective mute (or worse) when North were/are concerned.

I'll never forget Siddle being in TFS audience being painfully interviewed by James. Brayshaw waited until the wrap-up to mention "oh and you're a kangas man" to which Siddle gave a look of "thought you'd never bring that up" followed by an abrupt finish.

like most people who post on here I’m rusted on. I go to every game I can.

I come from a North Melbourne family. It is hard for me to get the people I grew up with going North games to go to football these days, yet they’re all members and their kids are all North....despite the fact kids at school telling them North will be the Tasmania Kangaroos soon.
My son also gets told he follows the Tasmanian Roos at school. The stigma with playing down there does us no favours in the Melbourne market.

On SM-G950F using BigFooty.com mobile app

NMFC Board Elections