NMFC Board Elections

While on field success is ultimately what we all want I don’t think it’s the only solution. Look at the Doggies who have been pretty good since their flag but don’t have a lot to show for it. Hawthorn is more interesting in how they have been able to turn around the rabble that place was in the mid-late 90’s to what it is now. Maybe if we all sign up our pets the AFL media will get off our case
Hawks have Eastern suburbs $$$$$$$ through a nice middle class belt

He just needs to improve his vetting process. We can all learn from this experience.

1. answer questions. If you're going to say you're the voice of the people at least be honest and not deliver political speak.
2. don't lie on your CV ("media expert")
3. Snake will throw all credibility down the drain when a woman of power runs for election - to the point of accusing people of conspiracies.
4. I'm the only person on bigfooty that doesn't know who Jean is.
5. Jean is a wannabe journalist and doesn't believe in his abilities so always tries to prove himself.

Don't forget...

6. SirAlex = pharro

If numchucks excellent sleuthing wasn't compelling enough, the avatar stands as incontrovertible proof.

Not at all. Didn't force anyone. I tracked him down and suggested he might want to come on in. He can make his own decisions. Some folk on here would never vote for him anyway so probably had little to lose. He is a big boy. Some stuff on here gets too personal for my liking but thats always the risk on an anonymous forum. Good luck to him and all candidates. At least Paul fronted. I hope we have contested elections in the future.
No worries, just a joke mate, and like my mrs, no one thinks it’s funny😁
And agreed, good luck to him and all candidates

$12k for lunch between 3 of the largest bodies (one of them the biggest Union buster) in the state, between 2009-2013 is honestly unders and shouldn't be at all shocking for people in this level of business.

I get that these lunches can be big events and the deals are worth million etc but as someone who works in a warehouse I reckon someone from this background who reckons he is representing members like me probably doesn't really get it. I don't imagine Paul struggles for a buck and would fully understand the decreasing value of the membership or how pissed people are when they have committed a weeks wages or more only to have the club stuff up their member details.

I reckon there's a reason he has survived the vetting process and that is he is much the same as the others vying for positions, which in fairness is probably necessary to fulfill the duties. That said I do like Paul's openness and resilience to stick around and answer questions when in truth I would have packed it in earlier. I would hope that if he won a seat he would return but I suspect an in house rule would be to avoid forum's like BF. I also agree with Snake that competition can only be a good thing (and every time I read Crapper I can't help but laugh).

No worries, just a joke mate, and like my mrs, no one thinks it’s funny😁
And agreed, good luck to him and all candidates
I thought it was tongue in cheek but I do get the message too. I don't know nor have I ever met Paul and I reckon he had balls to come on. There were always gonna be keyboard warriors and others with agendas who would snipe him. Will be interesting to see what % of the vote he can muster.

Paul Crapper thanks for introducing yourself here. Not a measure that many would take. Not sure your introduction has warranted some of the criticism it has received, but I do understand the idea of posters wanting people who're applying for power positions within our club to be put through the rigours.

One question I do have - and apologies if it has been answered in the last 20 pages - is what an average bloke can do to have an impact at club level? I'm a die hard North supporter, but I admit that I understand very little about what rights I have as a member. Could you explain why an average member should care about our club's AGM, and what we can do to get involved?

Again, apologies if this has been asked/answered.

For starters:

1. Grocon pulled out of Victoria after VCCC and the Emporium blockades.

2. - Construction firms aren't the developers (other than a select few, but are seperate entities) and have nothing to do with the TP submission. Most of the large apartment developers (apart from the large Super aligned firms like CBUS property) are multinationals out of Malaysia, Japan and China.

3. - They get all those objections and complaints anyway.

4. - Most radio's are banned by the major builders onsite.

5. Tens of thousands? A lot more than that.

6. A multi-billion dollar multinational developer has a little bit more sway with inner city councilors and MP's, over a football club (who's only a tenant on council owned land) with a few TP objections and noise complaints.

If Crapper suggested this, he'd lose my vote for it being very naive....

Knowing most of the directors of the major firms in this state, Collingwood, Carlton, Richmond and Essendon are getting sponsorship before us, none of the top dogs support North. Even then, there's literally no advantage to AFL sponsorship for any of the tier 1 construction firms, other than it being a personal preference. With most of the main firms now publicly listed, it isn't happening.

They are far more likely to sponsor something like the Huddle, like most industries, the top end of the construction industry is mad for cultural and sexual diversity with the government kickbacks involved atm.

Off topic, but I don’t think I’ve been on a site that doesn’t have a radio going. Tier one builders or otherwise.

Yeah, it's flaunted, but in pretty much all the majors contracts from LL, MPX, Watpac etc.

The likes of Lend Lease generally enforce it.

Yeah, it's flaunted, but in pretty much all the majors contracts from LL, MPX, Watpac etc.

The likes of Lend Lease generally enforce it.

Nah not really. They pretend to but really don’t. Lend Lease is the one of worked with most actually. The safety walks are the biggest joke though. Everyone gets prior notice and once it’s done everything just goes back to normal. The unionised sites are generally better because they put safety above productivity, but when the job gets tight it all goes out the window.

They’re all the same. It’s part of the reason we have all that cheep shit from China on the buildings. Profit over quality and safety.

Great, you quoted Glenville, do you know anything about it?

Do you know about Lacrosse, Neo 200, Marina, Lakani house, Garnock in Scotland etc also?

We also used to use asbestos, didn't wear seatbelts, put lead in paint and used cocaine and LSD for medical procedures.

Science advances, we discover updates in material sciences and chemistry and advance/adjust.

The VBA isn't responsible for Asbestosis....

Combustible cladding is called "the new asbestos" for a reason. It was legal for a long time until modern advances in testing procedures proved it highly dangerous.

We should still be using acid and coke for medical purposes.

They'd help make threads like this bearable too.

If Essendon or the Dogs did this we'd be pissing ourselves at them - hahahahahahahaha look at these chuds, they put some dud who has been knifed in the paper for pissing away taxpayer money ON THEIR BOARD !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

We'd have a ******* field day laughing at them.

I think you are wrong about this. I get what you're saying but...

Paul Crapper see this little chat between myself and numchuks:

In a nutshell this Arden Precicnt devolpment/ is our greatest opportunity and our greatest threat.

At its best, we become an elite sports team and drawcard for the area. One of the few AFL clubs still based in Melbournes CBD with a local population to tap in to and make our own. Something the club forefathers could only dream of.

At its worst, it becomes the aforementioned gentrified nightmare. The demand for more open space for the community, results in the club being starved and eventually forced to relinquish the lease of the ground so the Arden st Reserve can fulfill the requirements for recreation space for the booming community.

This is why we need to treat the planning process being undertaken very seriously and I’m not sure the club has been on top if as it should. Any new board member should be addressing this point as one of its top concerns.

So you reckon it's one of those crisatunity type moments?

That gentrification nightmare is a serious issue to my mind. It could be good but has the potential to be what you mentioned. Dog walks for *******s and the only footy being played is kick to kick by kids with no idea what the ground they are standing on really means.

We need to own the place, and the narrative of the place and you're right ... We need to be aggressive about chasing that now.

In light of that, this is what we need from the board right now...

We need our claws deep in this shit and we need to keep them in there. All this potential development needs to be as much about NMFC as about the suburb itself. Do this right and we guarantee our future and embed ourselves into the place, financially as well so we own the ground (both the footy ground and ideally other potentially profitable ground,) and so get an income out of the area's growth on top of owning our own home.

You worked in the government end of building industry and have been outed as someone who can put on a good lunch. And none of us buy that stuff about the typo but that kind of mongrel could be developed and help secure us what we need. It's not cool to do that but if you can develop the ability to be nice and nasty, use it and get your head around what we need to do to achieve what I've outlined above, for the clubs benefit, then we could probably let it slide.

So are you capable of working with Sonja and the Ben Marfia to achieve this and if so what are your plans for achieving these goals?

If you don't have plans now will you have them by the 2021 election and will you volunteer to help the help the board get on top of this stuff over the next twelve months?

Because overwhelmingly this is what the members actually need from you (whether they know it or not,) if you're gonna have a go at doing this.

Cheers.

I'm planning on running for the board next year and just want to make a few things clear:

1. I am, indeed, a crook.
2. I did have sex with Miss Lewinsky
3. I laid the foundations for the Tower of Pisa.
4. I was John Howard's bowling coach
5. I have been advising Prince Andrew on media strategy
6. I suggested the Dees sack Norm Smith
7. Me to Duck: "Stevo's missus looks pretty good tonight."
8. Vegemite iSnack 2.0? You guessed it.

This board is cooked

Try and imagine how nuts this thread would have become if Sonja Hood actually showed up and people decided to ask her some curly questions, the likes of which FC has encountered. The double standards applied around here would be clear off the charts.

Sonja's posse: YOU CAN'T ASK THAT YOU MISOGYNIST PIG!

Chad would have a nervous breakdown.

Paul Crapper thanks for introducing yourself here. Not a measure that many would take. Not sure your introduction has warranted some of the criticism it has received, but I do understand the idea of posters wanting people who're applying for power positions within our club to be put through the rigours.

One question I do have - and apologies if it has been answered in the last 20 pages - is what an average bloke can do to have an impact at club level? I'm a die hard North supporter, but I admit that I understand very little about what rights I have as a member. Could you explain why an average member should care about our club's AGM, and what we can do to get involved?

Again, apologies if this has been asked/answered.

The important thing for members and supporters is that you have an advocate on the Board who will raise your issues and concerns at the Board and openly report back to members and supporters with an outcome.

I think you are wrong about this. I get what you're saying but...

Paul Crapper see this little chat between myself and numchuks:

In light of that, this is what we need from the board right now...

We need our claws deep in this shit and we need to keep them in there. All this potential development needs to be as much about NMFC as about the suburb itself. Do this right and we guarantee our future and embed ourselves into the place, financially as well so we own the ground (both the footy ground and ideally other potentially profitable ground,) and so get an income out of the area's growth on top of owning our own home.

You worked in the government end of building industry and have been outed as someone who can put on a good lunch. And none of us buy that stuff about the typo but that kind of mongrel could be developed and help secure us what we need. It's not cool to do that but if you can develop the ability to be nice and nasty, use it and get your head around what we need to do to achieve what I've outlined above, for the clubs benefit, then we could probably let it slide.

So are you capable of working with Sonja and the Ben Marfia to achieve this and if so what are your plans for achieving these goals?

If you don't have plans now will you have them by the 2021 election and will you volunteer to help the help the board get on top of this stuff over the next twelve months?

Because overwhelmingly this is what the members actually need from you (whether they know it or not,) if you're gonna have a go at doing this.

Cheers.

I fully understand where you are coming from and I agree.

It will take time for me to get my head around the status quo, but it is an area I want to represent members on. With a focus on developing our base and ensuring NMFC’s long term, sustainable and self sufficient future as a Melbourne club.

First it will be important to examine plans, agreements and planning permits in place with the MCC and what conditions are attached to those. For all we know, there may be some conditions of what NMFC can and can’t do.

I will work with the CEO and Board members to assist in the regard, whether as a Board member or someone the Board feel they could use to assist them.

This thread is off it's head. One lesson learnt though, do not come on here when running for a position in the board.

FWIW, as a member I want the board to deliver premierships and 11 home games in Melbourne with crowds resembling that of the Boomer 427 game.

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

Also I want to vote for big e. But I need to know his position on Arnotts Shapes changing their flavours that time .
I'm planning a marshmallow flavoured one in the shape of Kevin Sheedy's head. Does that answer the question?

NMFC Board Elections