NMFC Board Elections

So in light of that what we really want is more communication from the admin telling us how those things are going to be achieved. Specifically.

Even that is okay. To a point.

There are clear goals wrt the footy department (flag, in three years).

They are pumping out the media wrt training, the new systems etc

I reckon that is an effort to communicate to members that they recognise the dissatisfaction many felt with Scott and that many wanted to see an improvement in training standards etc. It needs to be backed up with early success but if we get that we could see good numbers by May.

Despite the renewal pita, membership packs etc seem reasonably good.

But we need to be more proactive in terms of making ourselves a fundamental part of whatever development happens around North Melbourne, especially Arden St

And in generating new members.

We all know this. It's really a matter of how we go about it that will differentiate board members.

Without wanting to drift right down individual poster lane, the post in question was taking somewhat high moral ground then threw in a personal insult that would've seemed to put them on the same level as their target.

They're entitled to do so but it seemed inconsistent. I think it would've been effective if they refuted Tef by citing their personal experience with Sonja (only) and left it there for people to draw their own conclusion.

If you or Kimbo feel that spells out some sort of agenda then that's your prerogative.

You would reckon her personal mates would be the ones with the agenda?:D

ANY criticism MUST be SHUT DOWN IMMEDIATELY and you are a SHIT moderator for not doing that!

Yet these fruit loops have the gall to call me an extremist?

Is Paul part of a faction then? Or genuine independent/making his own faction?

I'm not too sure how popular the Crapper North Melbourne faction would be.
Is Paul part of a faction then? Or genuine independent/making his own faction?

I'm not too sure how popular the Crapper North Melbourne faction would be.

Just saw this. I’m just an independent who aims to represent members and supporters.

I'm going to vote for you in the hope you actually will be a point of difference on the board.

Besides, the board can simply bypass the process and install whoever they want anyway, so I figure that you are the only "choice" in the election.

I can see why Paul got through stage 1. Here's a fine example (5 mins with Paul Crapper):

If you could invite three people to dinner, dead or alive, and excluding family and friends, who would they be and why?
Michelle Payne - surely 2015 Australian of the year and a fine example of the “Aussie battler” and to all women in sport.

Patrick Dodson -Aboriginal leader from the Kimberley and the Father of Reconciliation in Australia.

Thomas Crapper - my ancestor who invented the plumbing for the toilet when he was 19 in response to a Royal Decree from Queen Victoria in the very early 20th century. The plumbing remains the same today.

That's as cliche as it gets. North people would have eaten up that sort of talk. What do you do if you are an old white business man? You select a minority and a female and tell everyone just how nice you are. I don't blame you because saying all the right things is what big business / politicians do. Slick as oil.

A vote for Paul is basically a vote for a business version of Chadwiko. If you're going to go down that route I'd prefer to vote Sonja because she's already one step ahead of you given the area she works in. Snake, Jean, and co. were right to be skeptical.

I'm going to vote for you in the hope you actually will be a point of difference on the board.

Besides, the board can simply bypass the process and install whoever they want anyway, so I figure that you are the only "choice" in the election.
At least you have committed unlike 'give me a job' gokangas.

On SM-G950F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Voted for Paul and am talking him up to fellow North members. We need an independent member plus need to show the Club that we are concerned re the "current closed shop" and the lack of information re the Club's long term objective.

I can see why Paul got through stage 1. Here's a fine example (5 mins with Paul Crapper):

If you could invite three people to dinner, dead or alive, and excluding family and friends, who would they be and why?
Michelle Payne - surely 2015 Australian of the year and a fine example of the “Aussie battler” and to all women in sport.

Patrick Dodson -Aboriginal leader from the Kimberley and the Father of Reconciliation in Australia.

Thomas Crapper - my ancestor who invented the plumbing for the toilet when he was 19 in response to a Royal Decree from Queen Victoria in the very early 20th century. The plumbing remains the same today.

That's as cliche as it gets. North people would have eaten up that sort of talk. What do you do if you are an old white business man? You select a minority and a female and tell everyone just how nice you are. I don't blame you because saying all the right things is what big business / politicians do. Slick as oil.

A vote for Paul is basically a vote for a business version of Chadwiko. If you're going to go down that route I'd prefer to vote Sonja because she's already one step ahead of you given the area she works in. Snake, Jean, and co. were right to be skeptical.

I reckon this one is pharro.

A fun interview this.

Pat Dodson and his business partner Paul Lane and elder Paul Briggs are mates of mine. We have had some memorable dinners together and footy together (Pat and the 2 Pauls are Essendon).

The Melbourne Cup like NMFC stays in Melbourne....still laughing at Sydney’s take of taking our cup off us....

And in relation to Thomas Crapper, I’m proud of the history. Like I am with my oldest relative who arrived in the 2nd fleet.

15 pages of a lot of Debutants posting

Regardless of the outcome, let’s hope your around come the Bye....yeh looking at you all....😐

Yep. They have come out of the woodwork big time.

All the folks who bailed because this place was "beneath them".

Democracy appears to have them bothered.

Yep. They have come out of the woodwork big time.

All the folks who bailed because this place was "beneath them".

Democracy appears to have them bothered.
Werent you gunna start your own website at one point?

Someone has told you my name on a private message and because you're a silly old boomer you've thought oooh I'll drop the R and be a big man.

Everyone here knows my name here. Lots of people here are actual real life friends.

Interestingly some Essendon supporters used to do what you just did, so congratulations on having the same mindset as the average Essendon suppprter.

From what you've posted here, it is very obvious the only person you advocate for is Paul Crapper.

More aggression than Leigh Sales on 7.30 during rating season, anyway, that’s people and why most officials would steer clear of this board.

From what I can read into what’s been written so far:
- Paul C is a Melbourne based member who sits in the crowd with the rest of us. This tells me that he shares similar frustrations to other Melbourne based supporters.
- There is a lot of frustration from Melbourne based members on a number of things but the way a 4th game was moved to Tassie being the biggest. Would be obvious that anyone who sits in the outer at Marvel is against more games or even maintaining the current 4 games, it doesn’t need to be written specifically by Paul to see that.
- So many people have wanted a person who speaks from the opinions of the outer at Marvel, it seems like one is available to vote for.

Vote the way you want, if you’re a member then it’ your right to do so.

For mine it will be a challenging call:
- I like what Paul is trying to stand for, although I’m personally not angry at the current administration.
- The fan base wanted Brad gone and Ben made it happen and has prioritized winning, should be enough for most.
- personally I love what the Scanlon family have done for North Melbourne and Sonia’s values align with mine.
- Arch is a tough one, hard not to love for what he gave the club as a player and his passion for the club post playing. But he did step away mysteriously and was involved in the extension given to Brad.

Democracy :drunk:

He's not an idiot. He's come on here with a spiel about being a man of the people. Anyone with a brain would do the same. The cliques don't because they are probably already guaranteed. Saying all the right things. Responses that have the same substance as letter from the club. You don't get through to round 2 unless you told the reviewers what they want to hear, and I guarantee it was nothing about listening to members and everything to do with growing AFLW, Huddle etc.

Playing the field. The only difference is Shitter is smart enough to know that's how you get places vs. others that think they are too good to slum it with the Big Footy types.

I think when people bring friends they are generally good natured and respectful of the fact they are sitting in a members area. I get a Premership Club membership which provides seating on level 2 from row H(I think) back. The first 6-7 rows are sold to the public and can have a lot of opposition supporters. The club should purchase the entire bay rather than having the best seat open to the public.

I’m in aisle 37 and haven’t experienced that, maybe it’s different for other rows.

Didn’t know this, but it would be interesting to know why the first rows aren’t allocated to Roos members, I’d gladly move closer but I’m torn between that and proximity to the bar and toilet facilities...

Or better yet, turn it into a 15,000 seat + 7000 standing room stadium to take back the Tassie games against low drawing clubs and rent it out to festivals, concerts and WBBL during the off-season.

Ie: think big, can always scale it back if required.

I would blow my stack with excitement if we had a 15,000 seat stadium fully sold to Roos members!

I've come to the conclusion that we need to do some drafting like other teams have and get classy, quick three time premiership winning mids like Simon Black for a third round pick too.

The key vulnerability for footy clubs is debt - the AFL can refuse to guarantee it. We're debt free, and that's probably the only thing keeping us out of Tassie.

You want to borrow tens of millions of dollars to buy land we could get for free with some decent gov relations work.

Sorry mate, you're talking through your arse here.

So in your eyes it’s preferable to continue our existence with a loaded gun pointed at our head.

We’ve eliminated our debt and that has done nothing for our image. Nothing for the rhetoric that continues to haunt us. Nothing for the general footballing public’s feeling towards our long term viability.

You are correct, getting it for free is optimal (obviously) however in the event in which that isn’t possible, what next? Just wither and die?

Yes, I know I’m talking out of my ass but how are we going to break this cycle?

I would blow my stack with excitement if we had a 15,000 seat stadium fully sold to Roos members!

It would be incredible.

We could arm the old ducks with knitting needles just like the good ole days.

I would love to see a plan B re Tassie. Looks more and more likely that Tassie will get its own team and our games will end. How do we replace that revenue? If we are not already planning that something is very wrong.

Would be surprised if there wasn’t a plan, just wouldn’t be possible to let out for what might happen with our Tassie members.

Games at Arden St, if possible, would give us the sort of profit per seat that Geelong gets.

- Arch is a tough one, hard not to love for what he gave the club as a player and his passion for the club post playing. But he did step away mysteriously and was involved in the extension given to Brad.
You know that Buckley was also involved in the extension given to Brads and Arch was heavily involved in the removal of Brads? :stern look

King Corey said:
While I've only heard positives about Sonja from those who know her, Snake is within his rights to critique her role and possible input within the board based on what is known about her in the public domain.

Your post is based on personal observation just as his is.

Mate my post is based on 30+ years of observation. So leave your high horse at the corral, ok? As for Snake, well I reckon the BF tribe has spoken.

Snake_Baker said:
canny & devious political operator, and I don't for one second believe that her passion for the NMFC comes remotely close to her passions for feminism and multicultural causes

Said it before, will say it again.

N.
F.
I.

Democracy :drunk:

He's not an idiot. He's come on here with a spiel about being a man of the people. Anyone with a brain would do the same. The cliques don't because they are probably already guaranteed. Saying all the right things. Responses that have the same substance as letter from the club. You don't get through to round 2 unless you told the reviewers what they want to hear, and I guarantee it was nothing about listening to members and everything to do with growing AFLW, Huddle etc.

Playing the field. The only difference is Shitter is smart enough to know that's how you get places vs. others that think they are too good to slum it with the Big Footy types.

I suppose you will dissappear again when the elections is over?

NMFC Board Elections