Resource Non-AFL General Chat

🄰 Love BigFooty? Join now for free.

The West repeatedly bashing the England Cricket team is pathetic and embarrassing.
Tabloid to the max.
View attachment 2474681
13,000 runs, 39 centuries, average 51, impeccable conduct as a sportsman.

Does the West Australian think this stuff sells in 2025?

It’s crass, but there’s a kernel of truth there. His record here is demonstrably poor
I'd be surprised if he left Perth without breaking his Australian ton duck. Outside of injury, I'd be utterly gobsmacked if he left this series without one (or potentially 2 or 3)

Very good player, but:

X - Averages 40 against Australia
X - Averages 35 in Australia
X - Average at home nearly 10 runs higher than away.

Not an all time great.
James Anderson would be even worse but the English media pick him in all time XIs.

Doesn't get a game in our current team unless the game is played in England. Fair dinkum.

The West repeatedly bashing the England Cricket team is pathetic and embarrassing.
Tabloid to the max.
View attachment 2474681
The NRL media were finding the Pooh Bears thing last week quite laughable in Sydney.

Like who is running the garbage paper over there.

They dont realise what an embarrasment they are.

From an outsider they look worse then news corp

James Anderson would be even worse but the English media pick him in all time XIs.

Doesn't get a game in our current team unless the game is played in England. Fair dinkum.
Sir James Anderson now mate.

English love handing out Knighthoods for mediocrity.

Strauss, Cook and Anderson are now Sir's from that era.

They were decent players but fmd a Knighthood like really.

Shane Warne, Glenn McGrath, Allan Border and Ricky Ponting would be the only 4 you could consider handing the Knighthoods out too in Australia.

And even then I reckon they would be embarrassed.

Shane Warne, Glenn McGrath, Allan Border and Ricky Ponting would be the only 4 you could consider handing the Knighthoods out too in Australia.

Is Sir Donald Bradman the only one from Australia?

About how it should be. Let the poms reward mediocrity (in comparison).

Absolutely fair dinkum I wouldn't pick Anderson in our full strength team atm. He's not a better bowler than Cummins, Hazlewood or Starc. Only in pre-Bazball English conditions (ie before they turned all their pitches into highways) was he effective consistently.

Is Sir Donald Bradman the only one from Australia?

About how it should be. Let the poms reward mediocrity (in comparison).

Absolutely fair dinkum I wouldn't pick Anderson in our full strength team atm. He's not a better bowler than Cummins, Hazlewood or Starc. Only in pre-Bazball English conditions (ie before they turned all their pitches into highways) was he effective consistently.
I rate Broad a better bowler and cricketer then Anderson.

Watching Basil in the assembly is embarrassing, they just try to have a go at everything Cook does instead of coming up with their own ideas.

It's the same federally too, Ley going off at Albo for wearing a ****ing band t-shirt was pathetic.

I'm pretty ready for a slightly more conservative federal government after voting for Labor the last 3 cycles but FMD the Libs are a joke at the moment. They had a good balance with Turnbull but decided they needed to move further to the right and embrace the christian bullsh*t which has completely turned me off them.
I'm in my 40s and I'm struggling to think of a State or Federal opposition in my lifetime who didn't just attack the incumbents' policies while coming up with very little of their own.
I suppose under the two party preferred system it's a lot easier to discredit 1 person than try to win over 20 million.

Sir David Beckham. No idea what he’s done to the community other than being a wealthy tattooed wannabe.

Anderson is just a very good player. His only really stand out quality is longevity. Here is my list off the top of my head of clearly better Fast / Fast Medium pommie bowlers:

Barnes
Lohmann
Richardson
Tyson
Larwood
Tate
Trueman
Bedser
Snow
Statham
Willis

Shows you why they have struggled to stay with Australia the last 100 years or so. Only 2 of those players have played a test since 1970 (Willis's last test was 41 years ago). Only 4 since World War II.

If you go off a tangent thinking who is going to win a hypothetical best of all time test championship, at first glance you think England are in with a shake. Look at their top order batting:

Hobbs
Hutton
Grace
Hammond

Sutcliffe isn't even making the side and he'd probably the 3rd or 4th best opener of all time.

Australia and the West Indies have strong middle orders but collectively, but can't compete with that top 4 due to relative weakness in the openers in my view.

But then you have a look the bowling attack:

Australia
Lillee
McGrath
Lindwall
Warne
Miller as all rounder.

Hell our second XI attack is almost better than the next best in my view. It just drops off at the third seamer point. If you are playing two spinners:

Davidson
Spofforth
O'Reily
Grimmet

Cop that!

It’s an interesting point of debate, who is Australia's 6th best ever quick? I actually reckon Cummo is up there. He's showing signs of being a little past it now in my view, but the 6 years including and after his comeback were top shelf.

Apologies for the digression I love greatest ever XI talk!

Impeccible!!! Didn't Warner punch him out because of a belittling costume he wore?
Allegedly it was for an even funnier reason...

He asked Warner how many drinks he'd had that night and Warner replied 4. Joe Root then replied "I didn't ask your batting average in England"

Before any of them in Aus, there should be a Sir DK.

Anderson is just a very good player. His only really stand out quality is longevity. Here is my list off the top of my head of clearly better Fast / Fast Medium pommie bowlers:

Barnes
Lohmann
Richardson
Tyson
Larwood
Tate
Trueman
Bedser
Snow
Statham
Willis

Shows you why they have struggled to stay with Australia the last 100 years or so. Only 2 of those players have played a test since 1970 (Willis's last test was 41 years ago). Only 4 since World War II.

If you go off a tangent thinking who is going to win a hypothetical best of all time test championship, at first glance you think England are in with a shake. Look at their top order batting:

Hobbs
Hutton
Grace
Hammond

Sutcliffe isn't even making the side and he'd probably the 3rd or 4th best opener of all time.

Australia and the West Indies have strong middle orders but collectively, but can't compete with that top 4 due to relative weakness in the openers in my view.

But then you have a look the bowling attack:

Australia
Lillee
McGrath
Lindwall
Warne
Miller as all rounder.

Hell our second XI attack is almost better than the next best in my view. It just drops off at the third seamer point. If you are playing two spinners:

Davidson
Spofforth
O'Reily
Grimmet

Cop that!

It’s an interesting point of debate, who is Australia's 6th best ever quick? I actually reckon Cummo is up there. He's showing signs of being a little past it now in my view, but the 6 years including and after his comeback were top shelf.

Apologies for the digression I love greatest ever XI talk!
Cummins is 100% up there at it stands but you haven't seen his whole career yet.

Looks like there should be a run chase tomorrow at the WACA and a likely result. 4 late wickets to Rocchiccioli (4 in 10 balls in his last 2 overs of the day). Qld only lead by 255 with 8 wickets gone.

Resource Non-AFL General Chat