NMFC Board Elections

Anyway, moving on to Sonja Hood and her "Keep North South" historical revisionist soundbite campaign.

If this is basically the extent of her election platform, then certain issues need to be addressed.

See, what many folks have managed to overlook so far, is that Sonja herself was a significant professional beneficiary of the vacuum that existed when the shareholders handed over power to the Brayshaw board in 2007 (aka, the laughably titled "members controlled ticket").

1) Do people forget that Sonja "coincidentally" rode in to Arden Street to institute her non football related programs under the banner of the Scanlons (that is, after she had stormed the barricades of AFL house :rolleyes:)?

2) Was Sonja privvy to the fact back in 2007, that the Scanlon's were going to hold the club to ransom with regard to instituting their programs (of which Sonja was "coincidentally" at the forefront)? Does anyone seriously doubt that she wasn't?

3) Did Sonja make even the slightest reference regarding her own interests, before or during the tumult of 2007?

Many of you folks appear to underestimate Sonja's political intelligence and craftiness, but I don't. She is a VERY savvy operator. Normally this would be a good thing for the club, however her interests are NOT football related, they are Scanlon & feminist related interests. The NMFC is merely the vessel to facilitate the promotion of these non football interests.

Please don't be fooled by this St Sonja of Arden Street bullshit folks. In the absence of anything approaching any policy outlines, it is safe to predict that you are being kept in the dark. Again.

I look forward to a tweeted response (that naturally won't be forthcoming).

No Tef/Mario/Snake/whatever other name you have had, this ain't an alt account.

Vote 1 Sonja

You're a bit mental, you know that? Actually not well. Smart, inquisitive but in need of serious psychological help. Which i hope you get because you know your footy and are a good read on that, but you're so far off the deep end that you make this board unreadable at times. For all your online inquisitions a bit of introspection might be a good thing.

I think you'll find there's a significant gap between the events of 2007 and when Dr Sonja Hood was first employed by the club. She also did not work for Peter Scanlon prior to working for NMFC. As I recall, Sonja wasn't even the first executive director of the Huddle, that was the brother of Andrew Demetriou.

Google tells me I'm right about that:

That was in 2010, and Sonja replaced him some time later. So the suggestion she rode in on the wave of the relocation fight, or used that battle to take over the club appears to have just collapsed under the weight of a roll of tin foil.

But I do agree with you, Sonja is very savvy, politically intelligent and crafty. If she is elected to the board, then I look forward to seeing those skills used to advance the club's interests.

There people go again, using Google to do actual research on facts.

Finally, an adult response!

She also did not work for Peter Scanlon prior to working for NMFC.

I never stated that.

As I recall, Sonja wasn't even the first executive director of the Huddle, that was the brother of Andrew Demetriou.

Google tells me I'm right about that:

WOW, talk about strange bedfellows. This adds another completely different spin on events. Thanks for that.

That was in 2010, and Sonja replaced him some time later.

So the suggestion she rode in on the wave of the relocation fight, or used that battle to take over the club appears to have just collapsed under the weight of a roll of tin foil.

Hang on, not so fast there Jabba.

Sonja's appointment to "The Huddle" came after her appointment as "General Manager of community engagement"?

Was that just another completely "random" and "coincidental" appointment?

But I do agree with you, Sonja is very savvy, politically intelligent and crafty. If she is elected to the board, then I look forward to seeing those skills used to advance the club's interests.

Believe me, I would welcome seeing such a thing on display...............for the first time.

If you believe Sonja would have sat on her hands during Roosistence, or supported the GC move, if not for an opportunity to work with the Huddle, which didn't even exist at the time, you definitely shouldn't vote for her.

Nice distortion.

More infantile guff.

It’s not looking good Snakes. Sonja has 1,000 of her chick mates with NMFC AFLW Memberships and their votes should be enough to get her over the line. Only if there were 1,000 NMFC AFLM Memberships. The blokes might win the day. :stern look

Why wasn't any of this issue back then, when it was happening?

It seems from my read to have only blown up when the Scott era really died in the arse onfield in late 2018 and across that offseason into 2019.

Almost like some people were looking for things to blame for their disappointment.

Honestly, we're not far off historical rewriting that says Dusty would have come but for the "unicorn" stuff.

WOW, talk about strange bedfellows. This adds another completely different spin on events. Thanks for that.

James Demetriou working for NMFC didn't receive the attention at the time that it probably should have. No doubt it was a political appointment to grease the wheels at HQ but he didn't stay long and so I suspect he was unsuited to the role.

Sonja's appointment to "The Huddle" came after her appointment as "General Manager of community engagement"?

Was that just another completely "random" and "coincidental" appointment?

I just think it was a broad portfolio that included the Huddle. My understanding was that she was doing the community engagement stuff alongside overseeing the Huddle. It was the same job. Could be wrong about that though.

Believe me, I would welcome seeing such a thing on display...............for the first time.

No doubt we all agree, and whoever gets up, all we want is a stronger club, based in Melbourne, competing and winning premierships.

It’s not looking good Snakes. Sonja has 1,000 of her chick mates with NMFC AFLW Memberships and their votes should be enough to get her over the line. Only if there were 1,000 NMFC AFLM Memberships. The blokes might win the day. :stern look

AFLM memberships? Now you're poking the bear. (stern look)

James Demetriou working for NMFC didn't receive the attention at the time that it probably should have. No doubt it was a political appointment to grease the wheels at HQ but he didn't stay long and so I suspect he was unsuited to the role.

I just think it was a broad portfolio that included the Huddle. My understanding was that she was doing the community engagement stuff alongside overseeing the Huddle. It was the same job. Could be wrong about that though.

No doubt we all agree, and whoever gets up, all we want is a stronger club, based in Melbourne, competing and winning premierships.

Okay, we may not be on the same page about a few things, but I thank you for making an effort to providie an intelligent balanced response.

It's sorely missed around here these days.

2) Was Sonja privvy to the fact back in 2007, that the Scanlon's were going to hold the club to ransom with regard to instituting their programs (of which Sonja was "coincidentally" at the forefront)? Does anyone seriously doubt that she wasn't?

So this has been conclusively disproven.

Are you going to withdraw it?

Leg it or post something approaching intelligent that is related to the topic.
So if i post something unrelated or stoopid i should piss off? Mate, if that were the standard you wouldn't be allowed near the joint again. But for sake of clarity...

You have a stick up your arse about our clubs alignment to our social engagement programs driven by the Huddle because, I don't know, SJW's or something? Ok, giving you the benefit of the doubt I will say its because it distracts from winning games of football. We know why this engagement exists, and that is because Scanlon money was dependent on the club moving in this direction. We have survived as a club accordinly and have done so when putting something positive back into the community rather than sucking at the teet of pokies. I'm ok with that.

I see no evidence that the Huddle has a negative impact on football outcomes other than a corrolation between its existance and a period of not winning a flag. As a scientist I'm sure that you would not draw any conclusions between those two sets of data, right? I do see it as an important, ongoing community outreach program that makes us more attractive to local and stage govt and socially conscious companies which we can leverege for benefit. It is a branch of our club weather you like it or not and as such requires operational and strategic oversight at board level. Dr. Sonja Hood is easily the most qualified for this role given her background in this space.

I think that the majority of North members would agree that our engagement with the Huddle is a positive for the club and something that the board should continue to look to expand our club identity around. You may not, and thats fine, but you are a minority. Much like with AFLW. But being in the minority does not necessarily make the majority stupid, which you clearly think when it comes to this shit. What it does do is make you wrong, so perhaps some introspection on your behalf. Your shouting from the rooftops that th house is burning and that we are all to ****ing pussified to see it is boring, dull and turning this place into an unbearable shithole.

Mr Crapper seems like a decent bloke, has some good experience in engaging with govt etc but I don't see him as having any stand out traits that would make him a must have for the board. Furthermore, his platform of being a member advocate seems a little flimsy to me. I recall reading on here that member engagement would occur via an email accout or something, which if the case is utter bullshit. If he was serious he would be advocating for something like a memberships consultative committee with him as chair that has input into board level discussions. Good on him for coming on here and engaging with fans but even after that I don't buy what he is selling. So far he has not provided much to remove my doubt that he is no more than a connected businessman looking to pad out his CV.

Now, transmission as normal please. Cuck me up or something.

NMFC Board Elections