No Limit Texas Hold'em

HighRoller said:
Ok first things first someone move this damn thread back to where it belongs!!!!!!!

Now i know in the past a few bigfooty peeps have wanted to meet up at crown or something to play a tourney together etc and it just never happened because everyone is just to slack or whatever. Anyway what i am proposing is that we play a big footy tourney every so often over the net. Nearly all the sites have systems in place to host your own tourney over the net and you can set the blind structures and prize money as you see fit.

Just thought i would see first if there would be any interest in such a thing and if so im happy to organise anything with whoever wants to help me. We will then get everyone to download the software etc and go from there.

Anyways let me know guys i was thinking we could do it on maybe a Thursday or Friday night or whatever suits everyone.

Which programs let you organise your own tourneys? I use Partypoker and ultimatebet.

PAFC2004 said:
Which programs let you organise your own tourneys? I use Partypoker and ultimatebet.

Ok well the one i was thinking of using was pokerstars its probably the second most used pokerroom and their structures for tourneys and SNGS are the best in the business, of course depending on whatever everyone wants to do and what software they use will probably be what to use. I have probably 7 or 8 poker sites on my pc.

Crosby87 said:
I'm sure the WPT will eventually be back on Channel Ten. They ran the whole first series, so I'd expect to see the second series early next year, if not towards the end of this year. Also, the WPT is shown on cable.

A TV show from Crown? That'd be awesome. Any more info?

I couldn't wait for Channel Ten to show the 2nd season so I bought it on DVD - 8 discs - 15 tournaments. Nice.

Some may say I've gone poker crazy as I've just purchased today another 17 DVD's today - one the ESPN Superstars of Poker (4 discs) and one 20 years of WSOP (13 discs).

I'm amazed at how cheap they are as well. $70 delivered for WPT, $47.50 delivered for Superstars of Poker and about $40 delivered for the WSOP discs. Bargain.

HighRoller said:
Now i know in the past a few bigfooty peeps have wanted to meet up at crown or something to play a tourney together etc and it just never happened because everyone is just to slack or whatever. Anyway what i am proposing is that we play a big footy tourney every so often over the net. Nearly all the sites have systems in place to host your own tourney over the net and you can set the blind structures and prize money as you see fit.

Just thought i would see first if there would be any interest in such a thing and if so im happy to organise anything with whoever wants to help me. We will then get everyone to download the software etc and go from there.

Anyways let me know guys i was thinking we could do it on maybe a Thursday or Friday night or whatever suits everyone.

I'd definantly be in for a BigFooty tourny.

Also...is anyone heading to the Crown this weekend for the Vic Poker Championships?? Some mates have headed down today to play in a couple of tournys and I'm heading down tonight after work to try my luck tomorrow.

purple sneakers said:
I couldn't wait for Channel Ten to show the 2nd season so I bought it on DVD - 8 discs - 15 tournaments. Nice.

Some may say I've gone poker crazy as I've just purchased today another 17 DVD's today - one the ESPN Superstars of Poker (4 discs) and one 20 years of WSOP (13 discs).

I'm amazed at how cheap they are as well. $70 delivered for WPT, $47.50 delivered for Superstars of Poker and about $40 delivered for the WSOP discs. Bargain.

Do you think that you would be able to do me a copy of those discs? I would be willing to pay.

Popes4 said:
I'd definantly be in for a BigFooty tourny.

Also...is anyone heading to the Crown this weekend for the Vic Poker Championships?? Some mates have headed down today to play in a couple of tournys and I'm heading down tonight after work to try my luck tomorrow.

ok cool well i guess what i will do is get everyone who is interested to PM me and then we will all exhchange msn's or something and go from there.

As for the Vic Champs well dont have the cash atm to get there will think about the Australian ones they are having in Summer.

Had my first game after watching it on TV for the last month. I played with my wife, my mate and his girlfriend. We used monopoly money as we did not have any chips. I dominated!! I went all in with around $4000 and won by a mile!!

I've been playing online for about 12 months at a number of different sites. The two I like are Pokerstars and UltimateBet. I play for real money, but tend to play Sit N Gos, not ring games.

Been playing on and off at crown for 8 months, been doing ok too. Tend to play there Sit N Gos(thursday & saturday), but have played a few tornys and it's great fun. There Xmas $25 rebuy was mad and Sundays are good fun too.

P.S. got 26th place in the WSOP sat the other day(over 450 players)

ComicStoreGuy said:
I've been playing online for about 12 months at a number of different sites. The two I like are Pokerstars and UltimateBet. I play for real money, but tend to play Sit N Gos, not ring games.

Been playing on and off at crown for 8 months, been doing ok too. Tend to play there Sit N Gos(thursday & saturday), but have played a few tornys and it's great fun. There Xmas $25 rebuy was mad and Sundays are good fun too.

P.S. got 26th place in the WSOP sat the other day(over 450 players)

No doubt I've come across you on pokerstars or at Crown on Sundays.
Are you going this week ?

Well done on the 26th finish.

I assume only the winner qualified.

Yeah its top 2 who got the trips, top 10 got some cash. I'm now living in the country, so don't get down to crown to often these day. If you like PM me with yor stars name and we'll catch up for a game.

red+black said:
bump

this has died since it's been moved to this grave (Punting)

agreed .... whilst obviously it is an activity revolving around the betting of money .... most people who play (at our levels at least), do it for the fun of it, with money as a bonus.

Should definitely be moved back to the general sports thread where it seemed to be given greater exposure.

red+black said:
bump

this has died since it's been moved to this grave (Punting)

Couldn't agree more....I believe texas hold 'em is a general sports discussion, otherwise it wouldn't be on espn. IMO punting is like betting on the horses, dogs and footy etc, etc, etc.

Good on you whoever it was for moving the thread that generated a lot of interest.

P.S. Just got home from the Burswood Casino after winning $575 on texas hold 'em. :D

OldSchool said:
How about dropping Appleyard a PM? I'd be more than happy to have this back on the General Sports board.

So it was Appleyard the dumb@rse that moved the thread..........go figure!!!

ImCheatingToWin said:
Just downloaded pokerstars, useally play at poker room or pacific.

Finished 5th out of 2302

230 back for a $2 out lay but 5 hours yeesh

Pokerstars is a good site but I just can't invest that amount of time. I don't mind the turbo's because they are generally over within 45 mins.

Even the 45 seater sit-n-go's require nearly two hours to get down to the final three players. They need to do someting about the guys who keep taking there full allotted time and those people that try and sit out until the final table. I think if you sit out of hands then you should pay an ante.

G'day fellas.

Fantastic thread.1st time I've noticed it.

I too am dedicated No limit hold-em addict.I'm a daytrader for a living so am able to spend 3 or 4 hours /day playing online poker too.Been playing every day for the last 8 months or so.

Still only play the small stake 2000 people tourney's or 3 table sit-n-go.Real money.

Have become a little bit disallusioned with online poker.I have a sense the river and turn cards favour the more aggressive or 'loose' players during a tournament.Just a hunch I've developed,no basis in fact.Anyone else suspect this?

Thanks for the info re crown.I think I'm ready to take on 'real' tournaments.

My fav t.v players are Negrano and his mate with the Scando sounding name,The unabomber,Harrington,Lederer and his sister(Annie Duke?),and the young black guy(i'm hopeless wioth names).I like the tight players who only open up recklessly on rare occassions.

Can't stand 'the devilfish' and the arrogant American with the big lips who's name escapes me.Was wrapped to see Lederers sis' beat him in heads up in one of the 2004 tourney's.

I occasionally play on Ultimatebet.com only in the freerolls. Best finish was a 3rd in the $500 bonus dollars tourney out of 2000 and I have qualified a few times for the TEC Freeroll but can't be bothered getting up at 3am to play it.

Love the World Poker Tour on Channel 10 and really enjoy watching the Devillish fish play.

Can't wait till im 18 to go and play in Crown!

Ricketts said:
Phil Ivey?
thats the guy.Great player for such a young guy.Seems to be able to look into players eyes to see what they have.Like Negranu,almost psychic.

Phil Helmuth was the guy I was thinking of who really annoys me.

classic arogant quote by him "if it wasn't for luck,I'd never lose"

Orginally posted by purple sneakers
heard a great nickname for big slick (ace king) the other day - Anna Kournakova - looks good but never wins!

Yeah i have heard the same thing but with (ace jack)

btw guys ive only had one response about having a BF tourney on one of the poker rooms on the net. Please PM for details