NMFC Board Elections

I agree it is probably down to a battle between Paul and Sonja.

My quick take is that Sonja and Paul both have excellent experience working across boards and dealing with a range of stakeholders, particularly Government. Will be a hard choice for me.

Thanks mate pretty decisive.

On SM-G950F using BigFooty.com mobile app
Honestly haven't decided yet. Watching this debate with interest. If election was today I would probably vote for Paul. He gets a tick by his independence, but I have some respect for Sonja and the work she is doing outside the club. Would be nice to have a member elected on the basis of questioning on behalf of the real supporters but I'm not sure if that can really be achieved. A bit like local Government. How many candidates stand on the basis of being independent and there for the people, until they get elected and realise one independent voice on a council is useless. They then spend the next years of their term planning how they can be re-elected.
Can one stand out on the NMFC board make a difference? Not sure but maybe worth a risk. Nothing much to lose.
Neither candidate is a dill from what I can see so probably can't lose either way.

I agree it is probably down to a battle between Paul and Sonja.

My quick take is that Sonja and Paul both have excellent experience working across boards and dealing with a range of stakeholders, particularly Government. Will be a hard choice for me.

Thanks all for taking the time to consider me.

Although I don’t expect to be elected, my love of the club means I am keen to offer members an electable alternative if they believe there needs to be greater member representation at Board level.

Whether people vote for me or not, I would encourage members who are on BF to actively support this important part of governance within an organisation. As it will ensure the club moves forward with confidence.

Yeah isn’t Buckleys on record as saying we wouldn’t extend the number of Home Games played on the Map from 3? And isn’t he now on record as saying we wouldn’t extend the number of Home Games we play on the Map from 4? How can you trust him? How can you trust any of them? :stern look

What can be done when the incumbents control the process?

For the 10th time, the members who allowed this are gullible people.

The poster is a personal friend of the person you are likely to be contesting the 3rd spot against. This is a designed strategy to undermine you.

Expect alt. accounts to appear out of nowhere exhibiting similar strategies in order to orchestrate a false negative consensus against you, that is aimed at manipulating the layperson who is undecided.

This website is heavily compromised as a place of honest, balanced discussion.

Paul, just wanted to say thanks for fronting up and answering questions.

While it is all good to say football should return to the people, and I agree strongly, the reality it is unfortunately the opposite.

Nothing gets done in footy without greasing the wheels, and unfortunately no one person, whoever they are, can waltz in and do their bidding in this compromised system.

What are your relationships like with AFL HQ, senior members of Fed/State Governments and ultimately members of senior footy media?

I am not talking about work relationships - I am talking about having intimate relationships with these people, for lack of a better word, that will deliver for the club and it's supporters.

We go into every argument with any party with one hand tied behind our back - how will you change that dynamic with all due respect intended - no previous senior experience in very high levels of government or footy?

Your resume is very impressive and you have had an excellent career, but it's very altruism based. Are you able to be a headkicker so to speak when it counts?

Thanks, good luck and all the very best.

Someone has told you my name on a private message and because you're a silly old boomer you've thought oooh I'll drop the R and be a big man.

Everyone here knows my name here. Lots of people here are actual real life friends.

Interestingly some Essendon supporters used to do what you just did, so congratulations on having the same mindset as the average Essendon suppprter.

From what you've posted here, it is very obvious the only person you advocate for is Paul Crapper.

Paul's experience would probably make him an effective board member.

But if there was a chance of me voting against one of the other choices, it ended when he referred to a poster by the first initial of his actual name.

Intimidatory and not cool.
For me it ended when he couldn't give direct answers to simple questions. But yes, agreed.

Paul's experience would probably make him an effective board member.

But if there was a chance of me voting against one of the other choices, it ended when he referred to a poster by the first initial of his actual name.

Intimidatory and not cool.
Someone has told you my name on a private message and because you're a silly old boomer you've thought oooh I'll drop the R and be a big man.

Everyone here knows my name here. Lots of people here are actual real life friends.

Interestingly some Essendon supporters used to do what you just did, so congratulations on having the same mindset as the average Essendon suppprter.

From what you've posted here, it is very obvious the only person you advocate for is Paul Crapper.

Sorry not sure you are correct. Simply a misinterpretation of a typo on my part. Apologies.

Please be respectful, as like you I only want the best for the club.

All the best.

I've tried to refrain from commenting to see if PC will actually provide anything in the way of a direct answer that communicates specific strategies to deal with some of the questions raised (ie; co-location or re-location, media and marketing strategies, bringing together a diverse and supporter base that is often differing in their views (only strengthened this view if this board is anything to go by) ... suffice to say I'm a little bit disappointed

I agree with YOTR in that it seems PC has used a tremendous amount of words to say not much at all

Paul, I know you mentioned the member churn as one aspect but I would be interested in knowing what you would do to grow the supporter base and attendance in Melbourne. I think this is the biggest issue facing the club.

It is difficult and club has been trying hard.

Success will be important but two way engagement rather than push communications is critical.

For me it ended when he couldn't give direct answers to simple questions. But yes, agreed.

One needs to get to know the club environment before making comments.
I've tried to refrain from commenting to see if PC will actually provide anything in the way of a direct answer that communicates specific strategies to deal with some of the questions raised (ie; co-location or re-location, media and marketing strategies, bringing together a diverse and supporter base that is often differing in their views (only strengthened this view if this board is anything to go by) ... suffice to say I'm a little bit disappointed

I agree with YOTR in that it seems PC has used a tremendous amount of words to say not much at all

Thanks I note all of your remarks.

I’m no politician, just a member stepping up to provide an alternative option on the Board if and only if people want that.

As I have said I don’t expect to be successful, but was advised to come on here to connect with people so people knew my background and why I decided to put my name out there.

Still the only candidate that has fronted here. Must be a bit of a shock to someone unfamiliar with Bigfooty. I think generally Paul has had a reasonable run although he probably thinks we have been harsh.

Paul, please keep in touch here and answer the questions that you can. I don’t think many here would question the genuineness of your candidacy and your aim to make North Melbourne Great Again. I think it would be difficult to have specific policies as you will be one vote so no point promising something you cannot deliver.

I like your answers re Tassie - tick. We all agree that we would like to be less reliant on selling games as a form of income - do you have any thoughts on that? Where do we generate the millions we need to not do that?

Board experience and governance seems a strong point - nice to have but not critical.

General experience operating at a high business level is Strong and handy.

I will continue to watch the thread with interest and thank you for taking up my invitation to engage through BF.

NMFC Board Elections