Preview No Changes vs Saints

His kicking technique has never been an issue. He is a lovely kick of the footy. Kerridge's issue was adjusting to the pace of AFL footy and his decision making. Lets not forget he has only played 15 games of AFL footy.

He will be a ripper for us. No matter how shit 2014 - one of the positives is that we are pumping games into Kerridge.
I have not seen the Sydney game as I had a wedding. I really enjoyed his Geelong game not having to worry about tagging an opponent. got lots of the ball and used it very well, I know we don't have an abundance of taggers/run with players but will be good when VB is back and can take that role of Kerridge.

As for Petrenko... yes I was wrong in stating that he wouldn't get to 50 games. However, all of the criticisms I leveled at his game have been completely validated and most posters here now hold the same opinion that I formed several years ago. Took them time to get there, but once the shine came off the toy they came around eventually.

That said, Pets had already played around 30 games by the time I started to be critical of him. I still don't understand why it took so long for the shine to wear off him (both from a supporters & selection view) given that his flaws have been so obvious for so long.

none of that is wrong. however, my opinion is that he looks a lot better behind the ball. the forward line experiment has proven to be a failure, but still reckon he'd make a decent go of it out of a back pocket. won't happen at the afc, we'll have to wait for him to get rookied elsewhere to find out.

The bolded bit is the exact part I read. At this stage you are saying Charlie Cameron is best 22 without even playing a game of AFL football.

Yeah by that I meant we need another small if we're going to go with 3 talls plus Lynch as ranging high half forward, and Cameron looks like he could fit the bill at this stage, but on the premise that he gets lots of games into him before hand so we can find out for sure. Lets face it, it won't be hard to overtake our other small forward options (Petrenko, maybe Wright).

Have you watched our first 3 games? Our entire side is full of players who are flakey liabilities who cost us at critical times. Bit harsh to just single out Petrenko for his brain snap.

He doesn't kick goals. So unless we have hordes of goal kickers sharing the load and can afford the luxury of a specialist tackler he has no place in the forward line. In fact he just doesn't have a place in the forward line full stop. Sando loves his effort face though.

none of that is wrong. however, my opinion is that he looks a lot better behind the ball. the forward line experiment has proven to be a failure, but still reckon he'd make a decent go of it out of a back pocket. won't happen at the afc, we'll have to wait for him to get rookied elsewhere to find out.
I'm not convinced that he would make a particularly good defender either. One of the defining characteristics of his game is being led to the ball by his opponent - hence the high tackle counts & low possession counts. He can get away with that in the forward line, because he is able to corall the other player and limit their ability to clear it. Being consistently led to the ball by the opposition forwards would be a recipe for disaster.

I have not seen the Sydney game as I had a wedding. I really enjoyed his Geelong game not having to worry about tagging an opponent. got lots of the ball and used it very well, I know we don't have an abundance of taggers/run with players but will be good when VB is back and can take that role of Kerridge.
Hey Bernie - was that you at Trav's wedding?

I love how people go from one end of the spectrum on a player to the complete opposite.

Out of all our rookies, Cameron seems to have the most talent and looks the most promising at this stage so far. Just because he had a quiet game on the weekend, doesn't mean he's now all of a sudden nowhere hear it. He's a small forward, this is bound to happen from time to time. He certainly didnt look out of his depth in the NAB playing against the real boys and showed signs.

In saying that we shouldn't be bringing him in right this instant. I think that spot belongs to CEY. Given Cameron half a year in the SANFL to show what he is capable of. If the signs are good, and the way that the club are headed at this stage, I reckon we throw him in the deep end and see if he floats. Set him up for a solid run at it in 2015.

I love how people go from one end of the spectrum on a player to the complete opposite.

Out of all our rookies, Cameron seems to have the most talent and looks the most promising at this stage so far. Just because he had a quiet game on the weekend, doesn't mean he's now all of a sudden nowhere hear it. He's a small forward, this is bound to happen from time to time. He certainly didnt look out of his depth in the NAB playing against the real boys and showed signs.

In saying that we shouldn't be bringing him in right this instant. I think that spot belongs to CEY. Given Cameron half a year in the SANFL to show what he is capable of. If the signs are good, and the way that the club are headed at this stage, I reckon we throw him in the deep end and see if he floats. Set him up for a solid run at it in 2015.
Yep - if only St Kilda had taken the same approach with Templeton who came out of the same rookie draft.

They gambled on youth and after 0 VFL games all he has managed is;

#1 ranked first year player for goal assists

#2 ranked first year player for I50

#4 ranked first year player for goals scored

# 18 player overall for goal assists

So anyway yes, let's do the fabled AFC safety first 3000 SANFL games to get him ready.

Yep - if only St Kilda had taken the same approach with Templeton who came out of the same rookie draft.

They gambled on youth and after 0 VFL games all he has managed is;

#1 ranked first year player for goal assists

#2 ranked first year player for I50

#4 ranked first year player for goals scored

# 18 player overall for goal assists

So anyway yes, let's do the fabled AFC safety first 3000 SANFL games to get him ready.

5-10 games in the SANFL isnt going to kill anybody at this stage, cool your jets.

And also, Templeton was rated a lot higher than Cameron heading into the draft. Most had Eli going around the 30s to 40s range and yet he somehow slipped all the way to the rookie draft for reasons unknown to us.

It's really no surprise that he has adjusted better than most, and doesn't exactly mean that Cameron will follow suit.

Some positive news with Tom Lynch confirmed to return this week. Just a matter of whether thats AFL or SANFL. Good news either way.

Embarrassing that saints fans are considering this a 'danger game' as if they're expected to win easily after their wins over GWS and Melbourne. Shows how far we've fallen in three weeks and how short the memories of football fans are.

Battersby was expected to go by 25 but slipped to us - wonder if we will see him this year?

Very true. Im all for elevating rookies and seeing seeing how they go against easier opponents, or giving them the vest so they get a taste of the game.

Only problem for me is we already have Brown, Laird and Jaensch in the side, so it makes things difficult for Battersby. Cameron fills a major need for this team and despite wanting to apply his trade in the SANFL for now, I definitely wouldn't be opposed to giving him a game against Saints/GWS/Demons over the next 4 rounds.

Edit: it just hard justifying to the playing group giving Cameron a game when he was so quiet. CEY on the other hand certainly deserves a chance, and I will be pretty dissappointed if he isn't named, along with Lyons if one of our midfielders dont pull up.

Very true. Im all for elevating rookies and seeing seeing how they go against easier opponents, or giving them the vest so they get a taste of the game.

Only problem for me is we already have Brown, Laird and Jaensch in the side, so it makes things difficult for Battersby. Cameron fills a major need for this team and despite wanting to apply his trade in the SANFL for now, I definitely wouldn't be opposed to giving him a game against Saints/GWS/Demons over the next 4 rounds.

Edit: it just hard justifying to the playing group giving Cameron a game when he was so quiet. CEY on the other hand certainly deserves a chance, and I will be pretty dissappointed if he isn't named, along with Lyons if one of our midfielders dont pull up.

Someone the other day suggested moving Brown or Laird into the tagger role and dropping Battersby into their spot. I think this has merit as (apparently) Battersby is a decent defender and has excellent foot skills. Brown and Laird are both defensive enough that they could become stoppers and that then frees up Kerridge who, i think, has always looked better as an attacking player (he can tag but I feel he is more useful to our team as an attacking midfielder/half forward).

Yeah let me think who i would rather have in team McKernan or Lynch .
Could not believe end of last year those still wanted Pets in team and here we go with McKernan still waiting waiting for him to actually do something.
Lynch, all day any day ... but in the meanwhile JJ is the best alternative & McKernan better around goals than JJ. Pods can do either.

Also, when Tex & Lynch return, will depend on Tex's mobility whether better of playing 1/2 of Pods/JJ/McKernan & which one(s) we select will depend on best role for Tex (ie. deep od across HF).

PS. I wrote of Pets last year - he is just not up to AFL standard.

Lyons should have played last week ahead of Pets IMO. Can tackle & kick goals ... as well as playing on ball.

Can't have 1-D players!

I'm not convinced that he would make a particularly good defender either. One of the defining characteristics of his game is being led to the ball by his opponent - hence the high tackle counts & low possession counts. He can get away with that in the forward line, because he is able to corall the other player and limit their ability to clear it. Being consistently led to the ball by the opposition forwards would be a recipe for disaster.

I think that's because of the role that he seems to have been coached to play. he's not a defensive forward in the sense of tagging the oppositions primary play-maker off the half back flank. his role is to run around the forward line and apply pressure to any opposing player with the ball. I honestly cannot think of another forward line player who plays the same role. the best way to get in position to lay a tackle or apply a pressure act is to firstly be trying to get the ball yourself. if an opposition player get their first then you're there to tackle. if your instruction is not 'get ball first' then you're always going to be a couple of extra yards off it.

I'm very interested in finding out whether there is another 'defensive' forward out there who doesn't have a lock-down role on a single player who performs this whole of forward line defensive role each week.

Someone the other day suggested moving Brown or Laird into the tagger role and dropping Battersby into their spot. I think this has merit as (apparently) Battersby is a decent defender and has excellent foot skills. Brown and Laird are both defensive enough that they could become stoppers and that then frees up Kerridge who, i think, has always looked better as an attacking player (he can tag but I feel he is more useful to our team as an attacking midfielder/half forward).

Kerridge certainly has shown a hell of a lot more playing HFF as we saw against the Roos, and more of an attacking mid with his great display against Geelong this year.

I like the idea, and my pick would probably be Laird. The kid is an animal, who thrives on the contest and can get his hand on the ball, while also preventing his opponent from being damaging as well. Only issue there is height. Someone like Pendles or Mundy/Fyfe could take him forward and really create a mismatch.

Coaching staff would have to be alert to this and make the switch, which I have little faith in them doing so atm. Our coaching panel are slower to react to game day situations than a tranquilised mattress.

Crows are the worst offenders this season for scores from turnovers, conceding 277 points – an alarming 65 points more than the next worst club, Carlton.

Wow knew it was bad but didn't realise it was like that. 277 points in three games from turnovers...hoping it's something that can be fixed.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk

I think that's because of the role that he seems to have been coached to play. he's not a defensive forward in the sense of tagging the oppositions primary play-maker off the half back flank. his role is to run around the forward line and apply pressure to any opposing player with the ball. I honestly cannot think of another forward line player who plays the same role. the best way to get in position to lay a tackle or apply a pressure act is to firstly be trying to get the ball yourself. if an opposition player get their first then you're there to tackle. if your instruction is not 'get ball first' then you're always going to be a couple of extra yards off it.

I'm very interested in finding out whether there is another 'defensive' forward out there who doesn't have a lock-down role on a single player who performs this whole of forward line defensive role each week.
That's one way of looking at it. I choose to believe that Pets doesn't have the highest footy IQ going around and as a result isn't great at reading the ball/play (better than 98% of players going around, but not great by AFL standards). The end result is that he is constantly led to the ball by his opponent, who is better at reading the play. Pets isn't intentionally playing off his man, or second to the ball, he's just not good enough at reading the play to be first to the ball.

Wow knew it was bad but didn't realise it was like that. 277 points in three games from turnovers...hoping it's something that can be fixed.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk

easy to fix. only ever kick the ball to a player who is in at least 15m of free space. then chip sideways, chip backwards, sideways again, 20m forward at 45 degrees, sideway, backwards, long to a contest on the line. lose the stoppage, concede a goal. but it's not from a turnover, so the problem has been solved.

Preview No Changes vs Saints