News NMFC & Tassie (the mass debate re our future there, the academy, attending advice)

NORTH MELBOURNE

A change of chief executive prompted North Melbourne to create a fresh strategic plan, believed to be three years in duration. It is yet to be completed and ratified by the board, but will include plans for Tasmania and Arden Street.

NORTH MELBOURNE

A change of chief executive prompted North Melbourne to create a fresh strategic plan, believed to be three years in duration. It is yet to be completed and ratified by the board, but will include plans for Tasmania and Arden Street.

Did the Club ever release the previous strategic plan?

As you'd well know Ferbs it isn't that simple.

Tas Labor wanted basically that outside the Casino (out of all pubs and clubs) and the people voted - massive kickback when looked favourites to take over from Tas Liberal.

The exact comment you said lost them the election (Rebecca White is fantastic) - but got badly ahead of herself as Labor new leader and it scorched her (she's married to a top St Virgils guy year below me btw. They are in my Electorate)

I personally dislike Pokies too but they provide an income to many employees and families. Sure they destroy lives, they also provide a living for many.

Maybe it needs a step by step approach to reach the end you suggest.

I used to play footy in Nimbin, with guys who'd sell weed on the street there so back then they always had a massive disposable income. I watched a guy put 1200 bucks thru one night, and in the course of that he won back about 1 k of that including $800 in a single game.

The next training he was telling us how he won $800 bucks on the pokies that night and he really believed it. He couldn't remember losing the rest of the money. I've tranced out trying to talk to people playing them before too. It's creepy as.

What's worse is the way some kids games on devices use the same sound and light structure ... It's like they're pre programming kids (a percentage of those playing the games) to be attracted to pokies.

I think they suck but I'm ahead on them so I don't put money in them. It's not my problem except when I visit Sydney or Melbourne and all the good live venues from the 90s are full of the campaigners.

NORTH MELBOURNE

That whole article is full of vague rubbish. I doubt the journalist has seen more than 4 or 5 actual strategic plans from clubs. The rest is just guesswork.

If it’s for 3 years would it be reasonable to think that it involves an exit strategy?
Wouldn't think so.

If anything it will be doubling down, both at Arden Street and on The Map.

Just how that looks exactly is anybody's guess.

Did the Club ever release the previous strategic plan?

Not sure. Obviously though I'm sure it would have included not winning Grand Finals, sacking its coach after a debacle of a season and stealing games from Victorian members amongst it lofty goals.

I understand the concept of 'selling games' to other locations but the idea that a professional sporting team can coexist in 2 cities is just nonsense.

I don't know of any team at the highest level of their sport that attempts to exist in 2 different states/locations.

The incumbents (ie Melbourne based supporters) feel let down because they are massive gaps in home games and the new location never buys in because they haven't created their own identity. Hence why our attendance at Melbourne based games and Hobart s terrible.

From a players perspective it creates additional travel and complexity to serve 2 homes.

Colocation is such a ridiculous notion that it should be dismissed by the current CEO in his business plan.

The 3 year plan must be a catalyst for the gradual exit from Hobart but the mid 20's.

I understand the concept of 'selling games' to other locations but the idea that a professional sporting team can coexist in 2 cities is just nonsense.

I don't know of any team at the highest level of their sport that attempts to exist in 2 different states/locations.

The incumbents (ie Melbourne based supporters) feel let down because they are massive gaps in home games and the new location never buys in because they haven't created their own identity. Hence why our attendance at Melbourne based games and Hobart s terrible.

From a players perspective it creates additional travel and complexity to serve 2 homes.

Colocation is such a ridiculous notion that it should be dismissed by the current CEO in his business plan.

The 3 year plan must be a catalyst for the gradual exit from Hobart but the mid 20's.

Agree. This is why as game on-selling venues Ballarat and Canberra were the best choices.

Both geographically accessibly enough to link to the club, neither with any potential to enter the AFL as clubs or genuinely seek co-location status.

IF we accept selling games as a financial necessity (for risk/reward I don't, but putting that aside..), Sydney was a misstep, Canberra a correction and then Gold Coast (myriad of much discussed negative factors) and seemingly Hobart tracked us back in the wrong direction for different reasons.

At least Tasmania are out in the open now with their intentions and the AFL for whatever reason seem open to adding another franchise to their GC, Syd, BL, GWS underwritten stable. So Amarfio has the benefit of strategising with a clear mind rather than having hedge for both $$ and club identity simultaneously.

Spot on

On SM-G950F using BigFooty.com mobile app

So if the Tasmanian arrangement ends, what becomes of the AFLW side? Turns into a true NMFC side?, a stand-alone tas side or a hawks side?