NMFC Board Elections

Which is a job for the CEO, who the board appointed. Southern Cross Austereo is a massive company and while he was there, the joint boomed. Negotiated a billion dollar TV rights deal for a global sport too. I wasn't convinced initially, but the more I learn about the bloke and see/hear around the traps he is the exact sort of canny operator we need.

We will not be relocated and we will not be merged.

What you are indulging in hypotheticals - the fact is we are objectively in the best position we've ever been off-field.

We were a shitshow up until the 1970s, had a brief window of cash injection, and then from the mid-1980s onwards were scragging until Brayshaws, Euge, Funky et el rocked up to right the joint and run it with a careful hand.

The mistake they made was letting the footy department go as long as they did. In my view, those in that area failed and have sullied a fine job being done.

The fact the Chairman and co. put down their foot in the middle of the year and recognised many positions needed a spill is healthy.

That is why have done a complete 180 and have my support.

Upsetting the apple cart with a bunch of vague promises and statements with absolutely no roadmap to do that is not what we need now.

Relocated or Merged. The AFL will if it gets the chance.

We are in a good position compared to our recent past, but we have been shit over our recent past.

Euge was a solid contributor to our future - Didn't the Board push him out?

The Football Dept has been an issue that now has been addressed. Hopefully, the new team will lift our onfield performance. But success onfield hasn't automatically lead to a dramatic improvement in our membership nor game day attendances.

I don't see one new member of the Board as "upsetting the applecart". Surely they are not that precious nor thin-skinned.

The bottom line for me is that it's our image across the broader AFL community that is holding us back and some fresh ideas will help.

For the record, I have dealt with Sonya and view her as a positive contributor. I just think a new perspective is much-needed plus to show the Board that members matter. A "Pay up and shut up" view from a Board is unacceptable.

I was going to ask if he'd posted here before but it quickly became apparent the answer was no.

I can teach him how to Gif

Like this...

“This be Paul’s face having decided to come onto BigFooty.

......”

I can teach him how to Gif

Like this...

“This be Paul’s face having decided to come onto BigFooty.

......”

This be Paul coming onto BigFooty...

giphy.gif

The question for me is, do the club actually engage with those members to find out why they haven't renewed? By "engagement" I'm meaning more than just a generic template email too, I'm referring genuine personal conversation. Address that and I think you will find significantly less churn, more home town stability and a strong platform for genuine growth.

member churn happens when members are unsatisfied with what they receive, that isn’t solved by a personal conversation (although it probably helps), it’s solved by sustained success.

Reminds me of a classic thread asking how long people had been awake and his response, "were you scared?".

Yep one of the mysteries of BF. Some interesting people been and gone on here over the past 18 years. The one I wonder about is the Chiefton.

Directors as per the Constitution.
10. DIRECTORS
10.1 Appointment, removal and meetings of directors
(a) The Board may determine the number of Directors (not including alternate directors) from time to time provided that such number shall be not less than three nor more than 12. I can't find the definition of an "Alternate Director"

10.1 (g)
The Board shall have the power at any time to appoint any other person (being a Voting Member) to be a director provided that the total number of directors shall not at any time exceed the maximum number fixed by these Rules and so that any director so appointed shall hold office only until the next following general meeting of the Club and shall then be eligible for reelection. These Directors must stand at the next election.

10.1 (i) Subject to the Act, the Club may by resolution remove any director before the expiration of that person’s period of office and appoint another person in his or her stead. Doesn't appear that a person so appointed must stand at the next election i.e. appears to be there for the remainder of the removed Directors 3 years.

All very fair, reasonable and democratic.

Bridget McKenzie would like this surely

member churn happens when members are unsatisfied with what they receive, that isn’t solved by a personal conversation (although it probably helps), it’s solved by sustained success.
or by feeling you get good value for money. I think the club needs to look at ways of making that seem to be the case regardless of onfield results.

It’s a shame that we sit here today having to sell games, ever reliant on Tasmanian money to compete and literally have no exit strategy for if and when Hobart pulls the pin.
It’s an indictment on the board.
The company line about the football department needing reinforcing is a bunch of bullshit to justify four matches interstate each year but literally the only bloke allowing us to do that is Jeff Kennett.

It’s weak and it’s reeks of a lack of spine the club has had for decades.

I’m disappointed we have no back up option and I’m equally as disappointed the club hasn’t acknowledged this as a concern towards Melbourne members.

This is why the board is under pressure to perform. They’ve literally achieved nothing as a collective on the field where it counts other than debt reduction.

Paul’s resume and experience speaks for itself.
I’d argue he go closer to being elected selling on emotion and the heartstrings of members rather than the generic responses we received.
If you go down go down, go down fighting and come back again next time. Tame strategy for mine.

It’s a shame that we sit here today having to sell games, ever reliant on Tasmanian money to compete and literally have no exit strategy for if and when Hobart pulls the pin.
It’s an indictment on the board.
The company line about the football department needing reinforcing is a bunch of bullshit to justify four matches interstate each year but literally the only bloke allowing us to do that is Jeff Kennett.

It’s weak and it’s reeks of a lack of spine the club has had for decades.

I’m disappointed we have no back up option and I’m equally as disappointed the club hasn’t acknowledged this as a concern towards Melbourne members.

This is why the board is under pressure to perform. They’ve literally achieved nothing as a collective on the field where it counts other than debt reduction.

Paul’s resume and experience speaks for itself.
I’d argue he go closer to being elected selling on emotion and the heartstrings of members rather than the generic responses we received.
If you go down go down, go down fighting and come back again next time. Tame strategy for mine.
Agreed. Alls he had to do was come out strong on being Anti Tasmanian and he would’ve got most of our votes I reckon R. :stern look

Do we know that we actually don't have a fallback option though?
As it stands we are currently sponsored by Tasmanian interests, I don't know if the club would go about speaking of what they would do without those sponsors, it seems like it would be in our best interest to be supportive of them until they aren't in the picture.

Do we know that we actually don't have a fallback option though?
As it stands we are currently sponsored by Tasmanian interests, I don't know if the club would go about speaking of what they would do without those sponsors, it seems like it would be in our best interest to be supportive of them until they aren't in the picture.
Yeah well is the Vagueness on this issue helping us in our Primary Market? Melbourne? :stern look

It can be, when the Club finds out what members are dissatisfied with then commits to rectifying the issue if it is within its power to do so.
I was a volunteer at the Club in the early 2000s calling non renewed members. I don't recall there being a real feedback loop to the Manager. The focus was on how many signed up which usually around 5% and many of these would have joined anyway.

Sustained success will help but our image outside this forum isn't good.

I’m not laughing at you, I agree with your premise here. It was a good post.

I have been rorting government subsidies and schemes for near on 12 years, I’ve dealt with councils repeatedly on a number of utility scale energy projects and have come to the conclusion that we need to rid ourselves (however difficult it may be) of life on the teet. It’s counter productive to the financial independence we must seek.

I don’t have the requisite skills (happy to admit that I bow down to some of you in amazement at your knowledge, others not so much) to pull something like this together, however as others have pointed out, including myself, let’s welcome people on to this board until they prove themselves to be anti-north. Let’s not just assume the worst of every single poster who rocks up and barrel them into submission. I hate the pack mindset. It’s beneath all of us.

On a side note, I’d assume the ‘white knights’ would be more interested in investing into building an asset base, not just an overdraft facility. I know that’s how my brain works which explains my good meaning but ultimately flawed concept.
Arjen, we missed you.

I am of the opinion that she is a well meaning and decent person, but she is also a canny & devious political operator, and I don't for one second believe that her passion for the NMFC comes remotely close to her passions for feminism and multicultural causes, with the NMFC serving as her personal vessel for those causes.

I've been watching this thread go by as a lurker who saw the link shared by TheTruthNMFC on Twitter. The whole thread reminds me why I dabbled in and dabbled out of BigFooty pretty quickly a while ago.

Snake... Snake...

You really have no idea. You met Sonja once (glad you finally got her name right, it's with a j, not an i or a y) and you claim to have summed up her whole ethos in a second.

I've known her since Uni days. She's beholden to no one. She has a fierce intellect, the likes of which you can only dream about. She's brave. She bleeds royal blue and white.

Don't vote for her if you don't want to. But don't criticise her when you don't know her.

I've been watching this thread go by as a lurker who saw the link shared by TheTruthNMFC on Twitter. The whole thread reminds me why I dabbled in and dabbled out of BigFooty pretty quickly a while ago.

Snake... Snake...

You really have no idea. You met Sonja once (glad you finally got her name right, it's with a j, not an i or a y) and you claim to have summed up her whole ethos in a second.

I've known her since Uni days. She's beholden to no one. She has a fierce intellect, the likes of which you can only dream about. She's brave. She bleeds royal blue and white.

Don't vote for her if you don't want to. But don't criticise her when you don't know her.

Welcome back kangalicious.

In a nutshell this Arden Precicnt devolpment/ is our greatest opportunity and our greatest threat.

At its best, we become an elite sports team and drawcard for the area. One of the few AFL clubs still based in Melbournes CBD with a local population to tap in to and make our own. Something the club forefathers could only dream of.

At its worst, it becomes the aforementioned gentrified nightmare. The demand for more open space for the community, results in the club being starved and eventually forced to relinquish the lease of the ground so the Arden st Reserve can fulfill the requirements for recreation space for the booming community.

This is why we need to treat the planning process being undertaken very seriously and I’m not sure the club has been on top if as it should. Any new board member should be addressing this point as one of its top concerns.

So you reckon it's one of those crisatunity type moments?

That gentrification nightmare is a serious issue to my mind. It could be good but has the potential to be what you mentioned. Dog walks for ****wits and the only footy being played is kick to kick by kids with no idea what the ground they are standing on really means.

We need to own the place, and the narrative of the place and you're right ... We need to be aggressive about chasing that now.

So you reckon it's one of those crisatunity type moments?

That gentrification nightmare is a serious issue to my mind. It could be good but has the potential to be what you mentioned. Dog walks for *******s and the only footy being played is kick to kick by kids with no idea what the ground they are standing on really means.

We need to own the place, and the narrative of the place and you're right ... We need to be aggressive about chasing that now.

Bang on.

What is your experience with technology Paul?

You’ve listed this as an expert area but then you’re telling us here this is your first time you’ve ever used social media, apart from LinkedIn.

From a technology point of view we use the same IT company as a couple of other clubs including Richmond.

Not sure board guidance is needed here, although given you are in the crowd within Schimma Platinum always happy to have a chat about technology improvements which could be possible (data platforms at massive scale and software engineering is my bag).

I would love to see a plan B re Tassie. Looks more and more likely that Tassie will get its own team and our games will end. How do we replace that revenue? If we are not already planning that something is very wrong.

NMFC Board Elections