No AFL team for Tasmania, league boss Gillon McLachlan announces

Sponsorships ARE meant to last as long as possible. Look at Ford with Geelong. That started 1n 1925! & is one of the oldest sports sponsorships in the World. So Its cheaper to keep them, than change regularly.

Given the AFLs moral dilemma with gambling, I'd take Government support as an arm of its approach to Tourism any time. You say its unsustainable but offer no reason why it would. Just a negative opinion. (see Ford above!)

The Government would continue with such support as it sees both an economic benefit of the money staying in Tasmania & encouraging tourism, as well as the community benefit of having our own team based in the state.
I wouldn't ignore the fact it would be very likely to be a popular move in Tasmania either.

For many of us yes. Some anti-sport types would immediately start the 'spend it all on health' thing.

That ignores the reason the Government would support the club in the first place. The fact it'd be part of state tourism, also the social & community benefits of having some elite sportsmen interact in the community & inspire participation levels. All the stuff other states benefit from.

Interesting quotes from part of an Age article. Source: https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl...for-a-tasmanian-afl-team-20190322-p516mb.html
'No longer if but when': Push grows for a Tasmanian AFL team

The Tasmanian government is rallying a powerful group of corporate and sporting heavyweights charged to transition Hawthorn and North Melbourne out of the island state and to establish its own AFL club by 2026.
The AFL is privately endorsing the project, which is being driven by Tasmanian Treasurer Peter Gutwein, who told The Age: "The time is right. It’s no longer a matter of if but when. In my view this should occur in the next five to seven years."

The AFL advice is that the state would require at least 50,000 members and an initial commitment of $40 million to enter the league.

Tasmania boasts 91,000 members across the 18 AFL clubs and contributes an estimated combined $10 million to the Hawks and the Kangaroos.

With the project team to be paid by the state government and unveiled before the 2019 Tasmanian budget in May and as early as next month, the government is putting the finishing touches to a framework required to establish an AFL team.
That framework includes:

• 50,000 members
  • A capital commitment of $40 million
  • A unified Tasmanian football community
  • AFL-standard venues
  • Increasing the Australian rules talent pool from junior ranks through to double-figure representation in the AFL
  • Designing a "respectful" exit strategy for Hawthorn and North Melbourne.
Gutwein indicated that the project group would work towards the team playing AFL games in both Hobart and Launceston.

Of course no 'new' club has ever had to start with what the AFL CEO has listed. Some never will.

A unified football community. Like where else is that seen? Maybe Barcelona!!!

'Design a respectful exit strategy! WHAT! They have a contract, then they won't. What else???

We have 2 AFL standard venues, What else?

Increase the talent pool. It has shrunk in the first place because the AFL do SFA work in communities & have let the game here rot.

I wonder if the AFL are trying to nobble the process by trying to give Tassie an impossible task?

50,000 members is a big ask when the two stadiums only have around 20K capacity each. And heck, not even established teams like St Kilda, Melbourne, Bulldogs, or North have 50,000 members.

Anyway, I reckon Tassie will get creative and figure out a way to make it happen.

Of course no 'new' club has ever had to start with what the AFL CEO has listed. Some never will.

Some ‘old’ clubs haven’t got that either! :)

A unified football community. Like where else is that seen? Maybe Barcelona!!!

I reckon that’s a good thing. If a Tassie team is to be viable, Tassie needs to be unified behind it. You can’t have a healthy footy community made up of people who are like me (A Collingwood supporter who lives in Sydney) who enjoy the luxury of their footy team coming to town, but doesn’t put any support into the local team(s).

I think back to St Kilda’s original application for an AFLW licence. They launched a large social media campaign featuring famous St Kilda supporters from around the world. They created a mascot. They set up trestle tables at the local shopping centres to promote the idea and collect signatures. It was a very slick campaign (it beggared belief that St Kilda missed out on the license whereas my team did bugger all and got one)

'Design a respectful exit strategy! WHAT! They have a contract, then they won't. What else???

That’s basically about folks not doing anything silly like tearing up contracts. Seems reasonable.

We have 2 AFL standard venues, What else?

Those venues will need to be maintained to AFL standard. Not unreasonable (and shouldn’t be difficult).

Increase the talent pool. It has shrunk in the first place because the AFL do SFA work in communities & have let the game here rot.

I guess that needs to change - and it will change if Tassie is serious about this. A lot of work was put into Western Sydney to grow the game at the grass roots level. I guess the AFL are implying that the same thing needs to happen in Tassie, but somebody else is going to have to pay for it.

This quote from the article is a bit worrying ...

“which is being driven by Tasmanian Treasurer Peter Gutwein, who told The Age: "The time is right. It’s no longer a matter of if but when. In my view this should occur in the next five to seven years." “

... if this becomes a party political thing, then that could really nobble it.

I wonder if the AFL are trying to nobble the process by trying to give Tassie an impossible task?

50,000 members is a big ask when the two stadiums only have around 20K capacity each. And heck, not even established teams like St Kilda, Melbourne, Bulldogs, or North have 50,000 members.

Anyway, I reckon Tassie will get creative and figure out a way to make it happen.
My dog likes football - I think I could convince him to sign up.

The more this Mclachlan fellow opens his mouth the more I think, who the hell does this clown think he is.

A club out of Tasmania is a no brainer, but Gil I think has no brain , except the one that panders to what ever money making assured thing is around no matter what it does or does not do for football, the boy will grab it. Like Gold Coast and the money spent there, and GWS
Gold Coast should go to Tasmania, it won't, but it should have.

Wouldn't you ask yourself why spend millions on GC17 when you have a football state that could easily be helped to establish and grow a big fan base not to mention the easy travel by aeroplane to Tassie every week for fans and supporters from Melbourne , THEY WOULD GO for sure! many more than those who bother to fly to the gold coast . or maybe once a year for a holiday.

So I have to ask why always NO Tasmania from Gil . If he thinks Gold Coast is some long term coming success story, then he is following a business pattern for the Gold Coast, because I bet the AFL brokers are only ever looking at where they can make a killing, money wise, GC17 might come back and bite them on the wallet if it hasn't already. For what??????????????? TV rights.
But who knows with the AFL, talk about the peoples game , and there you have the CIA styled AFL, MAKING A FORTUNE , TAKING THE GAME FROM THE PUNTER, AND NEVER THINKING IN TERMS OF TRADITION OR ANYTHING CLOSE TO "LETS DO IT FOR THE AUSSIE RULES FANS" , WHO THEY MAKE A LARGE AMOUNT OF MONEY OUT OF!
I saw a dead set mark last night watched by an umpire, called as no mark, that is one of the millions of horrendous little things that have been happening in our game for quite a few years now, that spectacle must stay in the game, that kind of call is another way in which, I anyway , see how the manipulation of the game is being transferred into the minds of umpires, through new training, to see things each and every one of them differently, you know the rest if you read my posts I have been raving for years about rules and terrible judgement and over adjudication under this CEO Mclachlan!

That non paid Collwd mark could have scored a goal, also Dangerfield dives desperately for the ball and gets pinged for "I AM NOT SURE " BUT HE WAS BAFFLED TOO, HE USUALLY GETS THE UMPS ON HIS SIDE, TERRIBLE DECISION , HOW ARE THESE UMPIRES TRAINED?????

Oh and by the way Main gets a free when a Geelong bloke accidently gets the ball out on the full from about 30 cm out??? Why is that regarded as a free, out on the full was never meant for that, why on earth and who on earth was the clown sitting in the AFL office saying everything of below the knee is a free if it goes out on the full???????? It was meant for blokes who deliberately defend by kicking the ball out of bounds , not for incidental in play accidents, but that the AFL now, it can't be just me.

Well umps are trained under the Demetriou/Mclachlan regime of fiddling to the detriment of the sport, and this bloke is blatantly saying to millions of fans you can get stuffed no team in Tassie.

Yet they spent a mint on 2 extra teams really not needed, but no Tassie, then they say we'll look at the game , with zoning open it up, hah, what happened well the ground was still half empty when someone was in attack, last night and the greyed up bulldust rules still had people tearing their hair out.

Don't you think its time the clubs and the supporters and members got the game back from this wrecker, who seems to be the god of football, to me he has screwed the game totally, and too many goals come from frees, some that just aren't there!!!!
Then his night Grand Final stance, and his mass changes can ruin the evening or afternoon of watching sport, the players are still fantastic the game still has its magnificence, but if Mclachlan is left in charge we'll be playing AFLX on a basket ball court in 10 years.

GET A TEAM IN TASSIE, You have the money Mclachlan!!!!! Then leave the building will you please!

Why would our esteemed leader want to stymie Tasmania, everytime it seems its brought up, he is a shonk, this bloke and has other interests using the AFL for money making, I think he needs sacking I seriously do. If the clubs got together they could take the running and ruining out of our Aussie rules, and get this commission and this tunnel visioned fellow out the gate!
But I bet the AFL that body , has it all tied up in legal ways, I like many do not trust the motives of this CEO, why do we need a CEO at all when clubs could all have a full voting member in a new body the Australian Football Clubs League. With a chairman .
And if you look at the AFL they say they ask the clubs and are in discussions all the time, but they are secretive and some people at different clubs don't like the goings on, with new rules and set ups, YET!!! have no say at all, only the comments from the AFL.... its been decided.

It probably makes 2 assumptions - that the majority of members will not be full memberships (i.e 5 or 6 game members) and therefore greater raw numbers are needed, and that corporate income will be low.

Rightly or wrongly, i'd expect that Tassie will be held to a higher (financial) standard than expansion clubs in NSW and Queensland or smaller Melbourne teams.

Why would our esteemed leader want to stymie Tasmania, everytime it seems its brought up, he is a shonk, this bloke and has other interests using the AFL for money making, I think he needs sacking I seriously do. If the clubs got together they could take the running and ruining out of our Aussie rules, and get this commission and this tunnel visioned fellow out the gate!
But I bet the AFL that body , has it all tied up in legal ways, I like many do not trust the motives of this CEO, why do we need a CEO at all when clubs could all have a full voting member in a new body the Australian Football Clubs League. With a chairman .
And if you look at the AFL they say they ask the clubs and are in discussions all the time, but they are secretive and some people at different clubs don't like the goings on, with new rules and set ups, YET!!! have no say at all, only the comments from the AFL.... its been decided.

Gil might be a bit of a wet noodle of a ceo but you have got to be kidding me if you think the game would be better off run by a pseudo commission that is actually just a factionalised shyt fight

The AFL commission model is global best practise....A benevolent dictatorship. It will survive a weak ceo....and even a corrupt one if that's any more that a figment of your imagination

Have a look at soccer as the alternative. What a *ingg disaster

A club out of Tasmania is a no brainer, but Gil I think has no brain , except the one that panders to what ever money making assured thing is around no matter what it does or does not do for football, the boy will grab it. Like Gold Coast and the money spent there, and GWS
Gold Coast should go to Tasmania, it won't, but it should have.

Rightly or wrongly, the AFL sees itself in competition with the other codes - it’s competing for the most fans and for the best athletes and for the best stadiums and for the best training facilities. All that requires the most $$$

Of course some fans prefer a pure community game - and that’s what the WAFL / VFL / SANFL / NEAFL are for.

When you look at the state of NRL and Soccer you can see that the AFL are actually doing well.

Pop Quiz: Who do you reckon have the most members between Sydney FC, Western Sydney Wanderers, Penrith Panthers, Manly Sea Eagles, St George Illawarra or GWS Giants?

Yep, GWS Giants.

Wouldn't you ask yourself why spend millions on GC17 when you have a football state that could easily be helped to establish and grow a big fan base not to mention the easy travel by aeroplane to Tassie every week for fans and supporters from Melbourne , THEY WOULD GO for sure! many more than those who bother to fly to the gold coast . or maybe once a year for a holiday.

Gold Coast has the same permanent population as the whole state of Tasmania. And like Tasmania, many of the AFL loving folks in GC already have a connection to an existing team. And it’s a tough ask to get them to change allegences. (You live in WA, why don’t you follow WC or Freo??? Don’t worry, I get it, I’m a Collingwood supporter who lives in Sydney)

Mistakes have been clearly made in the past, you can’t blame the AFL for wanting to learn from them.

You seem to be critical of the AFL & its CEO.

“Critical” has two definitions. Definition 2 below applies ...

critical
/ˈkrɪtɪk(ə)l/Submit
adjective
expressing adverse or disapproving comments or judgements.
"I was very critical of the previous regime"
synonyms: censorious, condemnatory, condemning, castigatory, reproving, denunciatory, deprecatory, disparaging, disapproving, scathing, criticizing, fault-finding, judgemental, negative, unfavourable, unsympathetic; More
expressing or involving an analysis of the merits and faults of a work of literature, music, or art.
"she never won the critical acclaim she sought"
synonyms: evaluative, analytic, analytical, interpretative, expository, commentative, explanatory, explicative, elucidative
"there was critical agreement among Renaissance specialists"

“Critical” has two definitions. Definition 2 below applies ...

critical
/ˈkrɪtɪk(ə)l/Submit
adjective
expressing adverse or disapproving comments or judgements.
"I was very critical of the previous regime"
synonyms: censorious, condemnatory, condemning, castigatory, reproving, denunciatory, deprecatory, disparaging, disapproving, scathing, criticizing, fault-finding, judgemental, negative, unfavourable, unsympathetic; More
expressing or involving an analysis of the merits and faults of a work of literature, music, or art.
"she never won the critical acclaim she sought"
synonyms: evaluative, analytic, analytical, interpretative, expository, commentative, explanatory, explicative, elucidative
"there was critical agreement among Renaissance specialists"

Shut up

This quote from the article is a bit worrying ...

“which is being driven by Tasmanian Treasurer Peter Gutwein, who told The Age: "The time is right. It’s no longer a matter of if but when. In my view this should occur in the next five to seven years." “

... if this becomes a party political thing, then that could really nobble it.

No, I can assure you its not. Both sides will not 'look' like they are working together, but neither will upset the apple cart. The opposition to footy are the usual non footy types who want everything to be spent on things like health. No one can ever spend enough on health. Too many people expect to be able to smoke, drink, live fried food & sit watching TV all day & then expect a free ride in the Medical system. So others like sick kids, elderly, accidents have to line up with the lifestyle sick ones. Even so, In every state you have the anti footy types.

The biggest obstacle is the historic attitude the Tasmania by the VFL/AFL. This place has always been a player nursery & a source of support for the VFL/AFL clubs.

Hopefully that will now be turned to the benefit of this place for a change instead of the dead loss & one way traffic its been to us for many decades.

IIRC pet memberships aren’t counted towards the official tally
Who's to say how human-like my pet is though? It's not like you have to provide 100 points of ID to be a member of a footy club, is it? I suspect some clubs are very much counting some dodgy memberships as genuine. It's a ridiculous bar to set for a new club - never happened before. But I think Tasmania will find a way past that one with no problem.

Rightly or wrongly, the AFL sees itself in competition with the other codes - it’s competing for the most fans and for the best athletes and for the best stadiums and for the best training facilities. All that requires the most $$$

Of course some fans prefer a pure community game - and that’s what the WAFL / VFL / SANFL / NEAFL are for.

When you look at the state of NRL and Soccer you can see that the AFL are actually doing well.

Pop Quiz: Who do you reckon have the most members between Sydney FC, Western Sydney Wanderers, Penrith Panthers, Manly Sea Eagles, St George Illawarra or GWS Giants?

Yep, GWS Giants.

Gold Coast has the same permanent population as the whole state of Tasmania. And like Tasmania, many of the AFL loving folks in GC already have a connection to an existing team. And it’s a tough ask to get them to change allegences. (You live in WA, why don’t you follow WC or Freo??? Don’t worry, I get it, I’m a Collingwood supporter who lives in Sydney)

Mistakes have been clearly made in the past, you can’t blame the AFL for wanting to learn from them.

If i lived in any other state bar vic id prob adopt a local team just for live footy.

Who's to say how human-like my pet is though? It's not like you have to provide 100 points of ID to be a member of a footy club, is it? I suspect some clubs are very much counting some dodgy memberships as genuine. It's a ridiculous bar to set for a new club - never happened before. But I think Tasmania will find a way past that one with no problem.

You have a pet human? :eek:

Agree with everything you say though :)

No, I can assure you its not. Both sides will not 'look' like they are working together, but neither will upset the apple cart. The opposition to footy are the usual non footy types who want everything to be spent on things like health. No one can ever spend enough on health. Too many people expect to be able to smoke, drink, live fried food & sit watching TV all day & then expect a free ride in the Medical system. So others like sick kids, elderly, accidents have to line up with the lifestyle sick ones. Even so, In every state you have the anti footy types.

Agree 100%. Governments be damned whatever they spend on healthcare.

Hopefully that will now be turned to the benefit of this place for a change instead of the dead loss & one way traffic its been to us for many decades.

+1