Noise

Agree, it’s your right not to be impinged by other people’s noise. There needs to be a basic level of respect for your neighbours. Seriously, you shouldn’t have to hear music or noise after sun down. It’s just ridiculous.

It can get ridiculous. And some people have no concept.

But not where I work. It is noisy and attracts extroverts by its nature. So onus is on me to find a quiet spot (which i happily accept).

It can get ridiculous. And some people have no concept.

But not where I work. It is noisy and attracts extroverts by its nature. So onus is on me to find a quiet spot (which i happily accept).
Mate if you want to live quietly, you should have the right and not put up with any noise. Seriously, people need to go somewhere else to make noise.

Living/personal space? No I get that. But is it worth the confrontation?

Work? I accept it will be noisy and can easily find a quiet spot so no complaints. (Still not a fan of open plan office but with the numbers v size there isn't another practical solution so cest la vie).

Living/personal space? No I get that. But is it worth the confrontation?

Work? I accept it will be noisy and can easily find a quiet spot so no complaints. (Still not a fan of open plan office but with the numbers v size there isn't another practical solution so cest la vie).
Work you can’t help depending on what you do, but at home, yeah that’s your patch I reckon. No need to be subjected to noise within your property if it can be helped and it’s after a certain time. **** it, it’s not fair.

People you live next door to shouldn’t emit levels of noise that you can hear in your house at anytime of night, it’s just ******* disrespectful. I live in suburbia, not right in the inner east however. It’s the burbs. I just don’t need or want to hear it. I live here for a reason. If you want to make noise, **** off somewhere else.
Thank **** you’re not my neighbour

So it’s something that I’ve always felt very strongly about, and something that’s always annoyed me, but neighbours making noise and having that noise reverberate into your house at any hour of the day really frustrates me.

I know that there are restrictions on noise after a certain time, but it really bothers me that excessive noise from another persons property is allowed to impede upon that of the neighbours properties to the point where it becomes obvious. If you are living in a property next to someone you should be able to not be bothered at all by noise generated from other people.

Now I am not talking about lawn mowers, building works, or construction/maintenance type work, but noise that does not need to occur per say (drums, noisy deep bass, music in general that you can hear word for word). That really frustrates me.

I think there needs to be a basic level of respect for privacy throughout the entire day whereby sound emitting from your property doesn’t bother or transfer to another persons property.

Cheers,
Fine to complain about it as long as you don't make any unnecessary noise yourself. I had a neighbour once call the cops on me for playing admittedly fairly loud music at 8.30pm on a Sunday night yet they thought it was fine to have a dog bark all day long and to needlessly warm up a V8 ute for 10 minutes at 4.30am every morning.

edit - the cops were actually pretty cool about it and said if it was Friday or Saturday it would be fine, just that it was a work night. They almost seemed more annoyed that they had their time being wasted.

Fine to complain about it as long as you don't make any unnecessary noise yourself. I had a neighbour once call the cops on me for playing admittedly fairly loud music at 8.30pm on a Sunday night yet they thought it was fine to have a dog bark all day long and to needlessly warm up a V8 ute for 10 minutes at 4.30am every morning.
No way I make noise. When that sun goes down there’s nothing. I hate dogs barking by day. Or by night. Lived next door to a house full of hospitality workers once who thought it’d be great to get a dog. Needless to say when they worked all night old pooch was left to his own devices. Which essentially included barking at possums all night.

We didn’t have a great relationship.