NMFC Board Elections

Yeah mate, history shows us that keeping North solvent and in Melbourne is a piece of piss.

Also keeping us away from needing additional AFL assistance this year despite everything that has happened is a herculean effort.

But hey, maybe if we got some "real football people" in we could magically go back to the 1990s when footy was one on one, there were no academies and most recruiting departments were one bloke on his lunch break. Then we could just go back to winning flags again.

When did you decide that acting stupid was a good fashion choice?

You carry on like this lot are only in charge of running chook raffles.

The herculean effort the club have undertaken despite the shitshow luck we've had this year is nothing short of unreal.

It's not easy to reshuffle the deck and plan ahead while all the lights in cockpit are flashing and screaming at you due to the one in a hundred year catastrophic event. Ask anyone who is remotely near running a business at the moment.

I'd vote for you. #GBSforboard

I cannot stress how terrible this actually would be for the club in real life.

Mine wouldn't. (well I'd hope not!)

I'm a Tasmanian.

That in itself I think brings a difference to the NMFC Board outside just dealing with "the Premier".

I don't believe job title and wealth should be a factor on a deserving candidate.

I believe North should reduce games depending on our financial position. If not we remain and use that money to build.

However, especially in Covid times, I thing slow and steady - if Tassie dont come to our needs, we move forward.

Also keeping us away from needing additional AFL assistance this year despite everything that has happened is a herculean effort.

But hey, maybe if we got some "real football people" in we could magically go back to the 1990s when footy was one on one, there were no academies and most recruiting departments were one bloke on his lunch break. Then we could just go back to winning flags again.

I would have thought John Blakey was as close to a Real Football Person as you could get, but apparently not.

Have to say that I agree it seems like a string of poor decisions by the club. How much of that falls on the board I’m not sure.

1: re-appointing Scott in 2018 only to fire him the following year, paying out hundreds of thousands of dollars
2: same with Joyce and Tudor
3: claiming no rebuild was needed in 2019, only to commence one in 2020.

That said, it would seem that despite themselves they have done a good job with the clubs finances.

1. Scott's re-appointment was by the JB/Dilena team
2. same as 1.
3. I don't think we are rebuilding*

* I think a rebuild is when you have achieved success and then start getting rid of valuable players in the pursuit of a new generation, ie something Hawthorn is doing. What we are doing is normal list management.

We are equal last on the ladder whilst trying to win with a mature team, we aren't rebuilding, we just weren't very good and by very good I mean play with a kind of consistency. We have some good games, but a lot of bad games too.

What is causing the inconsistency? Players with questionable priorities? Injury ravaged players who can't string games together? Defenders who consistently leak soft goals through poor kicking and basic decision making/execution? Lack of leadership, particularly when the chips are down? A lack of people willing to throw their body into the contests? There are a lot of little things that aren't producing results and we just need to clean up the rough edges.

I think we liked the good parts of how we played in the second half of last year. We had a lot of issues this year, injuries, form, being stuck in Queensland for 3/4 of the season. That pressure tested the resolve of players and cracks started to show.

To me, it seems like the club is cleaning up what they believe to be weaknesses in our squad, our best 22 on paper is still a mature team. We have some good young talent, but it still need a quality mature team to do well.

Defenders/defensive position players: Macmillan(errors), Daw(cooked), Pittard(errors), Jacobs(cooked), Ahern(didn't show enough), Williams(errors), Durdin(didn't show enough)
Others: Wood(didn't show enough), Crocker(didn't see anything), Hosie(didn't show enough), Murphy(didn't show enough)

A number of these guys are stiff, but you can't keep guys around forever. I think we have a few, not a whole lot, who are lucky they didn't come out of contract. Unless there is a spectacular improvement I would expect end of 2021 to round-out changes with Hall, Atley, Campbell, Walker J., Tyson, maybe Garner if he can't stay on the park, maybe EVW.

I think we will still target a few mature players come the trade period, perhaps target Wright if he wants to play with a real physical presence up forward, but I think this draft and next year will be important, but don't think the club plans to be on the down side beyond next year. I think we could also trade in a future pick from 2022 into 2021 which looks a strong mid draft, try to get as much talent over the next two years to compliment what we already have. Guys like McKay, Simpkin, Zurhaar and Larkey have already been here a while, are best 22 now, the fringes need to be filled by young kids, not 25+ year old players who aren't showing a whole lot. We need to get that pressure from below going, our side has mostly been stagnant and spots filled by low ceiling players. Seeing Perez crack in the last few rounds was very pleasing and the type of return you can get from young hungry kids if you prune the side, it is what Richmond has done well, as has Collingwood.

The herculean effort the club have undertaken despite the shitshow luck we've had this year is nothing short of unreal.

............and another SLF account bites the dust.

You carry on as if these people don't ultimately control the club, but are just a bunch of sweet old retired pensioners in charge of the tuck shop.

My analogy of mindless morons from a television game show audience is bang on target.

2. same as 1.
3. I don't think we are rebuilding*

* I think a rebuild is when you have achieved success and then start getting rid of valuable players in the pursuit of a new generation, ie something Hawthorn is doing. What we are doing is normal list management.

We are equal last on the ladder whilst trying to win with a mature team, we aren't rebuilding, we just weren't very good and by very good I mean play with a kind of consistency. We have some good games, but a lot of bad games too.

What is causing the inconsistency? Players with questionable priorities? Injury ravaged players who can't string games together? Defenders who consistently leak soft goals through poor kicking and basic decision making/execution? Lack of leadership, particularly when the chips are down? A lack of people willing to throw their body into the contests? There are a lot of little things that aren't producing results and we just need to clean up the rough edges.

I think we liked the good parts of how we played in the second half of last year. We had a lot of issues this year, injuries, form, being stuck in Queensland for 3/4 of the season. That pressure tested the resolve of players and cracks started to show.

To me, it seems like the club is cleaning up what they believe to be weaknesses in our squad, our best 22 on paper is still a mature team. We have some good young talent, but it still need a quality mature team to do well.

Defenders/defensive position players: Macmillan(errors), Daw(cooked), Pittard(errors), Jacobs(cooked), Ahern(didn't show enough), Williams(errors), Durdin(didn't show enough)
Others: Wood(didn't show enough), Crocker(didn't see anything), Hosie(didn't show enough), Murphy(didn't show enough)

A number of these guys are stiff, but you can't keep guys around forever. I think we have a few, not a whole lot, who are lucky they didn't come out of contract. Unless there is a spectacular improvement I would expect end of 2021 to round-out changes with Hall, Atley, Campbell, Walker J., Tyson, maybe Garner if he can't stay on the park, maybe EVW.

I think we will still target a few mature players come the trade period, perhaps target Wright if he wants to play with a real physical presence up forward, but I think this draft and next year will be important, but don't think the club plans to be on the down side beyond next year. I think we could also trade in a future pick from 2022 into 2021 which looks a strong mid draft, try to get as much talent over the next two years to compliment what we already have. Guys like McKay, Simpkin, Zurhaar and Larkey have already been here a while, are best 22 now, the fringes need to be filled by young kids, not 25+ year old players who aren't showing a whole lot. We need to get that pressure from below going, our side has mostly been stagnant and spots filled by low ceiling players. Seeing Perez crack in the last few rounds was very pleasing and the type of return you can get from young hungry kids if you prune the side, it is what Richmond has done well, as has Collingwood.
You need to send Lloyd a link to this post to educate himself before opening his trap

Hey Snakes, are we going to have the annual pantomime where you spend all pre-season banging on about how you're "not buying a membership until the club changes x, y, z ..." and then when discounted memberships are offered on SEN's annual North Membership Day, you go the full "Shut up and take my money!"?

Let's get this straight, I do not support the board of the NMFC or any other thing about the place, aside from the 40 odd blokes on the AFL list.

........and I am FAR from alone with that mindset.

I have forked over multiple tens of thousand's over the years, but that has all ceased now.

If I decide to be a financial member in 2021, I can assure you that I won't be forking over a cent until the AFLW farce has been run & done either, because I don't have the slightest doubt that AFL members money is discretely diverted by this board in to propping up that bullshit.

Screenshot_20200214-105959.png
I told you this back in Feb but I guess you don't listen to things that disturb your worldview.. but the afl pays teams with an aflw side a distribution that covers expenses.

Mine wouldn't. (well I'd hope not!)

I'm a Tasmanian.

That in itself I think brings a difference to the NMFC Board outside just dealing with "the Premier".

I don't believe job title and wealth should be a factor on a deserving candidate.

I believe North should reduce games depending on our financial position. If not we remain and use that money to build.

However, especially in Covid times, I thing slow and steady - if Tassie dont come to our needs, we move forward.
When you nominate, are you ready for SLF's grilling?

It must be exhausting being so angry and paranoid all the time.

Gonna pull you up with fact checks there Tas

Buckley becomes chairman
Oct 20, 2016, 6:01pm :
https://www.nmfc.com.au/news/318912/buckley-norths-new-chairman

To our loyal members,
This afternoon, we will announce some exciting news; Brad Scott has accepted a two-year contract extension taking him through to the end of 2020.
Led by CEO and Managing Director, Carl Dilena together with myself, Glenn Archer and Cameron Joyce, a review process was recently undertaken and after discussions with Brad, we all agreed this was the best way forward.
We are of the strong view Brad is one of the best coaches in the AFL and know he is the right person to lead us back to the finals. .....
Regards,
Ben Buckley
Chairman

Brad Scott extended
Aug 30, 2017, 2:17pm
https://www.nmfc.com.au/news/284492/ben-buckley-on-brad-scott

2. same as 1.

Suspect this was the same but couldn't find a reference.

............and another SLF account bites the dust.

So you accuse me of being someone else entirely and refuse to acknowledge any of my points. Very cool debating strategy!

You carry on as if these people don't ultimately control the club, but are just a bunch of sweet old retired pensioners in charge of the tuck shop.

My analogy of mindless morons from a television game show audience is bang on target.
And what have they done wrong this year?

NMFC Board Elections