No Limit Texas Hold'em

Barralupo said:
Is there are payout for second?

The top three are in the prize money I think it is $150, $100 and $50 for the $35 games.

They also have $60 and $115 sit-n-go challenges running at the same time.

It's good value because if you play smart early and only bet on hands when you have two picture cards you should last at least 45 mins. Most games go about 80 mins. The blinds start off at $25 and $25 but by the time the last three or four players are left it's normally about $700 and $1,400 which sees a lot of all-ins. The play generally tightens up when the last 5 players are there because you get a couple of guys just trying to make it to the last three and grab a bit of prize money rather than taking a chance and trying to double up.

red+black said:
He's a madman! He'll throw down A 3 but would raise on a 2 3. How can you read him?

Still outsmarted that college kid though funny stuff, i like the commentary of "take a note people you ever see someone in a casino flicking their chips with their hand like that your going to lose all your money"

He actually said "run, don't walk out of the casino 'cause you're going to lose all your money".

I've just discovered this thread. Love the WTP on channel 10, fave player is Helmuth. Very interested in having a go at Crown one of these days.

Looks like we are getting more people interested, so we might actually hav enough of a demand for a BigFooty Tournament at Crown. I'm going to go after I finish my Uni Exams in a couple of weeks anyways most likely.

Well in reality it wouldnt be that hard.

Just book out a few tables, or however many as "Big Footy" tables, then just have Crown reserve the, as BF tables (you have to book your tables in advance for some games) and then every-one show up at a designated time, look for the right tables.

It can be done.

DoubleA said:
Well in reality it wouldnt be that hard.

Just book out a few tables, or however many as "Big Footy" tables, then just have Crown reserve the, as BF tables (you have to book your tables in advance for some games) and then every-one show up at a designated time, look for the right tables.

It can be done.
Just a matter of getting a date settled I guess, and what type of tournament.

Also, some of you have probably heard of Daniel Negreanu from the WPT. Here's his blog, it's a good read;
http://fullcontactpoker.com/poker-journal.php

Here was a bit i read, pretty good reading.

My final hand went like this: with blinds at 600-1200 with a 200 ante Tam Nguyen limped in under the gun. I followed suit with the 4-5 of diamonds. The three seat also called, and then former WSOP champion Jim Bechtel raised it 7000 more to 8200.

I looked at Jim and felt like he was trying to pick up the dead money. He'd been doing that for the last hour since he came to the table and my senses told me he was weak.

The easily exploitable yet "lucky" player called in position, and Tam Nguyen also called the raise. There was now 30,800 in the pot and I would have to call 7000 more to try and hit a lucky flop. I felt like my cards were live in this pot and it was my chance to get back into contention- I called.

The flop came 9-2-3 rainbow and Tam checked to me. At this point I had 35,000 in chips with my open ended straight draw. I genuinely felt like Bechtel was just messing around, so unless he hit the nine on the flop there was a good chance that I could pick up this pot. I moved all in.

Jim studied for a minute and then finally went all in himself. All others folded and he turned over the 9-10 of clubs. I knew it! I knew he was messing around on this hand and I felt pretty unlucky that he had a nine in his hand.

So after the flop my hand was about a 2-1 underdog against Jim's. An ace or a six on the turn or river and I'd have a nice stack with over 100,000 for the first time in the tournament.

Blank, blank and that was that. I left the Bellagio immediately, a little disgusted. I wanted this tournament really badly.

Crown's Sit&Go this Saturday, and maybe from now on, will run 10am-6pm rather than 2pm-6pm. I plan to go this weekend before heading to the G for Tiges v Toast.

I've got 2 other mates that would def be in a BF comp. As Tone Loc once said, "Let's do it."

OldSchool said:
You can buy all sorts of chips at any games store fairly cheaply. If you want the professional complete set with the dealer button, cards and the proper chips etc then you might be paying around $120

Paid $200 today (thursday) for 700 chips with metal case, dealer button and 2 sets of cards......also purchased a card shuffler as well......that was included in the $200. Good buy I reckon :D

a bit more info for anyone looking for chip sets

I picked up this 750pc set off ebay for $235. There are heaps and heaps available on ebay (mostly 300 and 500pc sets, which is more then enough). I only picked up this large set because it was partly discounted due to some slight damage to the case when it was being made.

But a tip for buying these off ebay, make sure you look closely to the location of the chips and in particular, info on where they will be shipped from. Some of them say their location is "Australia" and then when you read closely you see that they ship from Asia and postage is more expensive etc.

The bloke who I bought these from was very reliable and here is the link to his ebay store http://stores.ebay.com.au/Pokerface-Gaming-Supplies_W0QQssPageNameZl2QQtZkm (It appears prices have come down a bit since I bought my set as well)

Hope this helps

750royalinside.jpg

casinochips.jpg

HighRoller said:
hey how many they usually get to these sit & go tournaments?

is it usually pretty packed or?

The one on Saturday generally has about 8 tables going all the time. $35, $60 and $115 tables. The Friday night Sit n go challenges have increased the price from $35 to $45 but it's still great value. We are playing there again in the next couple of weeks and they said they would only charge us $35

OldSchool said:
The one on Saturday generally has about 8 tables going all the time. $35, $60 and $115 tables. The Friday night Sit n go challenges have increased the price from $35 to $45 but it's still great value. We are playing there again in the next couple of weeks and they said they would only charge us $35
I called Danny the other day and he said he'd probably take $35 for the next couple weeks, but yeah, it's going up.

Other than rockets, what's everyone's favorite hand? Mine would be King Ten suited. It's served me well.

Another bloody Hollywood Home Game. And I wish they would show something moderately recent. Tonight on Fox8 is Hollywood Home Game:VI (25/06/04). To be fair though, the recap seems to indicate that some good poker was played.

"The term “sparks will fly” is an accurate assessment of what awaits you in this, the sixth edition of WPT’s entertaining Hollywood Home Game. The intense demeanor of LeVar Burton (Star Trek: The Next Generation) is the touchstone for some highly enjoyable poker and mid-hand chip chatter as he and five Hollywood colleagues battle it out over the lion’s share of $25,000 for their favorite charities, as well as the single, coveted $25,000 seat at the WPT Championship which goes to the last celeb standing. Joining LeVar at the green felt are Mekhi Phifer (ER), John Hensley (Nip-Tuck), Andrea Parker (Less Than Perfect, The Pretender), Wil Wheaton (Stand By Me, Star Trek: TNG), and Adrian Young (drummer for No Doubt)."