No difference from last year...

Difference is Melbourne who are on par with us actually tried they ran created, tackled, we did none of that today didn't even put in an effort for the most part that's what is upsetting
They are flying high and our boys look tired. Another pre season and we will still be competitive around this mark and not just drop off. Plus Our 3 tall backs where younger. Moore back there would have been alot better. Astbury and Rance are not up to his standard yet.

I know everyone knew today would be a win to collingwood, but with all the talk from 'Dimma' saying how we will be harder at the ball etc etc listening and watching the game...it doesn't sound and look as though we are playing any better than we did at the same game last year. Jack sounds to be held in well by their defence and our defence is struggling. I hate to say it..but atm, i wouldnt mind saying we'll get done by the same margin as last year. While we've seen development coming though which we all know will give us some excitment in the upcoming years, tired or not...the boys should be giving it a red hot go, and it just doesn't look to be happening. Nahas/Polo/Rance need to go back to coburg in my opinion.
I thought we'd be safe from the wooden spoon after the past couple of weeks...but 2 poor performances continually after the other just highlights maybe the fact that we have run out of steam for the year :confused:

Nahas, Rance and Polo have only come into our side because of injuries, they are not part of our best 22 at the moment which everyone knows.

How can you say it is the same as last year, we would of lost by 100 plus if it was last year and i can pretty much guarantee that. Lets not forget we were missing Thursty, Moore, Jackson, Cotchin... two best tall defenders, big bodied midfielder who runs all day and our best midfielder.

so we are missing a couple of players and we fall miles of the pace. what does that tell ya.

since hardwick came it has never been about one yr or this yr most of us have been saying we are likely to go thru similar next yr and even into his 3rd season.
all the collingwood game has done is show how shallow the list is and how little the spread of decent players is. it showed we badly lack quality, depth, not to mention skill size and structure.

pick 3 last yr gained us martin if we had done the right thing we would have had a very good kid like bastinac as well.
if pick 4 can deliver another player of quality like martin and there is a real chance pick 4 has a real good chance of being just as good as martin we need to ensure wqe get that pick.

i have to say im dirty we really should have had picks 3 18 20 last yr,and if we just played kids orchestrated one or two losses this yr we would have had picks 4 and 6.
please dont tell me we are creating a winning culture that wont happen until we have the players capable of actually winning on a regular basis and against the good teams at full strength surely that is the aim.

Mate finishing last only gets you 1 pick in the top 10 which is pick 4.

Wow this board has gone into meltdown in the past couple weeks.

Seriously what did everyone expect? when you have 5-6 out of your best 22 and make 6 changes in 1 week with fringe players this was always going to happen.

People just need to calm down have a smoke what ever they need to do and put our season into perspective.

Yes pick 4 would be good, but like most people say that watch the kids coming through this years draft that there isn't much difference between pick 4-10 we are guaranteed a decent kid in this years draft.

And to the OP saying that there is no difference between this years team to last years, then I suggest you be a SUPPORTER and check how different our list is from last years.

J-Bowden
N-Brown
M-Coughlan
M-Richardson
K-Pettifer
J-Shulz(sp?)
D-Meyer
A-Pattison
JON

These are just some names that have retired/traded so please don't say there isn't much difference if your not interested in looking at the reason why we are in the position we are.

I thought our attack on the contest was vastly better than last year. Our skills weren't much better, but at least we attacked a bit harder for all four quarters.

I thought the only players continuing to show signs of the Wallace method were Rance and Morton (kicks backwards without really thinking it through and running around in a circle back toward the Pies goal when faced with oncoming opponents).

But as has been said we were missing the following players from what has been our best 22 this year (each of these players played in least 3 of our winning matches):

Vickery
Griffiths
Thursfield
Cotchin
White
Tambling
Jackson

That's 7 of what could be easily considered our best 22. Against the best team of the moment. What exactly were you expecting?

Cringed at the "At least we are not Essendon" thread.

How about making a game of it against opposition that they beat before we think we are better than other teams.

Kangaroos,Western Bulldogs and St Kilda.

Bit flat after the last fortnight and I had that horrid feeling that we would give Davis his confidence back.

Watching Carlton overtake West Coast after I really had my hopes up made it a crappy footy day.

well - the biggest difference is we have a side with about 6 first year players in it and about another 10 with 50 games or less:rolleyes:

We had an off game that will occur with a young side while getting the plan stable.

We are 1000% better than last season.

To the OP, if you really think we are no different to last year than you are simply blind.

Richmond lost not just because we had players missing, we lost because that team that took the park today was the youngest team in the league for the round, you take Cousins out and we would have been even younger.

Boys v Men today, the sky isnt falling. :eek:

Exactly.

Those Collingwood players are seasoned veterans.

They do have a few youngsters in but you could see it was a game of men versus cubs.

Sky aint falling down but I knew this thread would pop up.

Last year we hardly gave a yelp with more experienced players.

P.S. the blame should be squarely on the MRP.

We all well know if Jackson and Cotchin had Essendon jumpers,they both would've been playing on Saturday.

melbournes side is as young as ours, they have many kids too and they have run the pies down to the wire in 2 games this season. Stop making youth excuses

Jackson, Foley, Cotchin, Thurfield, Tambo, Griffiths, Moore, White and Vickery are in our best 22 when in form.
If they were all fit and firing on saturday the 9 to miss out would be
Browne (for Vickery), Polo (Moore), Farmer (Tambo), King (Foley), Post (Griffiths), Rance (Thursty), Nahas (White), Webberley (Jackson) and Morton (Cotchin).

melbournes side is as young as ours, they have many kids too and they have run the pies down to the wire in 2 games this season. Stop making youth excuses
look at our last 2 months and rate our form with those efforts not this week where we made 6 changes and playing the top team.

Jackson, Foley, Cotchin, Thurfield, Tambo, Griffiths, Moore, White and Vickery are in our best 22 when in form.
If they were all fit and firing on saturday the 9 to miss out would be
Browne (for Vickery), Polo (Moore), Farmer (Tambo), King (Foley), Post (Griffiths), Rance (Thursty), Nahas (White), Webberley (Jackson) and Morton (Cotchin).

Farmer and Morton not in our best 22?

Morton needs games in the team to adjust to his new role, he also didn't have blokes like Cotchin and Jackson feeding the ball out to him and he still had a good game against the pies.

Farmer has been solid down back for most of the year and really provides an attacking option coming out of defense.

No different to last year? ....

So when did you last see the tigers go 4 out of 4 or 4-5 in a run of 5 games in a season fool?
If you dont understand that there is a difference when you beat teams who are busting to be in the 8 or to be in the top 4 in games that matter and beating teams after the siren when they have busted their butts to lose then you have NFI. When did you see the tigers come back from 5 down half way through the third and beat supposed contenders in the Swans?
The deal is we had the reality check we needed to have and that keeps everyone on notice instead of what we were used to.;)

No different to last year? ....

So when did you last see the tigers go 4 out of 4 or 4-5 in a run of 5 games in a season fool?
If you dont understand that there is a difference when you beat teams who are busting to be in the 8 or to be in the top 4 in games that matter and beating teams after the siren when they have busted their butts to lose then you have NFI. When did you see the tigers come back from 5 down half way through the third and beat supposed contenders in the Swans?
The deal is we had the reality check we needed to have and that keeps everyone on notice instead of what we were used to.;)

yeah bc both freo and the swans have shown they're in sparkling form curretly

wait what?....:o

wins were good but nothing special as recent form has shown both teams are off the boil and well off the pace, as for the wins against wce and port well....

yeah bc both freo and the swans have shown they're in sparkling form curretly

wait what?....:o

wins were good but nothing special as recent form has shown both teams are off the boil and well off the pace, as for the wins against wce and port well....

yeah just ask the tankers what form the swans were in after us fool. They are well off the pace when it comes to flags. We are off the pace where they are but closing fast. ;)

Farmer and Morton not in our best 22?

Morton needs games in the team to adjust to his new role, he also didn't have blokes like Cotchin and Jackson feeding the ball out to him and he still had a good game against the pies.

Farmer has been solid down back for most of the year and really provides an attacking option coming out of defense.

I hope Morton can be a great midfielder for us, add depth and muscle but reckon at their best Jackson, Foley, Cotchin, White, Tambo, Tucky, Deledio, Cousins, Collins and Edwards are ahead of him.

Cotchin and Jackson both extractors, Foley yes I agree if he can get back to his form before he got injured is far ahead of morton.

White is nowhere near the class of Morton only advantage White has is his speed.

Tambo is best played in a role that Lids/Newman/Connors play so is not the linkman DH is looking for. In saying that though Lids can be played anywhere and will star in that role.

Cousins will retire so need to look to the future and as of now Morton is that bit of class we need.

Collins plays in the forward line roaming through the midfield.

Edwards I would put just ahead of Morton this year only because Morton has had to learn his new role and has had limited opportunities in his new role.

Collins plays in the forward line roaming through the midfield.
Collins is playing that role this year because he is too skinny to be playing 60% of the game on the ball and we need someone up forward. Apart from him Riewoldt and Nason there isnt much to get excited about.

I'm pretty excited about Taylor/Griffo and Hicks up forward on potential alone. Add Morton being rotated through there and it smells like victory to me.

Nor do I see Collins as a regular inside mid. He reminds me of the classic 'starvation corner' flanker. It's a rare gift to be able to 'sniff' the goals that he gets.

If Melbourne made 6 changes prior to the game against the Magpies do you think they would have still performed as they did?

Also Melbourne after a good few wins and close encounters, experienced the same downturn we have, this is what happens when a team has an imbalance of youth compared to experience.

I know everyone knew today would be a win to collingwood, but with all the talk from 'Dimma' saying how we will be harder at the ball etc etc listening and watching the game...it doesn't sound and look as though we are playing any better than we did at the same game last year. Jack sounds to be held in well by their defence and our defence is struggling. I hate to say it..but atm, i wouldnt mind saying we'll get done by the same margin as last year. While we've seen development coming though which we all know will give us some excitment in the upcoming years, tired or not...the boys should be giving it a red hot go, and it just doesn't look to be happening. Nahas/Polo/Rance need to go back to coburg in my opinion.
I thought we'd be safe from the wooden spoon after the past couple of weeks...but 2 poor performances continually after the other just highlights maybe the fact that we have run out of steam for the year :confused:

See ya, you would fit in with essendon at the moment.