No Fletcher, Mercuri, Misiti, Caracella, Long, Heff, Wallis, Alessio. No worries.

• Thread starter Thread starter Dan26

Granted, Hawthorn had their injury worries too and lost their captain early, but if they couldn't get within ten goals of us tonight, minus eight of our top players (nine if you count Blumfield who went off early), then they will never beat us.

I always put down the Hawthorn game at the start of any season, as a certain win. No diesrespect to Hawthorn, but we just match up well against them. The Hawks will do a reapeat of Richmond in 1995, I reckon.

In 1995, Richmond won their first seven, got thrashed by Geelong in Round 8, and ended up finishing the season with a 16-8-1 record (including finals). Hawthorn seem to be an exact replica. Both Richmond in 1995 and Hawthorn in 2001, had big winning streaks to start the season, but had very low percentages. The low percentages tells a story. It shows that neither team was really as good as their win-loss record suggested, because they weren't winning by big margins.

Hawthorn are ranked 16th (the worst in the AFL) for centre-bounce take-aways, and they will not be a genuine contender until they rectify that problem.

With all due respect to Port Adelaide (who I believe are genuine Grand Final contenders if they get two home finals) there is only one side that stands between the Bombers and the premiership - Carlton.

Hawks virtually had their best 5 players out

I believe Essendon will do an Essendon of '99. CHOKE AT THE LAST HURDLE.

DAN, you're a complete an utter w***er, like your soft actor full-forward.

Re: Hawks virtually had their best 5 players out

Originally posted by All Dud players

Who had 5 good players out? Excuses are sad Dud.....sad.
But it's even....Lloyd kicked 8 and so did Hawthorn

Re: Hawks virtually had their best 5 players out

Originally posted by All Dud players

Do I sense some bitterness? Looks like someone is jealous of our 100 goals in a season full-forward. Don't you understand that we love it when you hate us? Why you would fuel the fire and give us what we want is beyond me.

Lloydy kicked 8 but he could have kicked 12 if he didn't fall over and play for free kicks all the time. Play the ball instead of trying to get the free kick, for goodness sakes Lloydy!!

Originally posted by Dan25

Do I sense some bitterness? Looks like someone is jealous of our 100 goals in a season full-forward. Don't you understand that we love it when you hate us? Why you would fuel the fire and give us what we want is beyond me.

A Hawthorn fan jealous of a 100 goal full forward? hahaha

Dan, you've been a complete w***er at times, but that comment takes the cake.
Your Actor you call a full-forward wouldn't be fit to carry Dunstall or Hudson's bags to training!

A stat for Danny boy

Doc,

I take it you think Hawthorn are a flag contender? Is that right?

DANielle,
Hawthorn were flogged by Adelaide in RD:1 1991 by around 89 points, yet went on to easily win the premiership. Hope this stat doesn't blow all your lame arse ones out of the water.

Re: A stat for Danny boy

Originally posted by Dan's Great Auntie on his mommy's side
DANielle, Hawthorn were flogged by Adelaide in RD:1 1991 by around 89 points, yet went on to easily win the premiership. Hope this stat doesn't blow all your lame arse ones out of the water.

You've got me there. You've just proven, beyond shadow of a doubt that Hawthorn will now win the 2001 Grand Final. That loss to the Crows in 1991 is PROOF that Hawthon will rebound 10 years later from a similar thrashing by Essendon last night and win the Grand Final. What's the point playing the rest of the season, when Hawthorn have the 2001 flag all sown up? :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Yep and I know that Essendon are Chockers and there are stats to prove that.

1996- Essendon loose 2 out of three finals by 1 point.
1999 - Essendon loose another final by a point.
If you choke you always remember chocking and you choke again.

Aslong as you finish in the top 4 now you have got every chance and my top 4 is Port,Ess,Carl,Haw.

Comparing them to Richmond 95 what are you drinking. Those Tigers had never played finals before 95. There is a bit of finals experience in this Hawks line up. Just like your injuries Hawthorn's will be all cleared up by September. What happens in round 10 is all forgotten in September- sorry no stats for that.

Go the Skull !!!
J.I.T.C
THE DOC..

Re: Re: A stat for Danny boy

You've got me there. You've just proven, beyond shadow of a doubt that Hawthorn will now win the 2001 Grand Final. That loss to the Crows in 1991 is PROOF that Hawthon will rebound 10 years later from a similar thrashing by Essendon last night and win the Grand Final. What's the point playing the rest of the season, when Hawthorn have the 2001 flag all sown up? :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Well, 92 Essendon were rolled by 160 points and won a flag a year later. They were young like tonights Hawks so im not discouting us yet.

Your quick to point out your loss on your injury front Dan and quick to dismiss ours. Your best two players in Hird and Lloyd (or are they not your BEST two) played. Theirs argument that tonight Hawthorn had their Best player (Holland) out, lost their 2nd best (Crawford) early, their 3rd best (Chick) in the 2nd and their 4th (Hay) 5th Rawlings were our before the contest started. Add to that our best tagger (Woods) is six of our best out too. Your depth has been quoted often, i didnt know it extended to the three blokes in white (and tell me, of those three first quarter free kick goals, how many were deserved, im really interested if you truly believe they were soft or not).

Can i take Lloyd out and put Holland in? How about Hay then??

Not denying your missing some classy players, but so are we AND we cant afford to cover them as well as Essendon do.....yet.

I still believe that were on the right track, and that tonight was just another lesson to learn. Who had heard of Hird, Mercuri, Misti etc in 92? Most knew their names be the end of 93.

Johnson, Mcpharlin, Williams, Ries, Greene OUR Lonie. We are going to be a very good side, and its not that far away either. Remember, were equal top of the ladder as of today with only percentage difference. Theres 14 other teams who would like to be in our posistion right now.

Cheers.

Originally posted by DOC
This will be a good thread to put back up to the top when the Hawks beat the Bombers by a point in this years prelim to take on the Power in the G.F.

Go the Skull !!!
J.I.T.C
THE DOC..

I hope you enjoy that then Doc. Because Norff sure won't be there.
(PS I got a $2000.00 increase on my master card . I could buy Norff now and have change)

Granted, Hawthorn had their injury worries too and lost their captain early, but if they couldn't get within ten goals of us tonight, minus eight of our top players (nine if you count Blumfield who went off early), then they will never beat us.

I always put down the Hawthorn game at the start of any season, as a certain win. No diesrespect to Hawthorn, but we just match up well against them. The Hawks will do a reapeat of Richmond in 1995, I reckon.

In 1995, Richmond won their first seven, got thrashed by Geelong in Round 8, and ended up finishing the season with a 16-8-1 record (including finals). Hawthorn seem to be an exact replica. Both Richmond in 1995 and Hawthorn in 2001, had big winning streaks to start the season, but had very low percentages. The low percentages tells a story. It shows that neither team was really as good as their win-loss record suggested, because they weren't winning by big margins.

Hawthorn are ranked 16th (the worst in the AFL) for centre-bounce take-aways, and they will not be a genuine contender until they rectify that problem.

With all due respect to Port Adelaide (who I believe are genuine Grand Final contenders if they get two home finals) there is only one side that stands between the Bombers and the premiership - Carlton.

Lets face facts Hawthorn were never going to beat Essendon last night. It was a good reality check for Hawthorn i believe and the fact that Hawthorn were sitting on top of the ladder prior to this game says a lot about the competition. If Crawford has a long term injury then Hawthorn will just be making up the numbers in the finals.

Carlton is the one team currently who has the self belief to beat Essendon but a huge bearing will rest on Kouta and the return of Matty Allan and SOS.

Im also very confident that Collingwood will be able to challenge Essendon. The key will be whether our young team will have the self belief of being able to win by that stage.

Also Dan you said eight of your top players

Why does that include Dean Wallis ??
Why does it include Alessio ??

APA

Injuries, injuries, injuries. I sick to death of hearing about how injuries decided this match. We both had good players out, and all we learnt is that right now, Essendon had the depth to cover them.

On that performance, there is no doubt Essendon are a better side than Hawthorn. But to my mind they aren't a ten goal better side. At least half the margin can be put down to poor shooting at goal from set shots by us. I can recall four behinds and two out on the full from our key forwards, all from inside 50 in perfect conditions. Plus Barker's inept attempt to pass off when he was within range. Essendon were slotting them through from the same distance. In previous weeks we've shown we can too. But it is something we need to work on.

The other factor (and I know this will sould like whinging, but...) was free kicks in front of goal. The official stats say four and a 50 metre penalty resulted in Essendon goals. All I can say about that is that we're going to have to learn how to spoil a mark in Essendon's forward line without any part of our bodies coming into contact with any of their's, because as soon as one of their forwards is as much as brushed, he falls over and the whistle blows. :rolleyes:

That's not to take anything away from Essendon's win. It was a clear demonstration of what they can do to a side when their minds are on the job. They've lifted for the games they perceived as danger games - us, Sydney, Richmond, Port; all teams which at the time were looking very dangerous. Their team ethic makes it a moot point whether Misiti, Mercuri, Heffernan and co will actually improve them. We obviously can improve, and I hope to see the process start next week against Port.

Well done, Dons. But don't get too cocky just yet. Some of your boys looked like they'd won the Grand Final last night. There is still a lot of this season left.

Dan 15 last night showed us how useless hawthorn are...that team is worst team ive evr seen on top of a ladder in years to be honest..It does say something about the comptetion..Essendon's depth is has been proven with the loss of many of your stars...But Dan just like in 99 dont get too far ahead of yourself...Its proven a fit Kouta can beat essendon because he is the best player in competiton when fit and at his peak..So Dan i hope for sake essendon do win because if they CHOKE like previous years i would hide for 6-8 months...

Hawthorn were never going to beat Essendon...if Sheeds got Essendon out of 3rd gear last week agin Melbourne, I'll stand R00ting!!

Hawthorn will do what Collingwood did last year and pale into the distance by midseason

Sh)t Adelaide proved that.....we just couldnt kick straight.

But I disagree with you on one point...you see, I believe that that CROWS CAN STILL MAKE THE FINALS

:eek:

ANYTHING can happen in the finals, dont start counting your chickens before they hatch:p :p

Sh)t North Melbourne proved that....they just couldnt kick straight.

By finals time the Bombers wouldve played enough under the roof to softern up....ripe for the picking on the hard September grounds by the Power and the Crows!!

:cool:

And er...GO CROWS

Dan I was actually quite happy to see this. Good to see the bubble burst for Hawthorn. Essendon are easily the best team in the comp.

My only saviour and I know it is biased etc, but I like to think that apart from Carlton who beat you the only other team to give you a run for your money was Collingwood. They always seem to match up well but just can't pip you at the post. Maybe next time later this year?

Christ Dan, tone it down just a little will ya? It's still only may fer crying out loud. Here's a tip, being gracious in victory goes down far better than being obnoxious.

Grendel, good points all, but jeez, given our run so far this year give us one game where the maggots are on our side eh? :) Or is that too much to ask? :D

And Doc, yep I'll be happy if we're "chockers" again this year, chockers with premiership medals that is! ;)

Ill refrain from biting at Dans arrogance, i sincerely hopr your attitude isnt a reflection of all Essendon supporters, at least Collingwood supporters jibes are usuallly good natured, Dan no doubt Essendon are a far better team than Hawthorn at the moment, but unlike what many on this thread are trying to portray, im not embarrassed or unhappy at being 8-1 after nine rounds, gee whats Essendons record this season? The Hawks are a young emerging side who didnt respond to the Essendon pressure well at all, but they will improve and learn from that, firstly Dan you ridicule posters on making comparisons of Hawthorn games 10 years ago and bouncing back but you have no problems yourself making comparisons of Hawthorns start to the year with that of Richmonds five years ago, perhaps hypocrisy is just a trait out Essendon way! There are two ways to be a winner Dan, and until you learn to do that gracefully, you will never earn respect. Essendon were awesome and there depth is outstanding, Hawthorn are a good young side, who by the way has beaten Carlton,Collingwood.,Adelaide and the Bulldogs along the way. Perhaps Dan you dont think Holland,Hay,Rawlings,Crawford,Woods and later Chick would make much difference to the Hawthornsperformance? When i first joined bigfooty i couldnt believe all the Anti Essendon feeling and hysteria, surely we could just marvel at an outstanding team, after reading this and similar threads im fully aware as to why people react so joyously to an Essendon loss. Wouldnt a one point loss in a preliminary final from a dodgy free kick be bliss!

Absolutely Dave! I wish some (yes you Dan) would be a little bit more humble in victory! Yes we played very well given the circumstances, but as i've said many a time, premierships are not won in May.

Hope the prognosis for Blumfield is good! :confused:

Shiite Muslims!

I can handle the Bomber fans having their say on the game because they won big last night and they've earned the right to some trash talk, but the Carlton, Collingwood and Adelaide clowns can take a long walk down a short road!

Collingwood... A wonderful young side on the up, but certainly not without plenty of flaws. Hawthorn were atrocious in round one, but still won the game, as they would in all likelihood still do if both sides met at full strength.

Carlton... Solid side, but not a genuine premiership prospect. Hawthorn beat them on their own dung hill comfortably in round two despite losing its best player in the opening quarter and easing-up with wounded stars on the bench during the final quarter. After watching the Blues struggle against a slow, battling Kangaroos side trying to play a running game that is totally alien to them I wouldn't be getting too excited out Optus Oval way. A side with actual running capabilities would have been at least 12 goals up, not 5 at halftime and it would've been game over. Carlton's overt dependency on a small core group of players is well documented and there's not a lot of exciting peripheral talent coming on at this stage.

Adelaide... A solid side that also relies on a small group of classy midfielders. I'll concede Hawthorn didn't look remarkable that day, but they always had the game under control despite having a lot of players down and having to endure Adelaide's better players having blinders. In the end it only took a brutal 15 minute stint in the second quarter to win the game.

We got bashed-up last night, but the fact remains that we beat the lot of yas, so until you return the favour you can can it!

Essendon were much too good in terms of aggro and confidence in each other. The build-up for the game was akin to a GF and Hawthorn's marked lack of big game experience certainly looked telling in the end. Hawthorn needs a touch of aggro in its play and also needs to be less apprehensive in its ball movement.

I'm not sure about Dan's allusion to Richmond circa 1995. I think that side would have had a slight edge in terms of midfield, but this Hawthorn side is not only younger than that side, but it also has a vastly superior defence (when intact), a better attack (ditto) and a more promising core of youngsters coming through.

Clarke must be sent back to Box Hill (as I've been suggesting for weeks) as he was overawed last night and needs a refresher in confidence and a few extra kilos on the frame. Johnson was fine last night and made a mockery of the coaching panel's penchant for regularly leaving him on the bench or out of the side altogether. He should have been in from round one! McPharlin will have much better days than last night, but it was good for him to be able to see intense finals pressure in a home & away situation.

The midfield certainly needs an extra addition. Johnson is a future star and Clarke and Greene (possibly Ries) will eventually come good, but that's likely to be a couple of years away. Hawthorn's talls are still well short of peak, however, so those writing the club off permanently after last night's result are way off the mark.

But then again, Carlton & Collingwood tragics usually are,
Kevin