No No Hell No!!!

Chuck McPhee or Nash on him.

Mcphee's taller and faster than him, he can also play out the game with ease, and Mcphee also at least has some sort of experiance with playing up as a defensive role.

If Slattery played on him, we'd be stuffed, the dogs would just kick it to Johno every time and he'd kick a bag full, no sweat .

Mcphee's taller and faster than him, he can also play out the game with ease, and Mcphee also at least has some sort of experiance with playing up as a defensive role.

If Slattery played on him, we'd be stuffed, the dogs would just kick it to Johno every time and he'd kick a bag full, no sweat .

Nash for me, i reckon he's the perfect match up, height wise, has good pace and might make johnson accountable on the rebound

Was Slatts the guy that owned Kerr last year when we beat WCE in round 11? Well he's not in good form, I think he might be a good matchup for Brad Johnson as long as he sticks with Johnno the whole time. Obviously is going to tag him, so if Johnno is quiet then Slatts is quiet so its sorta like a win win situation of it works. Doubt it though

Yeah that was Slattery, played an absolute ripper that night. 11 possessions, 4 kicks were Kerr's stats, but Slattery has struggled with the tagging role since then. I see what you're trying to say, and with Johnson struggling a bit it could work, but i'd be more inclined to play the safe option and stick someone on him.

LOL

Have a look at how Johnson plays. Quite a lot of his goals come when his man leaves him to go up & spoil and he stays down, or he hangs back when his man goes on the rebound. If I had to pick two guys on our list who were most likely to do something like this, I'd probably come up with the same two names you did.

Slattery wouldn't be a bad match-up, Johnson isn't great overhead. He needs a very tight blanketing defender not a wishy-washy half back who runs off after a kick. Ryder would be my 1st choice, but I could see Slatts or NLM getting the gig too

LOL

Have a look at how Johnson plays. Quite a lot of his goals come when his man leaves him to go up & spoil and he stays down, or he hangs back when his man goes on the rebound. If I had to pick two guys on our list who were most likely to do something like this, I'd probably come up with the same two names you did.

Slattery wouldn't be a bad match-up, Johnson isn't great overhead. He needs a very tight blanketing defender not a wishy-washy half back who runs off after a kick. Ryder would be my 1st choice, but I could see Slatts or NLM getting the gig too

No No No. I've seen guys all over johnson and yet he still takes the mark. I do agree that Nash would be a good option not sure on slattery though.

As in his leap isn't as good as it has been. I have watched this Johnson kid play once or twice... :D Would you agree there's not as many speccies as there used to be?

Nash isn't accountable enough IMHO. With Dempsey out we need his run off half-back far too much anyway, required player there

LOL

WT??? This is johnson's strength! he is fantastic overhead. Gets them first grab everytime. Fair enough he doesnt get too far off the ground these days but its his footy smarts and his ability to out position his opponents no matter how big they are compared to him.
His overhead marking is probably the main reason why I am in awe of this bloke every week I go to the footy to watch the Dogs

in all fairness to slattery.. last time he played on BJ 3 of the goals against him were freak goals that pretty much no one could have stopped and 1 was kicked while slatts was on the bench... i probaly wouldn't have brought him in the side with out at least dropping pev.. but i am willing to wait and see what he has.. maybe being dropped was exactly the kick in the backside he needed.

Yeah I see what your saying now, so far this season he has got a lot of cheap ball probably because we now have big will in the goal square so he roves the packs more instead of getting in contested situations.

Now that I look at it Slattery is probably the best option.

WT??? This is johnson's strength! he is fantastic overhead. Gets them first grab everytime. Fair enough he doesnt get too far off the ground these days but its his footy smarts and his ability to out position his opponents no matter how big they are compared to him.
His overhead marking is probably the main reason why I am in awe of this bloke every week I go to the footy to watch the Dogs
Well yeah that sort of was what I was trying to get at
Probably the cleverest mark in the league and best for his size, but I still reckon he gets a lot of goals from defenders doing something stupid, while he does the simple things - stays down, sneaks out the back, and slots the easy goal. I seriously don't mind a top-class player beating a dons defender 1 on 1 - I just don't want to see McPhee doing his tough guy act, or Nash losing the ball at half back and the ball going straight down Johnno's throat. IMHO the options we have are Slatts, Rama, NLM or Ryder. Knights may want the latter two for the forward line.
IIRC Johnno got 2-3 on Henry last year? Including a couple of scorchers. Would be happy with that result every day of the week

I guess he doesnt have a lot of options with all our injuries and the fitness concerns over Welsh, Myers, Neagle etc... I just dont think Henry's up to it, one would hope he can play some sort of defensice role but I would actually prefer him on Cross, Ryder or Fletcher must get Johno.

Although McVeigh has done a job on him previously, we nee Macca getting the pill.

Wait until they line up tonight.
The game hasn't even started yet and people are laying the boots into Henry. He might not even play on Johnson. :eek:

We have enough options to cover Johnson (Fletch, Rama, Ryder, McVeigh).
At least you know with Henry he will make Johnson earn every mark, kick and handball.

Now if Peverill plays on him like he did in the NAB Cup, well then that's a different story. :D

Why not fletcher? he is the best defender, johnson is the best forward. Fletch has proved he can play on the smaller types before, and its not like johnson is going to out-sprint him at his age. Still have Mal to take say Minson or whoever they use as a big man down forward. He seems the obvious choice to me

No No Hell No!!!