No Offence Bucks, but Hird was robbed of the All Oz V.C.

RICE80SF

Jun 14, 2000
Geelong, VIC. (Is Don Is Grand)
Sure Buckley had another great year but how could he get the Vice Captain, again, over Hird, they have to be kidding surely?

Was it laziness (oh yeah Bucks got it last year, give it to him again) or just an oversight? Here's why I think Hird should've got it:

1. Inspirational come back from injury, played like he never left the game.
2. Captained the team with the best record in a 22 game H&A season.
3. Buckley captained his team to 2nd bottom, 1 up from last year.
4. Debatable whether he even had a better season than Hird.
5. Hird was the better Captain in their only meeting on ANZAC Day.

Even if you think Buckley had a better year than Hird surely he's been the more inspirational leader, with his comeback?

I can see it now; my little fella (with the big #5 on the back of his $80 Fila jumper) will ask "who's the captain of the team dad?"
"Wayne Carey mate, he's carried the Roos into 4th spot and he's the best player in the league."
"Is James Vice Captain dad?"
"No mate, Nathan Buckley is."
"But why Dad?"
"Good question mate."

Tell me what I'm meant to tell the poor little kid? Please tell me
confused.gif
?

That's the only problem I had with this years side other than, Simon who? Please Crow fans, fill us in on some of his achievements for 2000, as I've missed 'em. Personally I would've had Wowoedin, Cameron, Hay, M.Johnson in before this guy. It was a bit of a piss off Carlscum had more guys in it than the dons, but in all honesty, they did deserve their spots. Thank God no Silvagni though.

Talking footy after the All Aussie show was funny, with Mike & Mal going hammer & tongs at Gerard over some of his selections. Blighty was still going off when they turned the lights out on him at the end.

Cheers.

------------------
BOMBER BLITZ IN 2000!

I reckon the only reason they made Buckley vice-captain was because he captained the side against the Irish last year.

Hey Rice,

Personally, I though Hird should have been Captain, NOT Carey. How the hell did he get into the side anyway? He's done nothing all year!!

Bucks deserves to be V.C., he had a great year. It's a pity the team didn't! (*Everone, keep your comments to yourself about that one!!*)

CJ

Next post have both hands on the keyboard so you can focus on what you're writing!!!

How many games have you seen Carey play? One or two maybe?

Carey was voted most best/most inspirational
captain by his peers. You, obviously, have a greater understanding of the game and how Carey plays it than they would!!!

Your right - Carey's just one of the Brownlow favourites, but he's done stuff all this year!!

What a stupid comment!

I agree that Hird was robbed but I don't think that he was robbed by not getting th V.C. job I think that the right men got that job. Hird should have got the top job I don't know what drugs the selectors are on but thems the breaks...

Sarah, your obviously a Norff fan! I fell sorry for you! seriously, I do!

I'm not a Norff fan, so, no, I didn't see "The King" at all! But I did read the papers.

Bomber,

I bet you 10 bucks Carey will NOT be awarded the brownlow. *AGAIN!*

CJ

You stated:
"Personally, I though Hird should have been Captain, NOT Carey. How the hell did he get into the side anyway? He's done nothing all year!!"

Now, I never said that Carey was gonna win the Brownlow, but he has had a good year. He is 5th favourite for the medal. He has had numerous games that Ive seen where he picked up over 30 touches. He has also played many games in the backline, but has still kicked 62 goals - the guy is a freak! He got voted captain of the year by his PEERS.

To say he's done nothing all year and shouldnt even be in that side is one of the dumbest things Ive ever heard. I think you have to start watching more football.

CJ, you are so funny, instead of watching more footy.
I say turn the tele off, throw the tele out the window, you may be even more informed then.

or

You could go to the backroom put one hand around your knob and yell "GOPIES GOPIES GOPIES GOPIES GOPIES GOPIES GOPIES GOPIES", see what moves faster, your mouth or your hand.

[This message has been edited by Rooboy 96 (edited 09 August 2000).]

Hey Bluey,

You had better ban me from the BB, I said something negitive about EVERYONES favourite player, Wayne Carey and now they are all getting shitty.

Seriously,

There is only one good thing that I can say about Carey and that is he always helps promote the game and gives training clinics to the kids. There arn't many players that do that. Well done Carey.

No Offence Bucks, but Hird was robbed of the All Oz V.C.