Non-AFL chat thread

• Thread starter Thread starter d0gs

Today, April Fools Day, I had the honour of having a Forum named for me on an American site for the day. I'm known as WesternBulldogs there.

Western Bulldogs Fan Club
WB's bon voyage party starts now!

Aww, shucks...

pup_zps36jdxtyx.gif

I'm going to stop using Bigfooty. I love this forum, but the modding of other sections on this site has really driven me to my end. A certain mod on the supercoach board in particular.

I doubt any of you care, but I just thought I should let you all know, I don't want people thinking I've just disappeared/something has happened in real life.

Thanks. Go Dogs.

I'm going to stop using Bigfooty. I love this forum, but the modding of other sections on this site has really driven me to my end. A certain mod on the supercoach board in particular.

I doubt any of you care, but I just thought I should let you all know, I don't want people thinking I've just disappeared/something has happened in real life.

Thanks. Go Dogs.
Sorry dude, I've felt the same way to for a while now to. I hope you come back some day and hopefully that's to celebrate us winning a second flag

Take care

Thanks. Go Dogs.

I have been considering the same, so completely understand.
Take care and have fun!

Thanks. Go Dogs.
I'll miss your posts mate, but I understand. Hopefully you come back sometime in the future. All the best.

Pogba, or cross#4 depending on how good your memory is.
Cheers.
Serious question, has any thought ( to your knowledge as a mod) been put into an "invite only" board. Similar to the main board but for serious footy discussion without the crap on the main board.
It's hard to have that kind of talk here, not the place and it would be dog centric.
And the main board is ridiculous.

I reckon it would be great.

Cheers.
Serious question, has any thought ( to your knowledge as a mod) been put into an "invite only" board. Similar to the main board but for serious footy discussion without the crap on the main board.
It's hard to have that kind of talk here, not the place and it would be dog centric.

Dannnn's not a real mod, he only mods the video game board.

But that is actually a good idea, it would get away from the cyclical nature of every single post on this board as well as the shitfights and the pointless back and forth.

Dannnn's not a real mod, he only mods the video game board.

But that is actually a good idea, it would get away from the cyclical nature of every single post on this board as well as the shitfights and the pointless back and forth.
So he's essentially a PSO.

Cheers.

There has been discussion over a long period of time, but it has never really progressed too far. The four major issues as I understand them are that (1) it's difficult to work out who is "right" for the board and who isn't, and requires quite a time commitment to maintain; (2) large-scale user permission settings are both very difficult to manage and extremely heavy on server resources; (3) people can't keep their damn mouths shut and once word is out it's out, leading to incredible amounts of frustration for the mods having to deal with the whiners that haven't been included; and (4) you get to the point where those on the "private" board aren't contributing elsewhere, which is bad for the site's growth as it looks less active than it is. There's also a question of whether after a certain point people complain about that board becoming toxic too and request a new private board.

I guess the simple version of my answer is that it has been discussed at length but admin haven't come up with a way to make it work yet.

There has been discussion over a long period of time, but it has never really progressed too far. The four major issues as I understand them are that (1) it's difficult to work out who is "right" for the board and who isn't, and requires quite a time commitment to maintain; (2) large-scale user permission settings are both very difficult to manage and extremely heavy on server resources; (3) people can't keep their damn mouths shut and once word is out it's out, leading to incredible amounts of frustration for the mods having to deal with the whiners that haven't been included; and (4) you get to the point where those on the "private" board aren't contributing elsewhere, which is bad for the site's growth as it looks less active than it is. There's also a question of whether after a certain point people complain about that board becoming toxic too and request a new private board.

I guess the simple version of my answer is that it has been discussed at length but admin haven't come up with a way to make it work yet.
Surely the answer is to moderate the main AFL board much more strictly. No need to create invite only groups - just moderate more effectively what we have already got. Direct people who want shitfights or who behave like morons to Bay 13, or kick ém off for a while. I'm involved in some non-footy forums that are moderated firmly and fairly for all - it isn't that bloody hard.

Thanks. Go Dogs.
Why let some of the worse sections ruin the good times we've had? In any case, all the best and hope to see you back here soon enough.