No Limit Texas Hold'em

HighRoller said:
Hey hows it going?

i started the same as you chucking $50 into pokerstars 6 months ago or so. Now ive increased it a hell of a lot since then. Your best thing to do is read forums and then read some more forums. The more you know about the game the better you will go. Read up about bankrolls, position,check-raising etc
Its amazing how much you can learn that you dont really think about.

Thanks will do. I had a quick lesson when I went into an Omaha H/L tournament without realising it. Got four cards dealt instead of the two I was expecting and had a quick rush to google to work out how to play the game. No surprise that I got knocked out fairly quickly. :eek: :D

I've had a few more play money s&g and might contend myself with those while I learn more about the game. I'll throw another $50 in next month and see if I can do any better. I reckon I've learned heaps just in the past few days, hopefully that continues because I'm really enjoying it.

Anyway, I got 25th in the freeroll tournament and have a place in the weekly tournament on Sunday. I was absolutely knackered by the end of it (went nearly 5 hours) and couldn't believe how physically (and mentally) drained I was just sitting behind a computer screen. I'd imagine it would be twice as bad in a proper tournament.

I've stopped for a little while with the online tournaments.

I only use 'play money' but twice I reached the 20 - 40K mark and then lost it all and currently sit at around 2K, so I am giving it a rest. I still play occassionally with a few mates with Monopoly money or if the mate with the Poker set is there we play with the proper chips and so on.

Crosby87 said:
If I'm playing this hand against good players, and I've raised pre-flop, I play this hand very aggressively. Why? Because it's unlikely good players will call a pre-flop raise with A-3, A-2, K-2, K-2 etc.

I'd also question why someone is raising and/or calling with middle/bottom pair, and such a weak pair at that. You've raised preflop, which shows a sign of strength, and I doubt any reasonable player would raise/call with a pair of 2's or 3's, when they're most likely running into a high pocket pair, or even the top pair of 5's.

Of course, that's the thing about playing with friends... they could have anything... ;)

I hate playing against mates who don't know the game much and always 'call' or 'raise'. They have nothing but of course you don't know that, so you fold. Its very annoying :mad:

Went to the Treasury Casino in Brisbane. It was my first time playing Texas Limit Hold 'Em Poker. I lost $100 in quick time (e.g. about 40 minutes). I thought I played reasonably smart. I went all the way to the end with two pairs (Queens and 8's) which I thought was a reasonable hand. I lost because a guy had three of a kind. I was bloody spewing!!

nWo said:
Went to the Treasury Casino in Brisbane. It was my first time playing Texas Limit Hold 'Em Poker. I lost $100 in quick time (e.g. about 40 minutes). I thought I played reasonably smart. I went all the way to the end with two pairs (Queens and 8's) which I thought was a reasonable hand. I lost because a guy had three of a kind. I was bloody spewing!!

Ahh the old 2 pairs, one of the weakest hands but looks so good. Whilst playing today when the flop came down I had 3 of a kind with the highest cards. Checked and the next guy goes all in, call and knock him out. So much fun.

Borgsta said:
Ahh the old 2 pairs, one of the weakest hands but looks so good. Whilst playing today when the flop came down I had 3 of a kind with the highest cards. Checked and the next guy goes all in, call and knock him out. So much fun.

2 pair looks a hell of a lot better when it becomes a full house!

Whilst it is still 2 pair it can be beaten by a lot of different hands and it is worth being very cautious before investing to much money into it. All someone needs is a straight/flush/3 of a kind and your toast.

nWo said:

I am guessing you were playing limit holdem. If so, it's probably advisable to do a bit of reading on this before playing as it is COMPLETELY different then no limit.

Two pair is an even worse hand in limit hold'em. Remember, in limit it's tougher to bluff as you can only make a fixed bet; and more often than not you will get called by a lot of people on draws. It also means that you are unable to push people out of the hand by betting (as people will likely call).

Limit hold'em can be at times more of a crap shoot than no limit.

So I would be very cautious playing two-pair - it may seem like the best hand when you get it, and it may be, but it's very likely that someone could and will hit a straight/flush on the turn or river.

Of course, if you made your two pair with a pair on the board, you've made a terrible play in my estimation - especially if the board showed two queens. But, anybody will tell you, you have to lose money to make money, and there's always room for improvement.

I played a couple of tournaments today at Pokerroom.com.

I won $1000 in one tournament and then around $3000 in the Ring Games.

The 2nd Tournament I played in I came 4th so I just missed out on the prize money (Play Money). In the 1st tourney I was 4th out of 4 as the other 6 had been eliminated. I had just under $1000 and got 2 pocket Queens. I checked until 4 cards were down. Then 2 of them went all - in (one had 2 10s and the other 2 9s) I also went all - in and won. Got my pot up to the $3000 mark. Next hand one of the guys who just lost to me went all - in as they had only $650. They had 2 Queens and I had 2 Kings so I 'called' them, I knocked them out and guaranteed myself prize money (Play money). Within the next few hands I was knocked out. I had a Queen and a 7 so I wanted to see the flop. A Queen comes up so I stay in. After the five cards were down I had a Full House, 3 Queens and 2 Sevens, so I go all - in. Someone 'calls' me and ended up having 2 Pocket Aces and an Ace was on the flop so they get a Full House of 3 Aces and 2 Queens, I was eliminated :mad:

GO HERE to join BigFooty's POKER Tournament - http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=205148

I had a Queen and a 7 so I wanted to see the flop

Big mistake. NEVER see a flop with that hand, unless you're playing at a shorthanded table. A Q7 with a Q on the flop is still not a strong hand, as it loses to AQ, KQ, QJ, Q10 etc., not to mention Q-Q.

Played at Crown yesterday for the first time. Played 4/8 Limit Holdem for three hours, finished a few bucks up. Main thing I want to mention is the utter crap service from the stupid incompetent waitresses. An hour in, ordered and paid for a beer, almost an hour before it arrived. I was furious, and I let everyone know it too. So I recommend you leave the table, go get yourself a drink, then come back. Just atrocious service.

Crosby87 said:
Big mistake. NEVER see a flop with that hand, unless you're playing at a shorthanded table. A Q7 with a Q on the flop is still not a strong hand, as it loses to AQ, KQ, QJ, Q10 etc., not to mention Q-Q.

Got a Q7 again today. So, I folded as you said. GUESS what happens. 3 Queens come up and a 7 (no that it matters) :p

sante said:
Got a Q7 again today. So, I folded as you said. GUESS what happens. 3 Queens come up and a 7 (no that it matters) :p

I would seriously recommend not playing those play money games.

You develop a lot of bad habits.

red+black said:
Played at Crown yesterday for the first time. Played 4/8 Limit Holdem for three hours, finished a few bucks up. Main thing I want to mention is the utter crap service from the stupid incompetent waitresses. An hour in, ordered and paid for a beer, almost an hour before it arrived. I was furious, and I let everyone know it too. So I recommend you leave the table, go get yourself a drink, then come back. Just atrocious service.

Quick question r+b as I'm assuming the 4/8 is similar to 1/2, re the rules: what can you raise pre-flop and is it no-limit after the flop?

If it's 4/8 Limit Hold'em, the opening bet - big blind pre-flop - and raise pre-flop and on the flop is 4, and on the turn and river it's 8.

I.e., bet 4, raise to 8, raise to 12 etc. on the flop, bet 8, raise to 16 on the turn etc. Hence the name "limit hold'em". Some games, however, don't have a "cap" (a maximum number of raises) on the river.

Got a Q7 again today. So, I folded as you said. GUESS what happens. 3 Queens come up and a 7 (no that it matters)

Doesn't matter. You fold that hand right away. You should also read up on playing certain cards in certain positions and what to do when facing raises from early-mid-late positions. It'll help a lot, and really improve your game.

Crosby87 said:
Doesn't matter. You fold that hand right away. You should also read up on playing certain cards in certain positions and what to do when facing raises from early-mid-late positions. It'll help a lot, and really improve your game.

I did fold. After I did I couldn't believe my eyes with the flop and river.

You fold most hands don't you? Doesn't it get boring...

What pocket cards will you play??

sante said:
I did fold. After I did I couldn't believe my eyes with the flop and river.

You fold most hands don't you? Doesn't it get boring...

What pocket cards will you play??

Yes you do fold most hands.

Here are my rules which others may disagree with. Of course I mix it up occasionally but generally follow these principles at a table of 9 or more players.

AA, KK, QQ, AKs, AQs
always raise and re-raise

JJ, TT, AJs, KQs, AK
always raise before the flop. Call if reraised.

ATs, KJs, QJs, JTs, AQ
always see the flop unless you have to call 3 or more players

99, 88, KTs, QTs, J9s, 109s, 98s, AJ, KQ, AT
only call for one bet. Dont call two or more bets. If you limp in and someone raises, fold.

Where bouts is the No Limit Hold Em table at Burswood Casino. I cant seem to find it, do they even have one??

Embers said:
Where bouts is the No Limit Hold Em table at Burswood Casino. I cant seem to find it, do they even have one??

It's called the "hold em blind" table with a minimum of $500 buy in. They tend to have limit tables more often than the blind table because limit is more popular. It is located near the cashiers in a roped off area. Look for the sign "poker parlour". :D

monarch4 said:
It's called the "hold em blind" table with a minimum of $500 buy in. They tend to have limit tables more often than the blind table because limit is more popular. It is located near the cashiers in a roped off area. Look for the sign "poker parlour". :D

Thanks, wen bouts do they normally have the blind table I aint paying a 500 buy in, thats absurd.

Embers said:
Thanks, wen bouts do they normally have the blind table I aint paying a 500 buy in, thats absurd.

Well you will have to pay $500 to play the blind table. It depends on the turn up of the regular players that determines whether they play that table. As I said before, play the limit tables because they sometimes have 2 of them running and it only costs $100 minimum to play them.

monarch4 said:
Well you will have to pay $500 to play the blind table. It depends on the turn up of the regular players that determines whether they play that table. As I said before, play the limit tables because they sometimes have 2 of them running and it only costs $100 minimum to play them.

$100 sounds more reasonable, how does that table operate, dont you have any pots or anything??, its real hard to find info on it. Burswood provide ya with nothing.

Embers said:
$100 sounds more reasonable, how does that table operate, dont you have any pots or anything??, its real hard to find info on it. Burswood provide ya with nothing.

It's a 10/20 format......4 rounds of betting. Increments of $10 for first 2 rounds. Increments of $20 for the last 2. Only 3 raises per round. So you could lose as much as $240 in one hand.

monarch4 said:
It's a 10/20 format......4 rounds of betting. Increments of $10 for first 2 rounds. Increments of $20 for the last 2. Only 3 raises per round. So you could lose as much as $240 in one hand.

Damn thats alot of money.... :(, that is the bare minimum you say... Id think a 5/10 format wud be more reasonable. A bit too rich for my blood :D

Embers said:
Damn thats alot of money.... :(, that is the bare minimum you say... Id think a 5/10 format wud be more reasonable. A bit too rich for my blood :D

If you read my post properly I said you "could" lose as much as $240 in one hand. But on the up side pots can get higher than $500 on those tables.