NMFC Board Elections

Paul’s nomination draws an instant tick from me as he isn’t a board invitee and hasn’t been black balled. But I will watch with interest ongoing chat before deciding where my vote will go. Paul is looking good but I am not yet locked in.

I have been a Director looking after Comms and Marketing over the last 20 years.

I work with the Lord Mayor on several matters.

Comms and marketing aren't media.

Second answer is pretty vague.

In government it is very much media.

I work with the LM on matters relating to community, homelessness and my government role.

No it isn't, judging by your LinkedIn you've managed a lot of people who actually know about media.

Anyway, I'm more interested that you raised it as a key skill when media is one of the few functions in the off-field of the club where we are actually one of, if not the best performing club.

It would seem to me the one area that doesn't need attention.

Interested to know what work you do on homelessness.

No it isn't, judging by your LinkedIn you've managed a lot of people who actually know about media.

Anyway, I'm more interested that you raised it as a key skill when media is one of the few functions in the off-field of the club where we are actually one of, if not the best performing club.

It would seem to me the one area that doesn't need attention.

Interested to know what work you do on homelessness.

I’m a Board Director of Unison Housing Ltd ....$300M in properties providing around 2,500 beds.

The best thing out of this is hearing gokangas called Tef a knuckle dragger.

Perfect!
To be clear I didn’t name names - Paul can determine who fits into which category.

After 37 years as a NMFC member and as a qualified and experienced Director, I thought I would introduce myself to the Big Footy Community following the opening of NMFC Board voting today. I’m the first person for some years to be cleared by the independent nominations committee to stand for the NMFC Board and force an election.

I’m keen to represent the “rank and file” member and ensure NMFC will always be based in Melbourne.

Look me up on LinkedIn.

Cheers
Paul

Great chatting. Will drop by BF from time to time going forward. I hope to make a difference.

Having looked at Paul's CV and read his contributions here, I'm still unclear what clear skill/experience he has that we really require and currently lack.

Certainly looks a well credential local government bureaucrat who I'm sure would be perfectly serviceable on the board.

Having looked at Paul's CV and read his contributions here, I'm still unclear what clear skill/experience he has that we really require and currently lack.

Certainly looks a well credential local government bureaucrat who I'm sure would be perfectly serviceable on the board.
Tend to agree. And I don't often come on here and laud what Tef has said, but credit to him, I reckon he had Paul pegged pretty quickly. I have never witnessed someone use so many words to say virtually nothing. I can see why the board has let him run. They want to be seen as allowing outsiders to run but are probably quite content in the knowledge that this guy is not going get voted in. And even if he by some miracle does, he won't be a 'disruptive' force.

Also warned him that some on here will take pleasure in trying to deride him.

No mate, test him. No "pleasure" in it whatsoever.

You assume I was referring to you. I am all for a vigorous discussion around what he can do for the club. If he wants to get our votes then he needs to earn them. I'm glad I could get him to connect. Rest up to him.

Imma come straight out and say that someone who on one hands talks about "media" being a strong suit who doesn't have any social media activity, well, himmmmm.

Good on him for having a dip though.

Imma come straight out and say that someone who on one hands talks about "media" being a strong suit who doesn't have any social media activity, well, himmmmm.

Good on him for having a dip though.
As a 57 year old - and I am not saying that’s everyone in this age group - it’s a preference at a personal level, surely?

So how do we vote?
If you wish to vote online, please go to www.votingservices.com.au/nmfc and follow the instructions. The first vote received from you will be counted. In order to log on, you will require your:
  • Membership Number (XXXX); and
  • Postcode or Country (if outside Australia) as it appears on the Club's Register of Members.
If you are unable to vote online, please contact the Returning Officer, Mr Andrew Harris by phone 1300 526 427 or by email membership@nmfc.com.au to arrange for you to be sent a postal ballot form. You are encouraged to utilise your voting rights as a member. Each Voting Member may only vote once. All ballots must be received prior to 6.00pm (AEDT) on Monday, February 24, 2020 to be valid.

LOL, you're assuming we had representation in the first place.

We are the "great unwashed" who exist to hand over money, show up and barrack, and then shut up beyond that point.

Yep. Could be a great candidate or another yes man. At this point, who knows?

I didn’t say representation but a door into the Club in the sense that when Heath O did come on here in the middle of January a few seasons ago, those that were on that night were able to ask anything we pleased and got some answers. It’s a pity that he left because other than the Euge drop in, there hasn’t been anyone that I know of who is associated with the Club that comes and posts.

And that’s a pity